We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not 5 star”
Review of Aro Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aro Palace
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed here one night during a tour of Transylvania. It's a nice hotel, supposedly 5 star -- well, maybe for Brasov. It is a nice, modern hotel with a large lobby. Our room had a lovely view over the park across the street. In the room there was a fridge, robes and slippers, and plush towels. Breakfast was good. But -- no wi-fi in the room, only in the lobby (there's wired internet in the room but that doesn't help with a tablet computer). No wastebasket in the room, only in the bathroom. No facial tissues. The bed was hard. I don't know the cost of the room as it was included in the price of our tour. A good hotel that needs attention to details.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeirdHarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 442 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times because it was booked by the company I have been visiting.
The staff sometimes behaves as guests are disturbing them. Big problem when paying. Euros vs. Lei. I had to go outside, found exchange office and change Euros to Lei to pay. Then I went back to pay and staff gave me back in Lei what I did not want to. So I exchanged once again and lost 2x exchange rate.

The room looked old-fashioned and used.

Breakfast during my stay was good.

I was affraid of to use lifts in the hotel. There were really scary. Once, in the morning I got stuck in the lift. Very "nice" experience....

In the night young guys in fast cars were racing in front of the hotel. Need for speed!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spotter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a quiet hotel in Brasov,it has an older side and a new one ,obviously the new side is much better,modern furniture,fresh removated, the other side is not bad eihter but it just doesn't look so good and offer the same conditions.The restaurant of the hotel is good also,the breakfast buffet with a lot of variety !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra17777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is my third time at the Aro Palace so that says enough, I have been working on a project here for the past 2 years. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and close to the old city square and restaurants. Other colleagues have tried other hotels in the area but returned here. If you want value for money and convenience this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on the recommendation of our travel agent.
The trouble started at check-in. Although we had a reservation for a double room, the receptionist gave us a twin room. We only discovered this after arriving at the room. So we had to go back to the reception to request for a double room. The receptionist argued saying that "a double room is a room for 2 people" ! Can you imagine that ? This is supposed to be an international 5-star hotel !
There was also no bellboy available to take our luggage, and no one offered to take us and our luggage to the room ! 5 stars ? You are joking !
Toiletries in the bathrooms are almost nonexistant. Only a small soap, a small shampoo and a showercap ! Nothing else ! 5 stars ? You are joking !
The minibars in the rooms are virtually empty. In a real 5 star hotel, the minibars are so well stocked that there is no place left if you want to put your own drinks. In this hotel the minibar is so empty that you can easily fill it with 6 to 8 bottles of your own. 5 stars ? You are joking !
We tried to operate the safe deposit box in the room. In didn't work ! Somebody came from the reception but could not fix it. He said somebody would fix it the next morning. Nobody showed up until the end of our stay. We also discovered that the safe deposit box was not bolted to the wall or the cupboard. Anybody could easily take it away ! 5 stars ? You are joking !
Our room rate included buffet breakfast. So, on the Sunday morning we went down to get the breakfast. The restaurant was very cold. Apparently the hotel wants to save on heating bills by not heating the restaurant ! There was almost no food left on the buffet counter. At 9 am on a Sunday morning ! The plates were icecold because the hotel does not have plate warmers. The remaining food on the counter was only lukewarm, so as soon as we put it on our plates it got immediately cold ! 5 stars ? You are joking ! We had much better breakfasts in 2-star hotels at a fraction of the roomrate we had to pay at the Aro Palace Brasov !
The only, and I really mean the only, thing that is decent in this hotel is the large indoor swimming pool. However, even as a guest paying full price at the hotel, you still have to pay an extra charge to use the hotel pool ! 5 stars ? You are joking !
In brief, this is a very poorly run hotel which should does not even deserve 3 stars. That it is allowed to advertise itself at 5 stars is scandalous ! One should avoit this hotel at all cost !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulL56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Spent a weekend there and not by lack of choices. The hotel is huge and rooms are as well. The view.... all I can say is gorgeous all times of the day. Had the room view to the Citadel and it was beyond description, lovely to watch at night in the spot lights, superb in the morning light as well. The spa area, I have to say one of the best I saw lately. The pool is huge, slanted from 1.30 m to 2.10 with a clear sky view plus a kids pool on the side. 2 jacuzzi for 3 people and lots of lounge chairs around. The breakfast had way too many choices so varied it could satisfy all pretentious and non pretentious people. The food was very fresh and refreshed every 10-20 minutes. If there is something to say on the negative side is that the TVs in the room are not updated but if you go to Brasov you don't have time to actually sit and watch tv. Room service was also very prompt. Maid service very polite and discrete, not intrusive like in other hotels.
So kudos to the management, keep it up!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoletaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here on business as it was the most obvious place to stay in the wonderful city of Brasov. The hotel is huge and so were our rooms...all with balcony and view of the mountains. The pool was lovely and the lobby and breakfast areas are expansive. There isn't a lot of life or personality to the hotel but it is efficient and clean.....in fact there are an army of cleaners mopping and polishing all the time. We didn't eat dinner here althought there is a restaurant on the eighth floor......we chose to eat in some of the excellent restaurants within walking distance which had a bit more personality. Considering this is a five star hotel the rates are amazing. Good value for money.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank SandraBPVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
1.5 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
669 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ambient
Hotel Ambient
#12 of 56 in Brasov
258 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#6 of 56 in Brasov
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aro Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aro Palace

Address: 12, Muresenilor Street,, Brasov 500030, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brasov
#2 Spa Hotel in Brasov
#5 Business Hotel in Brasov
Price Range: $132 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aro Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aro Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aro Palace Hotel Brasov
Aro Palace Brasov

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing