We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive bad food in a poor setting with bad service.”
Review of Marele Zid - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Marele Zid
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive bad food in a poor setting with bad service.”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Bad tasting food, the waiter was uncooperative and the setting was very un-chinese. Save your stomach some money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert578M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
boulder city, nv
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Save your stomach and wallet”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I am sorry but this is a poor imitation of good Chinese food but what does one expect in Romania? The chef is not Chinese and maybe he makes it for the local taste. If you are a tourist, forget about this high priced nicely decorated restaurant.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxSchnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese Food”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I had a lunch at this restaurant.
The place is nicely decorated and spacious.
The menu was extensive and they were willing to accomodate any special request.
The food was authentic, tasty and nicely served.
The service was quick and responsive.
The price was bit high but it was worth.
If you want chinese food in Brasov, do visit this place.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Great place, but don't come short on money”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

From the outside it doesn't look very appealing and inside you will find ... traditional decorations. But the food is excellent and the service is great. All this comes at a price; but every once in a while it's worth spending some cash for a special, quality meal.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SoBrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food and nice interior design”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This might be the best Chinese restaurant we have tried so far in Romania. It is ultra central, right in Piata Sfatului next to the Black Church. The chef is absolutely great, the food was so tasty we couldn't believe our senses. The presentation was also nice, respecting the way of serving for each kind of dish. I warmly recommend the house wine. The service was fast. However, the waiter was rude and seemed offended when we talked in English. When we asked why the bottled wine was so expensive (4 times the price you find in any store) he told us it was not our duty to wonder about that. ??!!?? Another disadvantage of the restaurant is that it's very expensive and this is why it's almost always empty. In spite of all that, I cannot help recommend it for its gorgeous food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marele Zid also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing