We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy small hotel”
Review of Casa Luxemburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa Luxemburg
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cozy small hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Cozy small hotel - perfect location and a good starting point to explore one of the most exciting cities from Romania.
Rooms are very clean, indeed not equipped with A/C , elevators - but folks this is beautiful historical building. So if you are looking for this kind of comfort, maybe the place is not for you.
Very friendly staff and for sure you'll find all the assistance you need.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreea_m, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, in name of the entire team I want to thank you for your stay at Casa Luxemburg and also for your positive comment.
We highly appreciate your good words regarding the quality of service provided by our team members. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest priority and we are glad that we could meet your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Delia Sbranca

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    90
    32
    3
    7
See reviews for
36
121
28
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuerth, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

The service is perfect, the breakfast is good, the location is more than perfect and the atmosphere is that what you expect from a old town hotel.
During the festival expect a lot of action in front of the hotel and count on parking problems on the weekend.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egopoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreea_m, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the positive feedback.

It's a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luxemburg and that you were overall happy with the service provided.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Sbranca

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Casa Luxembourg's centra location on the square in old town is the selling point. The hotel is clean but very dated. No elevator or air conditioning. Breakfast was excellent with made to order omelet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GTUGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreea_m, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Casa Luxemburg as your travel destination.
I am sorry your experience at Casa Luxemburg was just a "three star experience". Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback. Your opinion is very important to us.
We will keep striving to offer our best service to our guests so that everyone will have a comfortable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Delia Sbranca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our room seemed to have been sprayed with some scent...then when we went to bed, I found the linens were so scent heavy I could scarcely sleep. Shower head would not stay in a position to spray one's body, just relied on holding the wand. Very noisy hallway. No air conditioning. No elevator. Not very pleasant.

Room Tip: Give your room a "sniff" test!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent visit with us at Casa Luxemburg on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that you did not feel comfortable with the smell of the room and the shower. We will definitely take into consideration all that you have told us and better ourselves in those areas of interest.
Casa Luxemburg was built on the first line of defense precincts of the Burg, this is why it is not only a historical monument but also one of the oldest buildings in Sibiu. This is one of the reasons why a powerful air conditioning system could not be placed in the rooms and it is not posible to build an elevator in the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This charming hotel is centrally located in Sibiu in a beautiful, recently restored historic building. The service is helpful, friendly and efficient. I had a huge and very comfortable suite with a large bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and there were two ! sofas, a desk and a chair. But the hotel doesn't seem to be professionally managed. The large bathroom has a tiny shower and decrepit fittings. Breakfast is somewhat chaotic and catch as catch can. I can certainly recommend staying here, but the hotel could do better.

Room Tip: The suite is room 24.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaNosseah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Bornstein,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback after your recent stay at the Casa Luxemburg. Your opinion is very important to us. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay in our hotel.
I am sure that if you will come next year to Casa Luxemburg, you will have a more pleasant stay. We are a young team and in my opinion, we are making progress every day.

Thank you for choosing us and also for the future recommendations. We will ensure you by our full availability for next visit to Casa Luxemburg.

Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Unique small hotel located in a historic building in the heart of the old center of Sibiu, Piata Mica.
The service at this hotel was the best I had during my vacation in Romania: When I was checking-in, I received a map and a brief explanation of the nearby attractions, which all are in close proximity to this lovely hotel. The service I received from Raulca was efficient and professional, courteous and always with a big smile.
The standard room in which I stayed was spacious, light and airy facing Piata Huet with the Basilica.
Breakfast was adequate to start the day, served in a cozy rooms, and included all the usual things, including eggs made ​​to your preference.
There is no elevator in the building since it is an old historic one, but the courteous staff immediately offered help to deliver your belongings to your room.
I already miss this hotel....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words and for the positive feedback.

It's a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luxemburg and that you were overall happy with the service provided.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Casa Luxemburg.


Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed there for 5 days, the room was big with nice view, very clear and warm, the breakfast decent and the staff very fiendly, I definetely recommend Casa Luxemburg. At the ground floor it is a nice coffee shop, you should go there (Atrium cafe).

Room Tip: Room 24 and the next one on the same side are very big and have nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank domnitarugina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.5 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.5 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#9 of 31 in Sibiu
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Exclusive Hotel & More
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luxemburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luxemburg

Property: Casa Luxemburg
Address: Piata Mica No. 16, Sibiu 550182, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Luxemburg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luxemburg is an unusual hotel with exceptional rooms looking out over a city that in 2007 was designated European Cultural Capital. Situated in the very heart of Sibiu, Casa Luxemburg still preserves unique architectural elements thus reminding you of initial charm from the 13th century.Each room has its particular style and you can choose to stay in any of them enjoying picturesque views of the Liars’ Bridge, the Evangelic Cathedral or the Council Tower. Come and enjoy a special stay in Sibiu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luxemburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luxemburg Sibiu
Casa Luxemburg Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing