We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food”
Review of Festival '39

Festival '39
Ranked #11 of 271 Restaurants in Brasov
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Couldn't take a picture after the food arrived (for reasons only my stomach can explain). Try the Turkey breast stuffed with spinach and feta with their cheese sauce. You'll have an orgasm

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rehman23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    241
    75
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bar, awesome atmosphere!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I think it's a fantastic bar, lots of seating, but you need reservations on weekend nights! It's a good value for your money. Watch out for waitresses who don't bring change back! I paid out and tipped (overly generous 20%) & stayed for one more coffee. She took the payment and only brought back the change when requested. Another time we encountered a "smart" waiter who started arguing with my hard-of-hearing uncle over who said what...I'm sure there was a better way of handling the situation. He was fine once he brought the drinks.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OK but nothing special”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I ate here with my wife on a recent trip to Brasov after reading all the good reviews. Therefore I was a little disappointed with the experience, we sat on the terrace outside the restaurant as it was still very warm and had to put up with the waiting staff trying to squeeze more tables and chairs onto an already full terrace, a large party turned up and waiters spend a good 5 or 10 minutes rearranging the furniture and bringing tables from inside the restaurant to accommodate this party. The result was that everyone was crammed in like sardines and the waiting staff had to climb over people to get to their tables, the inside of the restaurant was pretty empty so they could have told any groups that they could have a table but would have to sit inside.
The food was OK, I had a chicken curry which was tasty but out of a packet and my wife had a steak which was overcooked, this is not unusual in Romania, chefs in most places seem a little scared of serving rare meat.
All in all, it is an OK place to eat in the centre of Brasov but there are much better places for the money within 100 yards

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For special occasions”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had a lovely meal at Festival '39 , the food was excellent and it doesnt break the bank eating there.The decor is stunning , like stepping back to 1930!

Cocktails were great and location is spot on , very central. It was extremely busy when we went , late on a Tuesday night ( about 10 pm ). We were lucky to find a table and get dinner , considering how busy it was. Service a bit on the slow side , but understandably so.

I would highly recommend this place , its something different from all the other dinning options in Brasov. Go and see for yourself!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss-Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We sat indoors here as it was very atmospheric building with old antiques and vintage style. It was OK in early evening when not too busy but later on it got very smoky as it got busy so if you are sensitive to smoke it's not for you. On the plus side, the pate and tapenade were really delicious and my boyfriends salad was lovely. On the down side the draft beer was flat and I had a rubbish salad. It didn't have two of the ingredients on the menu and was just lettuce really! I would have sent it back if I had been home but didn't want to have to do this in a foreign country.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Festival '39 also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Festival '39? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing