We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Apollonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Apollonia
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Apollonia is just outside the old city walls, but an easy walk especially to save from the higher prices in the old town. I paid 38 euro in September 2013. However, the rooms are dark, need updating, mattresses old, and you need the windows open as they are stuffy, but then there is so much noise from other guests. The buffet breakfast is very basic. One night was enough! When I came back through Brasov a couple of weeks later, I paid more (60 euro) and stayed in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AcePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
17
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Nice hotel and only 10 minutes walking to the city centre, which is nice for those who don't want to be in the tourist area.
Nice restaurant indoor and outdoor patio.
the bed was Dreadful!!! so if you need to stay more than one night, that not the place to do so.
The room and the public area was clean.
the bathroom was uncomfortable/

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avinoam64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noginsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Was a nice hotel and only 10 minutes walking to the city centre, which is nice for those who don't want to be in the tourist area. It has a very good restaurant indoor and outdoor patio. The staff could speak English and were helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brasov1600835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The room had everything we wanted: comfortable bed, internet and TV.
The parking was right near the hotel visible from the room.
A minibar was also available although we did not need to use it.
The hotel is close the the historical center but a map or a GPS phone might be needed to get there,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GabrielDeliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed only for one night, but hotel was clean and nice. Hotel staff was also very friendly and helpfull. It reminded me german style hotels. only location would be con, but we were able to walk to city centre in about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_P_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Appolonia for one night. It was a last minute choice to stay at the hotel. The front desk attendant was very accomodating. She showed us several rooms and allowed us to choose which room we wanted. The room we choose was spacious and clean. The restaurant was amazing - great food and a beautiful atmosphere (outside terrace). Two compaints : the shower did not work properly - only the hand held shower hose worked but all of the other options in the shower did not work. Also, the double bed was two twin beds put together - the mattresses sloped to one side. Overall, a nice little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms first. Very nice and clean hotel.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stayed here with a group of friends for one night and arrived late in the evening. Staff were friendly and accomodating, nothing spectacular, but what you would expect from a decent 3 star hotel. We took the biggest room they had to accomodate our group of 4 and the room was spacious and clean, however, the shower was barely holding itself together and was in desperate need of some servicing.
The buffet breakfast was fairly standard, though the staff were very helpful and eager to provide us with additional food even though we were late for breakfast.
Overall a pleasant stay if you require a decent bed with a solid breakfast. It's slightly off the beaten track, though centrally located nonetheless.
Thanks to the service this hotel receives an above average rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Brasov
Hotel Brasov
#40 of 56 in Brasov
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#10 of 56 in Brasov
27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
91 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Time
Hotel Golden Time
#16 of 56 in Brasov
93 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gott
Hotel Gott
#14 of 56 in Brasov
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apollonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apollonia

Property: Hotel Apollonia
Address: Strada Neagoe Basarab 7, Brasov 500002, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Apollonia 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apollonia Hotel, offers you a wide range of options, representative for your life style, which fully satisfy the needs of recreation and leisure. No matter which is the reason of your visit, business or pleasure, in our hotel you will always find an service. At reception you can find answers of your questions: like turistic information, transportatin, order taxi, luggage storage, safe deposit box ; Our friendly staff will be there for you. Payment methods: cash at the reception at check-in, bank transfer, credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Apollonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing