We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a big deal”
Review of Taverna Sarbului

Taverna Sarbului
Ranked #55 of 276 Restaurants in Brasov
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's not a big deal”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I was there on 30 November 2013. This restaurant is a smaller one, with big prices for tasty meals. For example, 2 medium size guys could pay about 30 euros for one main dish and one beer for each person. It's not cheap I have to say....

Helpful?
Thank Constantin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    80
    40
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“2 Visits - 2 experiences”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were in Brasov for 3 days and we found this restaurant by accident in the pedestrianised area. It is tucked away but there was a young woman outside trying to attract customers.

We were tempted by the photographs in the booklet she had and we went in. It was almost empty and we had full attention of the staff and ate a most magnificent meal. We were totally satisfied with everything about the place - this would be about 6pm.

The next night we went again but around 8pm.
We were choosing from the illustrated menu booklet when I realised someone at the next table was smoking!

I asked the waiter if there was a non-smoking area but he said no and shrugged. I was a bit nonplussed but then the smoking person got up and left so we ordered.

Before our meal arrived more people came and on almost every table people were smoking. It was DREADFUL - the ceiling was low and barrel shaped and it just stunk.

I again asked the waiter about it and he shrugged so we ate our meal (which was again extremely good) paid up and left.

So yes, the food here was good but I'm afraid I would NEVER go back until they have sorted out the smoking situation and if they want to attract tourists then this is a priority.

People do appear to smoke wherever they want in Romania and this needs addressing in hotels and restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food but pricy”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very tasty food (trout, pickled mushrooms, spinach, potatoes), but it was very expensive.
The serving was very good, meaning the lady that served our table was really professional in doing this.
The atmosphere was rustic, suitable for the specific of the restaurant

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmihaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good food,a bit on the expensive side”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Writing this review while still at the restaurant just having finished my dinner. Quality of the food is good (the porc snitel with wine sause was on the salty side), the vienna snitzel was very good. We also had the Sepska salad (assorted vegetables with grated whitw cheese). Prices though were very much on the high side if you'd go for average portions (300 gr of meat) and the platters with assorted meat at 138 Ron is really way to expensive. Waiters were nice and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler22793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best waiter-Cosmin”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We've been served by the best waiter from taverna sarbului cosmin! Ask to be served by him. Free tiramisu!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BiancaMechant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Sarbului also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Sarbului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing