We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but needs some updating”
Review of Hotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Palace
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Constanta
Port Dover, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great location but needs some updating”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were given an upgrade to a partial river view after front desk staff insulted us by implying that we would leave without paying. After trying to pay with credit card , terminal did not work so my husband said jokingly -I guess its free and was told I would have to pay cash before getting room in case we skipped out. I had to convince my husband to stay. We decided to stay after we received an apology
The good-large room, great location with good view , great breakfast, beautiful large pool with spa which were very clean
The bad-carpets quite dirty with stains, very hard uncomfortable beds, pilllows also very hard, balcony dirty

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacqueline1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    28
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
11
24
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

+ location, architecture, sea view, breakfast - old and smelly furniture/rooms/lobby. At the reception, more attention to details, they asked for more money than I had to pay according to the reservation ticket - 10% more...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anca I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This property by no means has current day palatial presence, but it is indeed a lovely place in an "Old Europe" part of Constanta. The area, which I adore, is undergoing massive construction - beware of torn up streets and confusing navigation with closed roads. I rented a group of rooms for a team retreat last year and returned this year because of my positive experience. The rooms are very simple, but have stunning views of Tomis Harbor below. A short walk down to the water reveals a little boardwalk/promenade of over a dozen restaurants with a beach area just beyond that. It is waterfront but not beachfront. It is close walk to downtown to shops as well - overall a great location. The rooms we rented varied, each unique with special touches. Its all about the view. The outdoor terrace directly overlooking Tomis Harbor on the back of the property is more formal and is lovely but beware that smoking is allowed (typical in Constanta). The side patio has a more casual atmosphere and has delicious pizza. Also, the greek restaurant across the street is fantastic and has live music some nights. There is also a mini grocery store steps away.

Room Tip: Make sure you have an ocean view and ask for one directly over the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViewsAndReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My colleague and i were coming from Bulgaria and decided to stop by Constanta for 2nights before heading to Bucharest. We chose this hotel cuz it was cheap and we knew that we weren;t gonna spend much time in the room.
When we alighted from the cab, we were welcomed by this old and huge looking building. And coming from Singapore where sky scrappers are everywhere in sight, this was a rather refreshing and an amusing sight. We checked in at about 11pm odd and the lady at the reception made check-in a breeze for us. Shortly after, we were accompanied to our room by the bell-boy. I must agree that the room looked rather old but it was sufficiently maintained and clean. The room overlooked the sea and we liked it.
Breakfast was very limited but enough. Since breakfast came together with the room for us, there is nothing much to complain.
There are a number of bars and bistros about a minute walk away from our hotel. We enjoyed their cuisines and drinks.
We loved the view from the hotel and the surrounding scenes. We spent some time at the bar in the lobby
We din't get anything less what we paid and thus we were rather contended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deen_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I know this hotel very well, I've lived in Romania for the last 7 years, and I always find myslelf coming back to it. It does have it's problems, principally, small rooms, lack of matrimonial beds, lack of power points, awkward bathrooms, but for value it's excellent. Great location with great views over the marina from the restuarant terrace. Restuarant food is ok, now serving a free brunch on weekends, while I was there they gave me a 10% discount off my accomodation and a free 2 hour boat cruise - you find that in many hotels. Staff are freindly and helpful. The marina nearby is great for bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a real double bed, ask does the room have a real matromnial bed, not 2 twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I booked this hotel cause it was my last option for a weekend , everything else was booked so I chosen this one for two nights, after we checked in some cockroaches welcomed us in the room , I imidiatly went downstairs to cash my money back and the stuff didn't even bother to say "we apologies for the inconvenience", they just behaved like what just happened was normal, and I've read a review also about the same problem!
The smell in the room was also bad ... Like rusty and very old!
If u can handle that ... I wish u a pleasant stay, LOL

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zanulive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Constanta hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ploiesti, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed there for a couple of nights in July. Had to move there from Ibis and at first I had doubts about my choice.

Liked:
- location: very close to main POIs (Casino, marina, beach)
- it has style: interesting design, both inside and outside.
- the terrace: the view is ... WOW!
- the food - grilled chicken & veggies (we were in the middle of the Dukan diet).
- bathroom door: the space between the two layers of glass were filled with sea shells. Nice!
- parking lot available, right next to the hotel.

Didn't like:
- the refigerator in the room was very noisy.
- the AC was not working properly. Didn't start until we put in on 5 C and even then it was barely blowing cool air.
- significant discrepancy between restaurant personnel. Some seemed to be very demotivated and ... lost (as in didn't know what they were supposed to do) while others were very friendly and very accomodating.
- lack of safe box in the room.
- bathroom sink is place in a very uncomfortable position.
- outlets are insufficient and in the wrong places. I had to turn off the refrigerator in order to plug in my laptop.
- lack of shower curtain (by design).
- parking lot: reservation not possible though (it's first come first served), it's guarded only during the night and the pavement is poorly maintained (more like not at all).

Areas of improvement:
- this hotel has a lot of potential. It could be a 4 star if the owner is willing to make some investments. Obviously, someone is trying really hard to make it look classy but probably the resources are insufficient.
- white parquet floor. Oh. no!!! The rooms are already bright.
- the hotel needs more advertising. Also, potential clients might get scared by the opulent looks of the hotel and they could think it's pricy - the owners should probably do something about this.
- the owners should remove the kitschy stuff and get rid of the unprofessional staff (some of them really are). Foreign tourists want to see smiles. Some of the employees don't know how to/dont want to/can't offer that.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. It's awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xerxes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constanta
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carol
Hotel Carol
#5 of 96 in Constanta
91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Voila
Hotel Voila
#72 of 96 in Constanta
27 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Complex Tropical
#4 of 47 in Eforie
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ferdinand
Hotel Ferdinand
#16 of 96 in Constanta
9 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#8 of 96 in Constanta
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Constanta
Ibis Constanta
#3 of 96 in Constanta
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palace

Property: Hotel Palace
Address: Strada Opreanu Remus No. 5, Constanta 900734, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Constanta County > Constanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 96 Hotels in Constanta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay. They all have a private bathroom, some of them are with balconies, with a view of the Tomis golf or the Tomis Harbour. An ambiance of comfort and relaxation is present throughout the rooms, complemented by traditional furniture and antique pieces. Thanks to a perfect union between classic and modern, offering qualitative services and a spectacular view, the Palace is suited for businessmen and leisure travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing