We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good time”
Review of Kismet Dao Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kismet Dao Villa
Ranked #1 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
2 reviews
“Very good time”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I travelled in the end of october there and it was just perfect.
People working there are really nice and the place is cute and clean.
Plus, there is a beautiful and nice cat who just want caresses!
Do not hesit to go there, it`s the place to be!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juberthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    45
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
30
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Near Old town location - quiet street, 10min walk of the main street in the Old Town and nearby nos. 4 bus station to train station. 20min walk to train station.
Nice staff - we were in a 10 bed dorm, there were enough showers to cope with everyone. Breakfast consists of cereal and (very good) coffee.
Variety of beds in select - 6 to bed dorm can be choose.
Toilet bathroom enough - 1/F, G/F and Basement have Tailet bathroom.
Daily drinks - the fee included one drinks.
Music room - funny room on basement , can play music on anytime.

Room Tip: 41lei one bed on 10bed dor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location - on a quiet street, but within 10min walk of the main street in the Old Town and easy to find when travelling from the bus station. Excellent staff - they gave us all the information we needed on arrival, and when my friend had to scan some documents to be sent home, they gave her free reign over the office computer. The rooms are nice - we were in a 10 bed dorm, which didn't leave a lot of space, but there is a very pleasant terrace to sit on, and I was impressed that there were enough showers to cope with everyone. Breakfast consists of cereal and (very good) coffee. Overall, Kismet Dao has a very calm and relaxed feel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is hostel with character. Unlike the cheap/functional hostels found elsewhere, Kismet is a bit of fun: the large kitchen table and free tea service provides a nice opportunity to get to know other travellers; the rooms are uniquely named; the hosts are helpful; and the place is small enough to feel that your not just one in hundreds in a five-story hostel. A very nice place to stay - definitely felt the dao vibes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_Sarah_1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great hostel located just 5min walk to the main pedestrian street and the centre of town. The hostel itself is spacious and comfortable. Standard breaky, good common rooms and facilities. Staff will arrange convenient transport to surrounding castles/fortresses incl. Peles, Bran and Rasnov fortress. Overall, a solid hostel!

Room Tip: Stayed in the largest (and cheapest) dorm room - one of the more spacious I have stayed in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very handy to the old town centre, which is really worth seeing. Great staff, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Kismet Dao for part of our ski trip in Romania. We originally planned to stay for 1 night only, but we were so impressed with the accommodation and the warm welcome that we stayed for 3!

The staff were very friendly, the place was great value with breakfast and a free drink included for each night we stayed. We stayed in a twin room: clean, spacious and very warm. Sleeping was no problem as there are social and shower rooms 2 floors below (in basement level), and there is a quiet policy after 10pm. Hot water all the time and the showers were great.

On our third night we were happily surprised to find a bottle of wine and a box of chocolates in our room, as a thank you for staying. We felt very special :) and although I didn't make the mulled wine night, my friend reported it was good fun.. and free.

The location is great for Brasov and if you're planning to ski, there are regular buses from town.. or if you're driving there's free parking and it's easy to get to a variety of ski hills.

Overall, thank you for a comfortable and fun stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fallingst4r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.7 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
571 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
616 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aro Palace
Aro Palace
#4 of 56 in Brasov
371 reviews
1.3 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Dao Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Dao Villa

Property: Kismet Dao Villa
Address: Strada Neagoe Basarab no.8, Brasov 500002, Romania (Formerly Elvis Villa Hostel)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 90 Specialty Lodging in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply the best valued, cleanest and cheapest hostel in Brasov. Other hostels claim many things but we actually deliver. We will beat any Brasov hostel. See it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kismet Dao Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing