We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Ambient
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tampa(Brasov)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Citrin Hotel(Brasov)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simona(Brasov)
View Hotel
Hotel Brasov(Brasov)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveler rating
11
21
20
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
21
20
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are bigclose to the city centermin walkvery nice hotelold towntaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 60 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

DO NOT TRUST THE GOOD REVIEWS. THIS PLACE IS A DUMP!!! Dusty, antiquated furniture, dank, musty, poorly lit hallways, low ceiling claustrophobia-inducing rooms, this place is so bad, we turned right around and walked out. Have to point out that the maid staff was very kind, but otherwise there's no concept of customer service whatsoever. It's not even a bargain. We were unhappy with our room but were not offered a switch unless we paid extra. We ended up paying more to stay at the Pension Ambient, but that was only marginally better. The lamps didn't work and they had no replacement light bulbs. Really? The phone didn't work either, nor did the clock. Breakfast was bare bones and is only included if you stay at the Pension. If you stay at the Residence, it's extra and not worth it. Stay far, far away!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As previously stated by others the Residence Ambient is the unstaffed hotel/building of the 3 ambient hotels. You can not check in at this location or park in front of the building. You have to check in and park at the main location which is about a 5 minute walk.
Our room was very clean and spacious with nice bedding. If this review was based on the room alone, I would have given it a higher rating. The building was clean, however, there was no elevator and the Wifi wasn't working. You had to stand in a very specific spot in the common kitchen area to get wifi and even then, it didn't work much. The wifi was important to me since I was depending on it to communicate with family back home. The third floor has an a community kitchen/ lounge area. We used to the fidge in the kitchen to store food in over night and had no problems with anyone taking it.
Overall, this hotel was perfect for our short one night stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor and don't park in front of the building.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kcabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Residence Ambient is the unstaffed hotel/building of the three Ambient hotels, the other being Hotel Ambient and Pension Ambient. Checkin, front desk and dinning room are all in Pension Ambient which is about a block away. Location is about a 15 min walk to the old town. Room is clean and wifi works. Given that the dining room is in Pension Ambient, it is necessary to walk a block up for breakfast. If you don't mind staying in an unstaffed building, this is adequate

The three Ambient hotels can be accessed by number 4 bus from train station and the stop to get off is Camera de Comert, About a 10 minute ride

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oxon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

despite the sewage smell from the toilet, the filthy sheets and the dirty rug, this hotel was interesting. we were the only guests on the third foor and perhaps the hotel. the hotel will charge you 15 Euros if you want to chnge your sheets more than every three days. Apparently, that includes the people before you. there is a strange kitchen and lounge on the floor but it is clear no one has been there in awhile. Steer clear. it will ruin your impression of Brasov.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank KristinSW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We checked in and found out the actual hotel rooms were down the street and around the corner. Thankfully the taxi was good and he waited and then brought us to the right place.
Taxis are very affordable there. You won’t get ripped off by them either…
Beware there is no elevator and we had to drag heavy bags up four flights of stairs. Be prepared.
The room was clean, but no AC and in August it is hot and humid. The room did have a fan. At night we were eaten alive by mosquitoes so bring bug spray or buy some.
The Wi-Fi did not work, and they told us they were working on it... after three days it still never came up.
The kitchen area does have AC and the area is a communal area, so it is hit or miss. They have a stove and two refrigerators there, but someone helped themselves to my cold beer and cold cuts. There were a lot of youngsters in some rooms, and I think they got a little hungry.
There is a coffee pot, but you better bring some instant coffee packs for the morning.
Television, there is two English channels, Discovery and History.
It is very quiet ant night...
The hotel is a bit of a walk to the local attractions and there is nothing near it except a gas station a few hundred meters away, and a restaurant on the corner. You can buy beer and snacks at the gas station but must cross four streets to get there and it is a bit pricy.
All in all, I was disappointed, but if I were thirty years younger, it would have been alright. It is more like a youth hostel than a hotel. Looking for a cheap place with some inconveinience and adventure, then stay. But if you don’t like humid and muggy nights, avoid peak summer. I am sure in winter the place would be better.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room. First floor or second floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameltoebrewery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews