We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Black Church (Biserica Neagra)
from $11.60
More Info
from $110.40
More Info
from $145.20
More Info
from $74.40
More Info
Reviews (1,887)
Filter reviews
1,107 results
Traveler rating
484
370
193
40
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
370
193
40
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews organ concert black church gothic architecture turkish carpets interesting history entrance fee take photos worth a visit eastern europe the main square old town council square rugs pews collection tapestries german
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,107 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Since you are in Braşov, you must visit it.
Nice place with hidden history behind the building. It is nice to read something about before visit it.

Thank dimitrios1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

After many attempts to visit the inside of this beautiful symbol of Gothic architecture, i finally found a free day. To start with the exterior first, this is an old building, finished at the ends of the years 1400, so it is really old. It was damaged by earthquakes, an ottoman invasion and a big fire that gave the name to the church for it's charred aspect: The Black Church. The inside is old an unique: for example, a collection of Turkish rugs hanging inside a Christian church, the biggest bronze bell in Romania. This place also hosts weddings, baptisms and organ concerts. It is a beautiful symbol. Keep in mind that you can't use photo and video cameras inside or mobile phones.

Thank AndreiSte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Aside from the history of the place, it's literally just a church which is old. Wasn't blown away and not a great deal to see. Quite generic.

Thank F593UVadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A story is told about the young son of one of the stone masons employed in the building of the church. The boy would come to the church every day during construction and bring some food and water to his father and the other workers.

Sadly, the boy, who became very much beloved by the workers, was killed in a construction accident. The masons carved and dedicated a statue of the boy which can be seen high up on a roof spire along the side of the church.

Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The whole city is quite beautiful. Lots of pedestrians are you can walk and enjoy with the locals. Very inexpensive restaurants, cafes etc. Locals very friendly.

Thank lotharjuern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Black Church oozes history and a calming energy when you walk in. The alcove with 16th century tombstones is fascinating,car are the ancient Anatolian carpets hanging behind the side pews. Check out the difference between seating for wealthy and not. I didn't hear the magnificent organ, but wish I could have. English notations are appreciated for the increased understanding of the church displays.

Thank DaisyFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and I went to tour the church an hour before closing time. At 10 minutes before closing, the staff began turning off lights and shooing guests out. We left before closing time without getting to see everything, and the staff seemed aggravated we stayed even that long. If you plan a visit, I suggest going earlier than we did to avoid this scenario.

Otherwise, magnificent building with centuries of history! There are no guided tours, but there are stations throughout the building with information in three languages about the artwork, organs, icons, etc. that allow guests to explore at their own pace. Photography is not allowed inside. The entry fee is very reasonable.

Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Black Church is an amazing sight! It was the largest church that I'd seen at that time. My only regret is not arriving sooner in order to view the inside. I'm told it's spectacular. When you're in Brasov, this is a must see!

Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018 via mobile

We dashed to get here for closing at 4 but the booth was shot and locked. It does clearly say last entrance 15 mins before though. Our fault. Look for the little boy sculpture against the skyline on the north wall. Read on internet if you’re interested. The bullet holes are being erased on south side with reparations but still clearly visible on north wall.

Thank zazu2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

nothing special about it its just a normal church and you have to pay entry fee .. and cant take pictures ....

Thank HamidB253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews