We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for business trip”
Review of Hotel Cubix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Cubix
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Certificate of Excellence
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for business trip”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Modern, clean, rooms and bathroom was good for one person, a comfy stay for the night was had. Unfortunately, there was no fridge/mini-bar and no airconditioning in the room, which makes the hotel less suitable for a summer stay. With the window open, it gets a bit noisy at night (mostly traffic noise and car alarms). Area though is generally poor.
The hotel is good for those traveling on business. But for trips with family, I choose something else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoruP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    42
    21
    8
    0
See reviews for
13
28
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Very modern, clean, nice rooms and bathroom, a comfy stay for the night was had. Breakfast was basic but enough and staff all spoke english and very helpful. Again this was a last minute find and a one nighter. Its away from the center of town and its a bit of a grubby area and you will need to get a ten minutes taxi ride or drive to near anywere worth going to. All cheap as chips compared to UK and Western European hotels. Area though is generally poor.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Well designed rooms, cozy and comfortable, 5 stars out of 5.
Just one bad thing: walls are a bit too thin and you can hear the guests in the other rooms. :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cochinescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

All the previous reviews seem to sum up the Cubix experience really well. Since I stayed here two times and had a great time on both ocasions, starting with the good things about the hotel seems the right thing to do:

- Clean and spacious rooms.
- Huge LCD displays in each room and in the restaurant (the one in the restaurant is a real behemoth) with lots of channels to chose from.
- Free parking and wireless internet.
- Great prices (both for lodging and at the restaurant)
- Food is quite tasty (I was very impressed with the cutlery).
- Staff is extremely friendly.
- Impressive design of the hotel.
- Close to Carrefour (hypermarket).

Can't say that there was anything I didn't like about the hotel, but here are a few things that might be important for you:
- The hotel is located about 3kms from the city centre (10 minute drive), on the road to Bucharest.
- No hairdryer or minibar in the room (they had one in the executive room).
- No air conditioning.

If you want to stay in Brasov, give Cubix a shot, you might just leave very impressed!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucianDaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Very modern hotel and rooms, but would be nice to have a safe, minibar and hairdryer in the room. Decent breakfast buffet.
Hotel is in a more industrial part, a bit far from the centre, about 10-15 minute drive.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This is a nice hotel to stay in while in Brasov. The look and feel is modern and clean, both outside and inside. The staff is amazing and was very accomodating to all our special needs (we traveled with our baby).

It has free parking (we came by rental car and parking was a reason for picking this hotel). It is not close to the city center (which, by the way, we think is the nicest city center in Romania!), so you need a car to get there. However, it is close to the main road and next to a big supermarket (Carrefour).

The room is clean, nice and comfortable. It has a nice bed and a big flat screen TV with many satellite channels. Unfortunatelty, despite the rest of the modern amenities, there was no fridge/mini-bar and no airconditioning in the room, which makes the hotel less suitable for a summer stay (and for a stay with a baby). With the window open, it gets a bit noisy at night (mostly traffic noise and car alarms)

Also, even though I requested in advance, they did not have a baby cot (but just an extra bed, which they put in the room). I would not recommend anyone staying here with a baby.

The price is quite low (we paid less than 60 Euro a night for the three of us). I suggest to book straight with the hotel (via e-mail) instead of via Expedia - which charges 10 Euro more. Breakfast was not included, but not worth paying extra for (very simple).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Where am I , was the words that kept coming to me whilst staying here last year as part of a cross Europe trip. We found ourselves passing through Brasov and jumped on expedia to book a room, i clicked my normal sort by price tab which can be a bit dubious in places like Romania and up popped the interesting named Cubix - Couldn't find much about them online but the photos and desc new so I thought what the hell .. It was also unbelievably cheap less than 50 euro per night including breakfast. But the hotel is actually so good, its hard to remember your in Romania where most things are so below western standards its not funny.

Firstly a couple of the bad points, Its on the edge of town near the main road in and across from this bus depot thing, not exactly views of the Eiffel tower etc but no matter there was nothing of any interest I could see walking distance nearby. There also was some hassle on checkout as they said Breakfast wasnt included even thou expedia said it was . That was solved within 5mins or so (we didnt pay) The breakfast it self was quite small and not worth paying for seperately but to be fair there was only 2 of us in the whole place the whole time we were there so they made to order which makes sense.

Now for the good, this place is BRAND NEW , custom built, ultra modern and fitted out to an incredibly high standard, how they ever expect to get money back at these rates in this city I dont know, but this was one of the most modern places I have stayed, there are 60inch LCD screens everywhere even in the breakfast area. The lobby is modern and has big couches and fireplace etc. Very nice. The room itself was large, spacious and modern, the bathroom also had all very modern and stylish fittings. Basically everything you would want and WAYYY beyond whatelse we had had in Romania or even in other places for anywhere near the price. There was free very fast internet, Wired and cabled and a 40+ inch LCD in the room with HUNDREDS of tv channels from all over the world, possibly thousands of them with so many english options we found ourselves wanting to stay in and watch some of these interesting channels :) . There was no other amenities like pools etc which you wouldnt expect ( its not a resort) but there is free parking by the door.

So overall a very very unusual place for Romania 4/5 star accommodation for a 1 star price in a slightly odd location (if you dont have a car) , brand new but hardly anyone there. Pretty much sums up a lot of traveling in Romania - Its Random. Highly recommended by me

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brasov hotels
2.5 mi away
Armatti Hotel
Armatti Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brasov
162 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kronwell Hotel
Kronwell Hotel
#1 of 56 in Brasov
621 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bella Muzica
Bella Muzica
#2 of 56 in Brasov
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Wagner
Hotel Casa Wagner
#3 of 56 in Brasov
626 reviews
2.6 mi away
Classic Inn Hotel
Classic Inn Hotel
#7 of 56 in Brasov
89 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Ambient
Hotel Ambient
#12 of 56 in Brasov
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cubix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cubix

Property: Hotel Cubix
Address: Bulevardul Saturn nr 47, Brasov 500440, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Brasov County > Brasov
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 56 Hotels in Brasov
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cubix 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish hotel offers you comfortable and spacious double rooms, excellent service and a convenient location in Brasov, on the national road no. 1, near the city centre. Business guests can make use of an elegant and fully equipped conference room with 100 seats, a video projector, a sound system and internet access - the perfect environment for events and meetings. A 24-h hour front desk and a free guarded car park are at your disposal. An airport transfer from/to Sibiu or Bucharest airports is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cubix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing