We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel Casa Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Wagner
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This was a lovely hotel, situated on the main square in Brasov. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the staff helpful. It had a nice 'backpacker' feel to it, but make no mistake; this was probably the best hotel we stayed in, in Romania.

Would certainly book this if I visit Brasov again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KINGKONG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    270
    81
    17
    5
See reviews for
103
285
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Beauty, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated right on he main square in brasov but the room that we has was quiet nonetheless. The rooms are beautifully furnished and the one we had was large. The staff were very friendly especially the lady who organises the breakfast. The hotel is in an old building so there are stairs and lots of different levels but overall it is very atmospheric and well done. I found a parking spot in the free zone about 500m up he road but i suspect that this could be more of a challenge in the summer when the town is busier.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A small hotel.The hotel is on the main square and our room overlooked it. As it was christmas time it was quite magical.
We had not been warned about the steep staircase and no lift. This was a little difficult. The hotel is in a pedestrian area so we had to walk to it from the road, where the coach had to park. Traffic wardens stressed our guide a little.
The hotel staff were helpful.

Room Tip: Sk for the rooms overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at Brasov train station. Avoid the rip off taxis. We had been in other Romanian cities and were aware of normal taxi prices. The journey to the old town she be no more than 8 lei but each taxi driver wanted 25 lei(3. Times too much)

We headed to the informatiion/ticket booth right outside the station. We purchased 2 tickets(4 lei in total) and jumped on the 4 bus that takes you to central park terminus-remember to validate your ticket as you get on the bus. Turn right walk along the street for about 3/4 minutes and you are at the main square of Brasov.

In the main square itself is the Casa Wagner hote l. It is not easy to spot . We checked in at the tiny reception at the front door but do not let that put you off. We were allocated Room 3 which has a stunning view of the main square. Our room was huge approximately 45/50 square meters with 2 large windows. The bed was large and very comfortable and the room was packed full of character and history.

Breakfast was superb and was delightfully presented.

Only point I would make is there is no lift so it may not be the hotel for you if you have difficult climbing stairs.

I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again

Overall a first class experience and would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms 1-5 appear to be the largest with rooms overlooking the historical square
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hunterstrystjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice old building refurbished in the very heart of Brasov.
The only bad thing I can imagine is the lack of a parking. However you may find public parking near to the location. Tickets for the public parking can be purchased at the reception of the hotel.
The people at the reception were nice and helpful.
For the smokers bad news: only non-smoking rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan_zzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Brasov is a pretty town with a main square housing shops, restaurants, school and churches. Casa Wagner is located on the square itself hence ideal to explore the town in. It's a small hotel with no elevators. The breakfast was just ok and based on it I wouldn't recommend their restaurant to dine in. There were plenty of eateries and shops nearby for food choices.

Room Tip: If you don't have a lot of luggages and don't mind climbing up stairs, our attic room was ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberlyGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Casa Wagner is awesome. The location is amazing--right on the square. Casa Wagner has that bed and breakfast feel.The room was great. It was so big that they had it set up like a flat, with a dining table and bench. The staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. They were really great. The only reason I didn't give an "excellent" rating was because the bathroom could have been cleaner. If you're looking for that operating room sterile feeling that some big-name fancy hotels have, this place isn't for you. If you want charm and character this is the place. I was happy to give up a bleached-down room for this darling little place. I could have moved right in I loved it so much!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
578 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
385 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Wagner

Property: Hotel Casa Wagner
Address: Piata Sfatului nr. 5, Brasov 500031, Romania
Phone Number:
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brasov
#5 Romantic Hotel in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Wagner 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The building that hosts the hotel is a monument dating back to 1477, being documented as one of the first three buildings to have been erected on the central square. The same love and attention to detail has been given to its restoration and renovation, all the rooms having been minutely decorated with antique furniture, yet equipped with modern amenities. The hotel has 25 rooms all with en-suite bathrooms, color cable TV, internet connection, telephone and minibars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Casa Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Wagner Hotel
Casa Wagner Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing