We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Improvement needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Delta Nature Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Service Improvement needed”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

So when we got there, we were the only guests in the resort. The villa that was given to us was a good property however far away from the main hotel building with a poor view of the delta. They could have provided us a villa overlooking the delta directly. The whole resort was empty !!
Asked for a glass of wine, had two glasses of wine but got charged for a whole bottle !!! Not impressed. We being the only ones in the breakfast lounge made it look like a scene out of "The Shining". Beds were hard. Didn't let us park the car near our villa even though there was plenty of space.

In summary good enough for a weekend; check if the they have a few more guests on the resort if not then plan for a group of friends

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

If you want a trip to Danube Delta, you can set your "camp" at Delta Nature Resort, a 5 star hotel, located at 20 km before Tulcea, the entering-city for the Delta. Delta Nature is placed on the shore of Somova Lake and you can easily have a boat through the channels to get to the Delta from here. The hotel consists in a few excellent, very big, double roomed villas, designed in a colonial style.
Owned by a charming indian-englishmam, Delta Nature provides a high-quality way for spending time. Not only that the villas are full-equipped, but you have plenty of activities around, from the tennis couryard to the sauna and gym hall with a beautiful lake view. You can also fish, go with kayaks, with the boat, you can swim in the beautiful infinity pool and, after all, you can eat some specific fish meals, well-cooked in the resort's kitchen.
Over all, Delta Nature Resort is a splendid experience for all those who wants to have a Romanian Delta experience or just, in a simple way, have some quiet and relaxing days.

Room Tip: first row of villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flipendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We came with 4 families to enjoy the wonderful danube delta. First, the property itself is amazing, very comfortable, clean , well maintained, excellent location, quiet, refreshing. We ate both nights at the restaurant. The food is simple and good, however the service is very slow. All the staff are very friendly and smile all the time, but the kitchen should work faster. Since we were on vacation and relaxed this point was less critical for us. We booked through the hotel a 4 hours trip deep into the delta with speed boats- highly recommended. The hotel staff took us to Tulcea harbor and made sure everything will go well and so it did. Breakfast was tasty but should have a larger variety. It was a typical Romanian breakfast and satisfactory. We were always asked by staff for satisfaction which was nice. I highly recommend this hotel which is the only one in its level in this area. I would come back again

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Nir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
355 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

The cabins/Villa's are very nice with great views of wetlands. Wi-fi is not easy -we had to download some software and it could only be used in the main hotel building. The resort is not in the Delta proper. For that you must take a 400 - 500 EURO speed boat trip that they offer. We took it because we had no apparent choice and enjoyed everything except for the outrageous price. We were there in mid October and were the only guests for two of the three days of our stay. One other family came on the third day. The restaurant had a wide range of offerings - most of which they did not have. They could not even seem to make a simple Alfredo because they were out of ingredients (the cook did a lot of yelling in the kitchen that we could plainly hear). Also the swimming pool and jacuzzi/spa was apparently closed for the season when we were there. We would have enjoyed the spa. They say they are a 5 star hotel but I am not sure how they qualify for that. We did enjoy ourselves there in spite of the poor service and incredibly high-priced activities.

Room Tip: They have two classes of villas - we took the high end but other than size it is not apparent what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balkans
Level Contributor
99 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Spectacular location, pleasant well appointed, comfortable, clean chalet style accommodation with amazing views over the Delta.

Staff Friendly and helpful.

Buffet breakfast adequate, up-to pension/guesthouse standard. Certainly nothing special.

Food in the restaurant absolutely dire! (Dinner). Menu was limited to say the least motor-way service station standard. (but more expensive)

Drinks were astronomically expensive in the bar e.g. simple cocktail 20 Euro. Wines on the wine list were nothing special except for the prices.

Be careful not to be encouraged to take a hotel small boat trip out on the lake it'll cost you 250 Euro's for 55 minutes!!! Wish i'd enquired at Tulcea Airport as i could've flown over the entire area for half that via small aircraft.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jamestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2007

Dear Reader,

If you want to spend a very expensive horrible vacation, you cand choose Delta Nature Resort.
I will describe you very shortly our sad experience:
- accommodation: the rooms are very nice with a very nice view. At the time we have been there, there were a water bugs invasion. We had bugs even in the room, coming all the time.More! And more! And more! Horrible!
- prices: huge prices. They cheated us with the prices for fishing boat. We paid 250 EUR/hour (without being informed of this price) saying that the respective boat was the fishing boat of 20 EUR/h we asked for. We saw the price difference in the final invoice.
- we chose a lunch at the monastery. They asked 50 EUR/pers (for 2 twins of 5yrs old they asked the same price). If you go by your own, you have to pay 9 EUR/pers to the nuns.
- they don't cook traditional food with fresh fish. Their ''fresh'' fish is bought from Tulcea shops not fished in Danube Delta. This is pretty strange for Delta!!!
- they have Indian cook... so in Danube Delta you can eat indian food..........
- personnel: extraordinary people, all the time ready to help you.
We chose this resort hoping that our American delegation will spend nice days in a special place... so, it was a totally disaster!!!
So, my sincere advice: choose a real place to really enjoy Danube Delta!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Marmys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tulcea hotels

Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2007

There are few really top notch hotels in Romania; the Marriott and the Hilton in Bucharest, and this one - the Delta Nature resort.

Wonderfully comfortable cabin/apartments with a great view over lake/marshes. The staff are also incredibly friendly. The restaurant serves high quality food, interestingly with a choice of international/romanian and indian dishes (the proprietor is Indian).

Excursions are available on the nearby lake using one of the hotel's fleet of boats or via extremely expensive speedboat deep into the delta itself.

It's all very good. My only frustration was that it was on the far west of the Delta itself and so quite a way away from the heart of the nature reserve

It is quite poor value for money in my view, especially in Romania (the rack rate is per person not per room) but extremely memorable

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony_No
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulcea hotels
8.2 mi away
Esplanada Hotel
Esplanada Hotel
#3 of 10 in Tulcea
66 reviews
8.8 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tulcea
135 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Insula
Hotel Insula
#2 of 10 in Tulcea
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#4 of 10 in Tulcea
28 reviews
36.8 mi away
Danube Delta Resort
Danube Delta Resort
#4 of 15 in Tulcea
28 reviews
9.3 mi away
Complex Turistic Steaua Apelor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delta Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delta Nature Resort

Property: Delta Nature Resort
Address: Str. Soseaua Parchesului 32 | Somova comune, Tulcea 827210, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Tulcea County > Tulcea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Delta Nature Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning 5 star resort, in the wetlands of the Danube River. Danube Delta is one of the most spectacular natural destinations of the world. Spread over 5500sq kilometers, Danube Delta Biosphere Reservation gathers over 20 ecosystems and over 300 species of birds as well as many species of flowers and faun. The Resort has spectacular panoramic views, a host of many activities including cruises, bird watching, kayak, ATV trips and fishing in season. We also have a swimming pool, gym and tennis court. If you are looking for a “Back to Nature” travel experience come to Delta Nature Resort in Danube Delta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Delta Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Nature Hotel Tulcea
Delta Tulcea
Tulcea Delta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing