We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a good choice”
Review of Ibis Constanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis Constanta
Ranked #3 of 94 Hotels in Constanta
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a good choice”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a good hotel for its position, the services are typical for the Ibis chain, so there are no surprises. Helpful staff, clean, an overall good choice for a few days in Constanta. Taking into consideration that the hotel is near the sea, the rooms with view on the sea are quite enjoyable.

Room Tip: choose the rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Ibis Constanta Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive a positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    150
    127
    27
    9
See reviews for
52
75
44
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Romania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed there 5 nights in July 2013. We got good prices (47 EUR), booked about 1 month in advance.
In the past, I stayed at a couple of Ibis hotels in Paris and one in Budapest. This was the first time I was trying one of the hotels in Romania and I can say I was not disappointed.

Liked:
- almost everything was the way I expected it to be. It even smells like the hotels in Paris - I'm guessing they are using the same cleaning products.
- guarded parking lot. Felt safe, as we drove there.
- clean room, well equipped, everything was working fine.
- location: was able to get to the main POIs in no time.

Didn't like:
- there was noise in the room (we got one with the view towards the parking lot). That's because the hotel ventilation system is placed there. You can hear it even with the door closed.
- I am in the middle of a diet (Dukan) and I couldn't find anything to eat in their breakfast menu.
- the pillows were uncomfortable.
- didn't get much help at the front desk when we asked to extend our stay, immediately after we arrived. They provided us with inaccurate information about rooms availability and then they didn't let us know when a room became available so we had to move to a nearby hotel.

Others:
- the surroundings are being renovated (the Ovid Square, the Casino seafront) so you will have to take detours in the area.
- the nearby beach is dirty - try to go to the Northern part of Mamaia instead.

Overall, the Constanta Ibis was a good experiece. It will be my first choice for when I'll be in the area again. Also, the Romanian Black Sea coast desperately needs one more Ibis-like hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to get the city (parking lot) view. The ventilation system could ruin your sleep. It can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xerxes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Ibis Constanta Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here.

Please accept our apologies regarding the noise in the rooms.

Regarding your diet, we have to mention that our breakfast is a standard one.

I will share your comments about front desk staff and I am sure that your feedback will improve the quality of our services.

We do hope you will consider returning to us in the future.

Thank you once again.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Ibis Constanta was a great choice, especially for July. I went there for 2 nights last weekend and got prices lower then 2 star hotels from "Mamaia Resort Beach" but the quality was really cool and made me feel like a valued client. The room was clean, lots of lights that one could choose from, a very good bed, big size LCD TV with channels in many languages, working room vault (a must in Romania). The bathroom had a huge shower tub (at least double the usual norm in most hotels) which made for very easy and comfy washing, shower gel and towels provided. Maybe the only downside would be the water provided in the room which was really expensive even but on the other hand you were not obligated to take it so I give it a plus for having the option in the room. The view was great from the room as the hotel is near the seaside - just cross the street, go down the stairs and you find yourself on the beach.
You had wifi in the room, and in the lobby, and also could use 2 laptops to check your emails in the lobby. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
You could go for breakfast (all you can eat) for 9euro per person and while this is expensive for Romania regular people, it is a decent price for more expensive countries (like UK). I did not go for it as I don't eat much at the seaside in the morning as this was a pleasure trip.

Another good aspect was that the hotel is at about 250-300m from 2 of the best restaurants in town (as awarded on tripadvisor), and we did go to the Greek one and do not regret it.

Overall a really great hotel for Romania, and a good hotel by any standard.

Room Tip: Rooms with matrimonial bed have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex16ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your appreciation and we feel truly honored that you consider Ibis hotel as a great one for Romania and a good one by any standards.

We can say that our rates are fair and we have a lot of offers, so that you can benefit from very good rates.

Yes indeed, we have internet wireless in all rooms and in the reception lobby we have even a business corner for guests who don’t have a laptop.

And the most important thing is that this service is 24 hours/24 and it’s free.

Regarding the breakfast, it is buffet “all you can eat” and you can find hot and cold dishes, fruits, milk, croissants, coffee, juice, etc..

Maybe next time you will try it and you will have meals in our restaurant, which is one with a Mediterranean cuisine.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohrid, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Normal prices for a business style hotel. The location is great with easy walking to the beach and old town. On street parking and paid off street in rear. Rooms were very clean and service was excellent with free wireless.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad that you liked our hotel and you appreciated its value price as an honest one.

A positive feedback from our guests is always an encouragement and a recognition of the efforts of the entire team.

Yes, indeed, the hotel has a private parking, permanently monitored, located behind the hotel.

You're welcome anytime and we hope you will have a pleasant stay at least as this one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel for one night I found the Reception staff member very welcoming and efficient (Fri Jul 05). His welcoming smile was pleasant to see, especially after standing on the train for more than an hour - the rail clerk wrongly issued the reserved seat! I was tired and his welcome and efficiency were appreciated, as well as providing a map. He was also very helpful when checking out and then organising a Taxi and the luggage room. The room was adequate, comfortable and reasonable value. One point is the location - unfortunately the hotel can do nothing about its surroundings. It is also close for access to the coastline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our hotel and for you appreciation.

All staff from the reception has this positive attitude, but we congratulated our collegue.

Regarding the surroundings, in this moment the old city is in a process of renovating and definitely very soon the area of the hotel will be more attractive.

See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ibis Constanta is a nice hotel, has a great location, right near the beach. The sea view rooms are very nice. The room was spacious, clean. I saw 4 stars hotels worse than this little 3 star one.
The breakfest can be improved, but it was ok for the 2 days staying.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for being our guest.

Regarding the rooms overlooking the sea, it offer a special landscape, both in summer and winter.

Ibis breakfast is a standard one, but we are trying to keep the quality of our products and services.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

the hotel has a great location, most rooms with sea view; Rooms are ok, clean but definitely this hotel needs renovation. Breakfast is poor and getting worst. We decided not to take breakfast for our future staying. The breakfast area/restaurant is not really clean. Staff is polite. There is no clear definition of the smoking policies. In my opinion the hotel lacks of professional management

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Returninghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dragospopa, General Manager at Ibis Constanta, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Any kind of feed-back helps us to improve our services.
Concerning the rooms, I have to mention that we have already started to renovate most of them on certain floors.
Regarding the cleaning in the restaurant, I have to say that at breakfast time there is a large flow of people, about 150, that’s why sometimes It causes dirt.But my colleagues take care to be constantly clean.
Regarding the breakfast, we will take measures to keep the standard.
The hotel has floors for smokers and non-smokers, and in the bar area we have a closed space, specially designed for smokers.
We will make more efforts to manage more efficiently this situation.
We hope that your next stay will be more pleasant.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constanta hotels
5.6 mi away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#1 of 94 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cherica
Hotel Cherica
#2 of 94 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.8 mi away
Vega Hotel
Vega Hotel
#4 of 94 in Constanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Iaki Hotel
Iaki Hotel
#8 of 94 in Constanta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carol
Hotel Carol
#5 of 94 in Constanta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
Hotel Del Mar Mamaia
#11 of 94 in Constanta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Constanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Constanta

Property: Ibis Constanta
Address: Strada Mircea cel Batran 39 - 41, Constanta 900658, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Constanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Constanta 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Constanta hotel overlooks the Black Sea. 50 m from Constanta beach, 300 m from the historic city and the main archaeological site. With 154 airconditioned rooms, the hotel features a restaurant, a bar with a terrace open 24 hours and private parking as well as a gym, a sauna, a jacuzzi, a massage parlour, a bowling alley and three meeting rooms for organising seminars and conferences. Free WiFi internet access for guests in the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Constanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Constanta Hotel Constanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing