We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable "You must do it" !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Tampa

Mount Tampa
Book In Advance
More Info
$166.24*
and up
Day Trip Through Brasov in Transylvania and Bran, Peles, and Rasnov Castles
Ranked #4 of 86 things to do in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable "You must do it" !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Simply it was the best in Brasov, i have been to Brasov with my friends for 3 days, we been to several places, i most enjoyable time we spend it over there. we took the telegraph to the top of the mountain then we talked like 10 minutes to reach to the Word "Brasov" the view from upstairs is really amazing, you could the everything from upstairs, mountain, tree, city, sky.....etc really you must do it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bluesky3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    224
    50
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great view from the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We didn't take the cable car going up, but walked up. The road & signs are not that tourists friendly, I have to say, but eventually we figured it out. Very windy on top, you will for sure enjoy the beautiful view from the top. We also sit in the cafe for a few minutes, I ordered hot chocolate, it's average quality, but at least something hot and kept me warm. We took the cable car down since both of us feeling tired and cold. It's 9 lei one way ticket.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OliZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Grueling hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We took a wrong turn and ended up on the wrong side of the mountain! Great training for our 1,480 steps to top of Vlads Castle.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nice rip, but the cable care service buildings could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I went up the cable car to the top for a walk and to see the view. The cable trip was fast with nice views but as soon as I reached the top I was ushered out of the station building which looked rather scrappy. The cable car building were poorly maintained and contained a cafe which look so unappealing I did not bother to go inside. Eventually I found direction signs to a “panorama” which was a short walk away. I thought a panorama was a 360 degree view, but this was less than 180 degree. The viewing gallery was next to a large sign visible from Brasov (a large floodlight construction rather like the Hollywood sign). The weather was good and I had a good view down to Brasov and the old quarters appeared much bigger than I though they were. The view showed that the town stretched though the valley and spilled out onto the plains.

It was a nice trip and if I did it again I would probably prefer to get the cable car up and then walk back down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“wear walking shoes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

took the cable car up to the view point, but could not walk all the way as the path was very uneven but still worth going up, very cheap.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Inverness820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Tampa also viewed

 
Brasov, Brasov County
 

Been to Mount Tampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing