We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view”
Review of Casa Cranta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Cranta
Ranked #6 of 147 Brasov B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked the apartment 21. Really nice apartment with a big living room, dining table, old furniture, beautiful decoration. The view from there was wonderful, as the hotel is built on a hill overlooking Brasov. The bathroom is fully refurbished with jacuzzi. Breakfast buffet is average but you can order some more things. The hotel is very nicely located and during the summer months lunch or diner outside will be worth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theodorak27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 127 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

We ordered a de-luxe suite (#21) and were rewarded with a huge apartment with a dining table seating maybe 12 people, antique furniture and decoration, a similarly huge bedroom and a very modern marble bathroom with a jacuzzi. The 3rd floor was quiet and we could see the city, the mountains and the sunrise from our many windows. We also had a covered terrace. The restaurant was delightful, as was the staff - who carried the luggage to the 3rd floor and spoke English. I would recommend this to anyone, the main reason being you're out of the tourist hubbub and in spacious, relaxing surroundings.
Nonetheless, it's an easy walk to the city center.

Room Tip: Our suite # 21 was fabulous - third floo, no elevator - but then you're climbing stairs all day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Perfect hotel for sight seeing all the staff extremely helpful - lovely clean bedroom with view over old town and mountains (room 33) very short walk to old town. George arranged airport pick-up and trips for us every day and our taxi driver (Christian) was on time and very considerate of our needs at all times he couldnt have been more helpful. I cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is at a very nice location in Brasov. It is up the hill in the direction of the fort up the hill. So you have a very nice view of Brasov especially because we also stayed on the third floor. It did however meant carrying all luggage up three floors but the staff was helping with this. The room we stayed in was very cose and especially the bathroom was very beautiful. The only unfortunate thing was that the cleaning staff was very loud early in the morning which woke us which I thought was not very appropiate and the breakfast was quite limited. But all in all a very beautiful and nice hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view but the more stairs you need to walk up and down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilanKooijman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great service from the staff there. Good location, 10 minutes from main downtown street (Republika) and 5 minutes uphill to the Citadel. Rooms are big and nice, very traditional style. Those not used to B&Bs definitely should not stay here, as it's very different from your Western chain hotels. It's very clean, well maintained (even though the place seems a little old), and rooms are pretty big. I got the 3rd floor room with balcony, which had amazing views. Really loved the shower that enclosed the stall completely, instead of the weird 1/2 glass things in most Eastern European countries where water leaks all over the place.

Only complaint is that it's on a hill and also doesn't have elevators. Good exercise though, but if you're staying on the 3rd or 4th story, it's a climb every time you need to go somewhere.

Oh yeah, and breakfast is VERY simple, but still good. The free parking is a plus since I rented a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kryzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Casa Cranta is a beautiful and cute Hotel on the hills of Brasov. Let's look at the positive points:

- The location is very convenient as litterally 7 minutes from the Mediaval city centre of Brasov and 100 meters from the old Citadel (quite a way up!). The way to get there is a bit confusing but if you read the hotel map correctly, you will find your way.

- The Hotel offers secured parking facilities which was very convenient for us.

- The room we were staying in was beautifully appointed with a large space and great views over the city and the mountains in the back. There was air-conditioning and the bathroom was adequate although we would have enjoyed a bathtub for our romantic trip. One word of caution, make sure that if you have problems going up the stairs to take a room on the first floor as the hotel has three floors and no elevators!

- The service was good with the staff speaking good level of english and always helpful.

- The food at the breakfast was nice and typical mountain type. We would have enjoyed freshly squeezed orange juice like we had on the seaside but you can't have everything in life! We didn't have dinner at the Hotel but we have seen food in other people's plates and it looked very appealing. Other customers seemed very happy with it.

The negative points:

- The room was not ready when we arrived although we were there by 2h30pm. Their excuse was that the previous customer stayed longer as it was the weekend. That was disapointing after a long drive to the Hotel. We had to wait one hour for the room to be ready which again was not ideal as we were starving and wanted to visit the city centre. The staff didn't offer any apologies.

- Nobody offered to help us with the luggage although it was a steep 3 floor flight to our room.

Overall a very good experience and we will be back during our next romantic trip to Brasov. As with regards to the destination, Brasov is a nice city filled with medieval houses, long piata with bars and restaurants. The black church and old citadel are worth visiting. We prefered Sibiu as a city due to its more traditional and relaxed feel. Also the restaurant and bar experience in Brasov (and in Sibiu for that matter) is very poor with the same food everywhere, bad and slow service, cold food...etc.

Room Tip: If you have issues with stairs, ask for a room on lower floor. Otherwise, you can enjoy great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaiducPauli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We reserved nine rooms at Casa Cranta for my friends and family during our wedding celebration. We had nine rooms and everyone was so pleased with the quality of the rooms, the staff and the location.
From the initial booking process to arrival everyone at Casa Cranta was very gracious and helpful. This small bed and breakfast feels more like a five star hotel as the staff will do everything they can to help and make your stay enjoyable. Gheorge and Bebe both stand out not only for the great help, but it seemed as though they never leave. Most days you'll find them there from sunrise to sunset.
The rooms all have different decoration and are all of great quality. Some rooms have large spa bath tubs and some have showers, so if you have a preference for one or the other you should specify. Most of the rooms have great views of Brasov, and a couple of them have balconies as well.
Breakfast is a small buffet and you can order eggs any way you like them. On days when my family came down later than breakfast was scheduled, the staff offered to serve whatever they liked still.
On the final night we were all in town together we arranged dinner outside on the patio area which was really a highlight of our trip. The view was fantastic, food and wine very reasonably priced and very good!
There was a common theme the entire week and a half that my family stayed at Casa Cranta- EXCELLENT SERVICE!! I just can't say enough about how great the service is at Casa Cranta. Whenever we had any questions or needed anything, they were so willing to help.
We look forward to being able to stay here again!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 55 in Brasov
613 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 55 in Brasov
658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#4 of 55 in Brasov
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambient
Hotel Ambient
#13 of 55 in Brasov
245 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 55 in Brasov
652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belfort
Hotel Belfort
#9 of 55 in Brasov
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Cranta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cranta

Address: Strada maior Cranta Ion nr. 3A, Brasov 500084, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Brasov
Price Range: $61 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Cranta 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Cranta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing