We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A mixed review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Delta Nature Resort
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A mixed review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an elegant facility with a panoramic view of an upper portion of the Danube Delta. The staff are warm and friendly. The cottages are roomy and comfortable. The "premium" ones have comfy sitting rooms with fireplaces, minibars, and well-functioning air conditioning. The food is good, but not outstanding. The menues (plural: you get two -- a regular one and one for "chef's specials") are multi-page, but many of the items are not available.

Although I loved the resort, there are inconsistencies that can be annoying. For example, the resort advertises its peace and quiet. In-room literature even urges guests to keep TVs & conversations low so as not to disturb other guests. But many a night, loud music thumps from the lodge dining area, pounds down the hillside, and forces those seeking peace and quiet off their porches and into their rooms.

Also, some of the niceties one expects at a 5-star resort are missing -- like help with your luggage. That becomes important because the cottages are terraced down a steep hillside and you drive near -- but not right to -- your room to drop off your luggage, then return to the top to park your car. And there's no way but the stairs down the hillside to get from registration, the dining room, and the bar to your cottage, massages, pool, boat docks, and the small exercise room. (Who needs a treadmill with all those stairs?) Had I known about those stairs, I probably would not have booked here because I was traveling with an elderly friend for whom they were sheer torture.

A variety of boat excursions and tours are advertised, but you don't learn until you get there that many require 3-day advance reservations! Too bad for you if you are only staying 3 days.

All in all, for environmental beauty and natural peace and quiet, the Delta Nature Resort is hard to beat. But for operational skill and efficiency, it leaves quite a bit to be desired. As to language, even if you speak no Romanian at all, you can get by. Most of the management and restaurant staff speak passable English, but others -- like our tour boat operator -- speak no English at all.

Finally, a warning regarding money: Prices are shown in a mix of Romanian lei and Euros. Be sure to pay attention to which it is because there's a big difference between 3 lei (about $1) and 3 Euros (more like $4). And by the way, laundry -- priced in Euros -- was extremely expensive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsPincheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anca T, Public Relations Manager at Delta Nature Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to give your feedback! We take all customer comments extremely seriously. We are very sorry if there was any incident during your stay and please If you can give us more details. Regarding your complain: we are offering services with the luggage any time our clients are requesting. All our prices are in Euro's except for the restaurant and bar but the end the bill is in Lei. We are sorry we asked for 3 days notice, for a boat trip. We will endeavor to do so within 24 Hrs from now on.
Regarding stairs for any elderly or disabled person, we can provide a buggy, with a driver, to take you to your villa. Please accept our apologies if our services were not as you expected. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future! Regards, Delta Nature Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
6
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Great place to relax, even if on a business occasion. The lovely scenery, in this nice and quiet resort really brings peace to one`s mind. Not to mention the comfortable villas and the pleasure of sitting on the porch while admiring the sunset! Food was good and the staff friendly. Great view from the restaurant balcony - an ideal place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sophie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anca T, Public Relations Manager at Delta Nature Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your impressions about your stay at Delta Nature Resort! We are looking forward to welcoming you in the future! Regards, Delta Nature Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

So when we got there, we were the only guests in the resort. The villa that was given to us was a good property however far away from the main hotel building with a poor view of the delta. They could have provided us a villa overlooking the delta directly. The whole resort was empty !!
Asked for a glass of wine, had two glasses of wine but got charged for a whole bottle !!! Not impressed. We being the only ones in the breakfast lounge made it look like a scene out of "The Shining". Beds were hard. Didn't let us park the car near our villa even though there was plenty of space.

In summary good enough for a weekend; check if the they have a few more guests on the resort if not then plan for a group of friends

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you want a trip to Danube Delta, you can set your "camp" at Delta Nature Resort, a 5 star hotel, located at 20 km before Tulcea, the entering-city for the Delta. Delta Nature is placed on the shore of Somova Lake and you can easily have a boat through the channels to get to the Delta from here. The hotel consists in a few excellent, very big, double roomed villas, designed in a colonial style.
Owned by a charming indian-englishmam, Delta Nature provides a high-quality way for spending time. Not only that the villas are full-equipped, but you have plenty of activities around, from the tennis couryard to the sauna and gym hall with a beautiful lake view. You can also fish, go with kayaks, with the boat, you can swim in the beautiful infinity pool and, after all, you can eat some specific fish meals, well-cooked in the resort's kitchen.
Over all, Delta Nature Resort is a splendid experience for all those who wants to have a Romanian Delta experience or just, in a simple way, have some quiet and relaxing days.

Room Tip: first row of villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We came with 4 families to enjoy the wonderful danube delta. First, the property itself is amazing, very comfortable, clean , well maintained, excellent location, quiet, refreshing. We ate both nights at the restaurant. The food is simple and good, however the service is very slow. All the staff are very friendly and smile all the time, but the kitchen should work faster. Since we were on vacation and relaxed this point was less critical for us. We booked through the hotel a 4 hours trip deep into the delta with speed boats- highly recommended. The hotel staff took us to Tulcea harbor and made sure everything will go well and so it did. Breakfast was tasty but should have a larger variety. It was a typical Romanian breakfast and satisfactory. We were always asked by staff for satisfaction which was nice. I highly recommend this hotel which is the only one in its level in this area. I would come back again

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
341 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

The cabins/Villa's are very nice with great views of wetlands. Wi-fi is not easy -we had to download some software and it could only be used in the main hotel building. The resort is not in the Delta proper. For that you must take a 400 - 500 EURO speed boat trip that they offer. We took it because we had no apparent choice and enjoyed everything except for the outrageous price. We were there in mid October and were the only guests for two of the three days of our stay. One other family came on the third day. The restaurant had a wide range of offerings - most of which they did not have. They could not even seem to make a simple Alfredo because they were out of ingredients (the cook did a lot of yelling in the kitchen that we could plainly hear). Also the swimming pool and jacuzzi/spa was apparently closed for the season when we were there. We would have enjoyed the spa. They say they are a 5 star hotel but I am not sure how they qualify for that. We did enjoy ourselves there in spite of the poor service and incredibly high-priced activities.

Room Tip: They have two classes of villas - we took the high end but other than size it is not apparent what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Spectacular location, pleasant well appointed, comfortable, clean chalet style accommodation with amazing views over the Delta.

Staff Friendly and helpful.

Buffet breakfast adequate, up-to pension/guesthouse standard. Certainly nothing special.

Food in the restaurant absolutely dire! (Dinner). Menu was limited to say the least motor-way service station standard. (but more expensive)

Drinks were astronomically expensive in the bar e.g. simple cocktail 20 Euro. Wines on the wine list were nothing special except for the prices.

Be careful not to be encouraged to take a hotel small boat trip out on the lake it'll cost you 250 Euro's for 55 minutes!!! Wish i'd enquired at Tulcea Airport as i could've flown over the entire area for half that via small aircraft.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulcea hotels
8.8 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
8.2 mi away
Esplanada Hotel
Esplanada Hotel
#2 of 10 in Tulcea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Insula
Hotel Insula
#3 of 10 in Tulcea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Egreta
Egreta
#7 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
9.1 mi away
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#4 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
36.8 mi away
Danube Delta Resort
Danube Delta Resort
#3 of 14 in Tulcea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Nature Resort

Property: Delta Nature Resort
Address: Str. Soseaua Parchesului 32 | Somova comune, Tulcea 827210, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Tulcea County > Tulcea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Delta Nature Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 5 star resort, in the wetlands of the Danube River. Danube Delta is one of the most spectacular natural destinations of the world. Spread over 5500sq kilometers, Danube Delta Biosphere Reservation gathers over 20 ecosystems and over 300 species of birds as well as many species of flowers and faun. The Resort has spectacular panoramic views, a host of many activities including cruises, bird watching, kayak, ATV trips and fishing in season. We also have a swimming pool, gym and tennis court. If you are looking for a “Back to Nature” travel experience come to Delta Nature Resort in Danube Delta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Delta Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Nature Hotel Tulcea
Delta Tulcea
Tulcea Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing