We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but really not a 4Star Hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Esplanada Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esplanada Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
bucharest
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location but really not a 4Star Hotel.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Room with excellent view but staff not realy helpfull .
Front desk should be able to provide more assistance to simple question about facilities on the area.
Cleanliness as it should be
Breakfast room too sad .it reminds old old times.
The existing parking facilities is a plus for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didikaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    14
    6
    0
See reviews for
8
20
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel rooms looks nice, especially the view to Danube. Room is well equipped.

The biggest improvement must be done with the service and staff. Blonde lady was too arrogant to work in reception.

During the breakfast nobody removed dirty plates, we had to find knifes by ourselves (we took them from served tables in another part of restaurant), because waiters were too busy chatting and sitting at the table all together and eating breakfast as hotel guests.

Tratorria in ground floor do not match with 4* hotel, the food is very cheap (for pasta 3 EUR), but quality is terrible. This hotel has potential to be 4* hotel with some improvements, but with such staff attitude it seems to be far away in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Audrius_Ab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband, I and someone else in our family stayed in this hotel already twice, once in August 2011 and once in May 2013. The hotel looks nice, with very big rooms and confortable beds, is clean and has a great view over the Danube, but there are a few negative things which can be solved very easily in order to have a positive experience per total. What I believe is that they put a little bit more effort during summer, when the hotel is more busy, but try to manage with as little as possible in the months when visitors are less. I booked the hotel again, as our first experience was a very good one, but now in May, although the weather was very hot in Romania, they didn't switch on the A/C, which made especially the nights very hot and unpleasent. It's true that after I contacted the reception a few times, they have offered some bigger rooms, apparently cooler, but this didn't solve the problem. A 4 stars hotel having the same prices like all over in Europe, not being prepared to switch on the A/C when outside are 28-30 degrees, is unacceptable.
Another negative aspect is, as many already have said here, the breakfast - very poor, no variation at all (we have stayed 4 nights), absolutely not proper for such a nice hotel. The eggs were fried in the morning and then not warm enough, looking dry and strange, only one kind of bread (toast bread), the aubergine salad without taste, the fish eggs looking like being there since a while and so on. I can understand that in the hotel were not many guests at that time and they didn't want to make a big boufet, but for such cases there would be a reasonable solution - they could bring the breakfast at the table and make at least the eggs fresh, after asking the guests how they like it (after all, there was never more than 2 tables taken in the whole restaurant) and buy some better quality juice at least, a few boxex would be enough for one morning. It's such a pity that something which could be a wonderful experience, like a breakfast on the terrace, with the wonderful view of the Danube, it's getting transformed in a sad meal.

The personal was nice, only sometimes at breakfast we needed to wait pretty long when something was needed, because the only person there was missing or doing something for other of the few guests.

Generally a positive impression and I would go again, just that they need to change the philosophy of the breakfast, which for some of the tourists is a very important part of the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been here with my fiance for an event. We stayed ome night, at esplanada hotel. I liked the hotel, seems to be an old one remade recently. The rooms are very big and the beds are huge! I loved the bathroom because it was very clean and warm.:) the view from the room was outstanding. We stayed at the 4 flloor and we cod see the danube river! We we t to this nice event at one of our frinds 3 km away from the hotel. The event place was great. It was very classy and the food was outstanding! The peoblem was at breakfast. It is a petty for a hotel this beautifull to have such an auwfull breakfast. Even if I cam down At 7 o'clock the oet was cold the meat was old and the cheese, well, i couldn't even aproach it! I wanted to eat somecereals bit the mussly was o er and the waiter told me that he hasn't any more! All in all I sant to say that I liked the hotel but the breakfast is. I good!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoriaSzabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We planned to stay for a night in this hotel and stayed for 3 - we had a room which felt as big as a ballroom with a wide view over the water and a very quick trip to get the boat to Solina. The restaurant felt a bit cavernous and was a bit chilly when we were there. Helpful friendly staff and a garage for bikes

Room Tip: corner rooms have wide views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traintravelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I spent a Saturday night in this hotel when I went to a wedding in Tulcea one weekend this September. The room was nice and clean and the staff was polite and helpful. We had a room on the 1st floor overseeing the Danube. Price however is quite high - 80 eur per night for a double room. Also, there was a wedding under our room so it was noisy. It didn't bother us too much as we only arrived in the room around 5AM, but the quality of the sleep would definitely be poor if you tried to get some rest on a Saturday night in a room on the first floor.

Room Tip: rooms on the 1st floor are noisy on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaTarsoaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulcea, Romania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Hotel Esplenada.. is a excelent Hotel, good food, nice rooms, good sevice, good people who work there, The Owner is very very *Hands On* active to see that all is okay, have been ther many many times, to eat, to in Wedding, and so on.. super place.. own man who work with wine, and recomend good wine, in TOTAL VERY VERY GOOD PLACE..

Room Tip: choose a rom with River viuw.. Danube Delta
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stenkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tulcea hotels
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Insula
Hotel Insula
#3 of 10 in Tulcea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
1.1 mi away
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#4 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europolis
Hotel Europolis
#8 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
8.2 mi away
Delta Nature Resort
Delta Nature Resort
#6 of 10 in Tulcea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
1.1 mi away
Complex Turistic Steaua Apelor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esplanada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esplanada Hotel

Property: Esplanada Hotel
Address: Str. Portului No 1 | Promenade, Tulcea 820242, Romania
Location: Romania > Southeast Romania > Tulcea County > Tulcea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Tulcea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Esplanada Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Esplanada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing