We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Casa Albert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Albert
Ranked #4 of 147 Brasov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and would highly recommend it. The 'green room' we stayed in was excellently decorated and furnished, with high ceilings and a very nice sized bathroom the room had everything we needed. The room came with tea and coffee making facilities and there were even free slippers and a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival. The reception closes around 6 and we weren't due to arrive till 10 but they made sure someone was there to greet us and show us our room when we arrived. The only downside was that there was no dining facilities but with the hotel being in such a central location it didn't prove difficult to find somewhere to eat out. We were informed that they are planning on opening a bistro on the premises next year which can only make a great hotel even better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catwilf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Casa Albert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 160 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very impressed by this hotel/guesthouse. We were in the blue room, which was a suite. Everything that we needed was included, wifi was free...even slippers included. The owner was super helpful, recommending loads of things to do and places to go. You can see that they have puts lots of effort into the place which is still ongoing... the are converting the cellar into a bistro which will serve breakfast.
Parking was the only issue. You are reliant on finding a space on the nearby roads and then having enough coins to buy a ticket. Coins are a rarity in Romania so it was a bit of a faff, but again the owner was helpful in this respect.
Overall an excellent high end choice for Brasov.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank kevintiobraid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here and would recommend this small, charming hotel unreservedly.

Pros - good central location but still quiet; spacious, high-ceilinged, nicely-fitted rooms with attention to detail; very customer-service oriented and ready to help in any way; free Wi-Fi which works; free coffee/tea facilties, water and a bottle of wine provided in your room - a nice touch; good value at approx. Euro 50 for a double room

Cons - no all-day reception so you need to call ahead to estimate your arrival time; in a pedestrian zone inaccessible to taxis so might be an issue if you have mobility problems or lots of luggage; no restaurant so need to find your own breakfast (fine for us since lots of bakeries and coffee places nearby but some guests might prefer on-site premises)

There are plenty of restaurants nearby. You can walk to all the major sights. Taxi fare to /from the train station less than 10 RON.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BooksHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a lovely room with the fresco of Sfatului Square. It was nicely decorated and very cosy. Adored it. Plus it was very reasonably priced. The location was excellent. It was centrally located among restaurants and shops yet tucked away from the crowds of the main pedestrian street. The only "complaint" I have would be that it was very hard to take a shower in a bath tub that did not have shower curtains.

The owner was extremely helpful and helped us organise a day trip to visit Rasnov Fortress, Bran Castle and Peles Castle in Sinaia with his friend who was a tour guide. We had great time, it was like having a local friend show you the sights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The pension is hidden behind the main Republicii street, very easy to find if you walk up from the main taxi station on the street, looking after the house number, on the left side. You just walk outside and can easily grab a coffee, beer, breakfast, nearby all the restaurants and bars placed in the center of the city. The room was nicely decorated with a historical painting on the walls and a 19th century-like telephone, making you get that ancient feeling. Staff are very helpful, arranging your needs with the bags or arriving time.

Room Tip: We had the purple room on the upper floor, very quiet, as it was facing the inside courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiDoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This place was quaint, quiet, and charming. It was in old town and about 1 block from the main square but was hidden in an alley. I slept the best here cause I didn't hear dogs barking or people milling around at night.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor two doors down from the office.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7wonderstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

It's located right off the main pedestrian street with all of the bars, restaurants and shops. It's about a 3 minute walk to the main square. It's very quiet. Make sure to have the address or a google map print out for the cab drivers as none of them knew where it was, and I forgot to bring the address. The room was huge with lots of space. There's no proper reception desk, you have to go into a travel agency and they will give you your key and help you with anything you need. They were very courteous and helped us with whatever we needed. I was told in the future they would have a proper reception desk, but who cares. Definitely recommended. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Even though the room is down an alley, we always felt safe. Should be 4 stars, not 3 as listed in my opinion!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 55 in Brasov
645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 55 in Brasov
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 55 in Brasov
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#7 of 55 in Brasov
82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chambers'n Charm Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Drachenhaus
Hotel Drachenhaus
#2 of 147 in Brasov
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Albert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Albert

Address: Strada Republicii 38, Brasov 500030, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range: $66 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Albert 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa Albert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing