We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well done !”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Casa Varvara 1904

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
A wildlife heaven.
Birdwatcher's paradise.
Surreal sunset in Dobrogea!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Tulcea, Tulcea County, Southeast Romania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Departure...
1 review
“Well done !”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Thank you Sanda for the friendly service and advice. A wonderful boat trip in the Delta by Roberto with wildlife in abundance. Lovely lodgings and the pool is a delicious break for children and parents alike! Recommended by the whole family;

Traveling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service, the pool, the view
Liked least: I misted air-con in one of the rooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and house's character
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ministrul
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“The peace you're searching for!”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had the most wonderful experience staying at Varvara. Besides the beautiful scenery and the tranquility of the surroundings I have discovered great people that were willing to help me with whatever I needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts for being warm and helpful all the time. I have stated that the property was not as advertised. It was way better!
Liked least: Nothing, really.
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeEncanta...
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay for 2 nights. To save time we hired a driver to take us from Bucharest. We were greeted by Cosmin and Marta (brother-in-law and mother-in-law) of Roberto who was on vacation with his family. They were the perfect hosts! We were the only ones there at the time so we had an opportunity to get to know them. Marta prepared a wonderful breakfast both mornings. We had dinner both nights too. Marta prepared traditional dishes that were delicious! The last night we came back from a whole day on the delta to find they had set up our dinner outside....loved it! We wished we had stayed 1 more night so we could explore more. We can't say enough nice things about our hosts and our stay. Enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts and a more authentic Romanian experience
Liked least: Wish we had stayed 1 more night
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magassoub...
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful house with a beautiful view”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Casa Varvara during our trip to the Danube Delta. The house is located in Somova, a village close to Tulcea. The location is absolutely beautiful, on a jill overlooking one of the lakes that makes up the Danube Delta. The house itself is an old traditional Romanian house, which is very nicely decorated. It has a lovely porch to sit on as well as a pool, which we didn't use, because it was too cold. The owners are very friendly and one can order both breakfast and dinner, which I highly recommend, because the food was excellent. I would definitely recommend staying here. I don't think it's possible to find a nicer location in the Danube Delta area and I would certainly consider coming back just to relax and enjoy the scenery. I recommend asking for directions in advance because the street was not on our GPS.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, relaxing and beautiful.”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Wonderful old house full of traditional Romanian objects and antiques, so much that we felt as if we were liviing in a different age all together. This was complimented by the kind and lovely owners and children who our own children made firm friends with, and who were so generous with their amazing home cooking and produce, but never intrusive. The setting was also beautiful and tranquil and the swimming pool, although a little cold due to unexpectedly rainy weather, was lovely to sit around. Heartily recommended,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality, genuine style of property, location.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing