We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Butoiul Sasului

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Butoiul Sasului
Ranked #208 of 256 Restaurants in Brasov
Cuisines: Eastern European, European, Romanian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
177 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A very good place to taste Romanian Wines from all around the country. There is also the home-made wine, that is excellent, especially the red one.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emanuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Do not go there!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The service and the food was terrible. There were only a few people in the restaurant, 6-8 people but it took 45 minutes to get our meals done. We asked for one thing, we got another.
Getting us the bill took 15 minutes. I the meantime the waiter had some pretty long chats with his colleagues.
We were thinking of going there with going there with our friends coming from different parts of Europe and we wanted to check out the place first, but we changed our minds.
I would never go back there, even if the food was for free.
The place looks decent with nice decoration, but that is all.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IM944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beware of waitress Maria...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Reasonable good food, but terrible service:
-I have asked for one type of grill but I have received another one cheaper; at the end I was charged the price for the expensive one
-The bill did not included the wine which I paid separately but I have never received any receipt; perhaps this could be a new type of tipping?!
-The music is some kind of horrible contemporary Romanian folklore music; and very loud of course.
You could spend your money in better places.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent place to discover the local Saxon food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Very nice place, excellent food, huge quantities, very reasonable price, centrally located. We ordered the mixed grill for two and were not able to finish it. The bread also was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Great romanian and german food, nice staff, location is great, practically in the middle of the old city and you can eat and drink from the local production.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ildi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butoiul Sasului also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Butoiul Sasului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing