We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic choice to unwind.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Postavarului
Ranked #36 of 147 Brasov B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This wonderful guesthouse has a fantastic location, great owners and an incredible value that can’t be beat. Situated on a cobblestone street with restricted car access, the guesthouse is secure and just a minute off the main street (plenty of shops, the square and restaurants and short distance to the sites). We stayed 3 nights, instructions to the guesthouse were easy to follow. Our double with ensuite was clean, had air con., hot water, and cable (numerous channels, grouped by languages/or content - I noticed!), plus visitors (guide, internet/restaurant, etc.) information available. The well traveled, multi-lingual owners Andrei and Lucia will make you feel like old friends already and they can offer insights the local culture or on making the most of your stay depending on your budget and time.

The guesthouse is easy on the wallet, we met up with fellow travelers later and found that at their guesthouse they wound up sleeping on a pull out sofa with minimal privacy for the same price we paid for our room at Guesthouse Postavarului. You simply can’t go wrong with Guesthouse Postavarului.

Our thanks to Andrei and Lucia! It was perfect.
Travellers from Canada

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Guesthouse Postavarului
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2009

After traveling through Central Romania for a couple weeks, would have to say that the Guesthouse Postavarului was easily the most comfortable, clean and well-located accommodation we had found. Contained within the courtyarded charms of an authentic old/period house, the room was appointed and fitted-out with all the modern conveniences the less-than-ultra-needy could want. Given it’s ideal central location within Brasov’s Old Town (easily within a couple minutes walk of the Central Square), the price was also within a frugal travelers budget. The owner, Andrei was extremely accommodating in a spur of the moment arrangement via phone. He and his wife speak English extremely well, were very gracious and non-intrusive hosts, while also offering up some personable and interesting conversation. Needless to say, I will be returning to the Postavarului on my next (hopefully very soon) visit to Brasov!
Thanks again Andrei & Lucia!
Bob L.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VagaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

My wife and I just completed a week's stay at the Guesthouse Postavarului, and can whole-heartedly recommend it to you. The hosts. Andrei and Lucia, are friendly and charming (and not stingy with their palinka!). The location, right in the old town, is perfect, and our room, while not palatial, was a gem for the price.

The house is on a street with restricted traffic flow, making it very quiet. There is some internal noise from the kids running upstairs, but they are so charming that after you meet them you won't mind. Also, all rooms are No Smoking, offering a rare and welcome haven from the smell of stale cigarette smoke in one of the most pro-smoking countries in the world.

Ask for the room with the kitchenette, so you can reheat the leftovers from the ample and delicious lunches that Brasov's restaurants serve. I would recommend the Altstadt and the Bella Musica both for the quality of food and their smoke-free seating areas.

The city of Brasov itself is like an outdoor museum, especially in the Old Town. There's a treat for the eye at every turn. The snow started falling not ten minutes after we arrived, heralding a magical week.

If you need a lift to Brasov from the airport in Bucharest, or a day trip in the area, Andrei can recommend one of the safest drivers in Romania.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2009

My daughter and I have just spent a month at Guesthouse Postavarului and we couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay while in Brasov. It is SO central to the old part of the city; right next to the main square and the many cafes, bars and restaurants in the area. Being more than 300 years old the building has tonnes of character but with all mod cons: television with more than seventy channels, and our double room had a kitchenette with fridge and gas stove. The owners - Andrei and Lucia - were so charming and helpful and their hospitality made our stay that much more special. They went out of their way to make our trip special … which is not something you could expect from any of the bigger hotels in town! Because Strada Postavarului is a cobblestone street used only by residents’ vehicles it is very quiet and safe and the rooms themselves are very sound-proof due to the thick walls. Despite the freezing temperatures outside, our rooms were very warm and cosy, and when we did venture outside into the snow, there were so many places of interest to visit within walking distance or else just an hour or two’s bus or train trip away. And don't let the winter temperatures deter you from a visit to Romania - Christmas is magical in the snow, and the square is decked out with many trees, lights and decorations.
We would recommend Guesthouse Postavarului to anyone wanting somewhere clean, comfortable and convenient to stay in Brasov. We’ll certainly book a room there again next time we’re in town.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kiwifolk93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed here in May 2008 and had a fantastic time. The owner was absolutely lovely - extremely welcoming and friendly, and able to provide us with information and tips on Brasov.

The room was great - large and spacious, clean, with an immaculate ensuite bathroom.

The location was perfect - right in the old town of Brasov, and close to the main square.

I would highly recommend this guesthouse as a place to say - fantastic value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiGirl2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

I stayed in a single room here which was really cute - thick walls were great in this summer's crazy heat as kept room cool. Also meant v quiet and slept v well here. No shower but owner let me use showers in double rooms when vacant - v nice of him as he didn't have to do that. The double rooms are fantastic by the way. This place is a touch of luxury for the budget traveller, v central, clean and run by helpful bloke who speaks fluent English. Lovely old building - my key was a 6" antique! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trixie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The owners, the location, the price, and the service were absolutely terrific! I went to meet my future wife and booked on-line reservations with them. Everything went smoothly and the owner, Andrei, upgraded my single room to a double room after only a few days for the exact same price as the single!!! Along with this, I had him buy me some roses for my future wife and he got me a good deal and even invited me into his home to share some of his home-made brandy!!! Quiet and rustic, this place is great for just about anyone. I HIGHLY recommend it and look forward to going back some day and staying again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rjgeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Pilvax
Aparthotel Pilvax
#20 of 93 in Brasov
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Antiqua
Casa Antiqua
#22 of 147 in Brasov
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Rozelor - boutique hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa Postavarului
Casa Postavarului
#15 of 147 in Brasov
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Central Annapolis
0.1 mi away
Kronhaus
Kronhaus
#30 of 147 in Brasov
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Postavarului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Postavarului

Address: Strada Postavarului Nr 16 | 16 Postavarului Street, Brasov 500024, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range: $39 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guesthouse Postavarului 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Brasov historical center, Guesthouse Postavarului offer budget accommodation. We have two Double rooms with private bathrooms, Single room with private entrance and own bathroom, Studio apartment with utilized kitchen, private bathroom. WiFi, TV and fridge in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Guesthouse Postavarului reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing