We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap and delicious!”

Restaurant Transilvania
Ranked #20 of 256 Restaurants in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Romanian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Ive been a regular visitor to Romania since 1992, in connection with a British charity. Been to Brasov many times but only just discovered this real hidden gem of a restaurant in terms of good service, really nice food, and VERY good value. I would like to write a review - please list ASAP please
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

This is a great dinner option conveniently located a few streets from the Old Town square. Prices are much more reasonable than in the touristy streets. The menu is large, portions are generous and everything we ordered was delicious. There are separate floors for smokers and non-smokers. Wait staff were friendly and helpful. We went back a second night and would certainly go again if back in Brasov.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    100
    29
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Good place to eat, nothing fancy, but food was good. You can have very affordable lunch menu for only 15 lei. Located in the old city, cozy atmosphere. Family restaurant, good for dinner time as well. Went there 3 times and do not regret that. Food is traditional, homy style.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank West510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Enjoy local dishes, at an affordable price, in a smoke free environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

During our stay in Brasov, we wanted to try some local Transylvanian/Romanian food. Initially we went to Sergiana Restaurant as it was on the same block as the Aro Palace Hotel where we stayed. However when we opened the outer door, we were overwhelmed by the smell of cigarrete smoke. So we decided to look for another restaurant that served local dishes. Based on Tripadvisor's reviews we decided to look for Restaurant Transilvania. It was not easy to find as it was on a quiet street outside of the pedestrianized shopping area, but we were lucky to meet a Brasov resident (former SIngaporean) who showed us the way. We were certainly happy that the restaurant was smoke free. simply decorated but had lots of local dishes in the menu. We had a salad, a grilled fish, a mixed meat platter, breaded mushrooms, bread and water to share amongst 5 of us. The bill came to 105 lei (about Euro 24), that is really affordable. The food was delicious, the service was good and the pricing was inexpensive. Highly recommended for those who like smoke free environment and a taste of local dishes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gchyekim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best restorant in Brashov!!! The price is very nice and service is also very good!! Don't miss this place!!

Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

the location, prices and excellent service are some of the great features of this restaurant. the food arrived soon after we ordered it. we had the cream of vegetables soup and the transilvania platter and both were delicious. my daughter dropped her fork and before we even had the chance to ask, a new one was handed to her. the restaurant is very close to the main square and to romania's narrowest street.

Helpful?
Thank Sukurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Transilvania also viewed

Brasov, Brasov County
Brasov, Brasov County
 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Restaurant Transilvania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing