We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked Casa Luxemburg, but got accommodation in..Huet Apt?!”
Review of Casa Luxemburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Luxemburg
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Booked Casa Luxemburg, but got accommodation in..Huet Apt?!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Deceiving experience and we can't say we weren't warned by other reviewers, who spoted this hotel's unfortunate overbooking practice..!
Our booking at Casa Luxemburg was not fulfilled, and we were moved to the Huet Apartments, which do not have the facilities offered by the Hotel, such as security box and minibar. The staff's standard of English was surprisingly low, even though their hotel offer mentions 5-6 languages spoken by the staff?!:))
Access by car was very poor and the free parking turned out to be on the street. Without air-conditioning, we had to sleep with the window open, which meant we heard a lot of noise from revellers during the night. Poor breakfast including re-heated omlettes and instant coffee..We would not book this place again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S1m8ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Simone,

Huet Residence is the annex building of Casa Luxemburg. The distance between the buildings is 100m. The room you had is a Superior Double Room because has 26 m2, a very nice view over the Stairs Passage and a tasteful design (an old piano in the room). Your reservation was for a standard room and we offered you a free upgrade.

Both buildings have the same facilities except the minibar. Inside Huet Residence is Kleines Café, where you can find all the snacks and drinks that you need. The security box is located in the reception, not in the rooms.

Because the buildings are from the 12 century and we are not allowed to install AC, in the rooms are electrical fans.

On the website where you made the reservation is specify that we have public and private parking: “ Free public parking is possible at a location nearby. Private parking is possible at a location nearby and costs 13 euro per day. “

All the respect, but under no circumstances it is not possible to receive re-heated omelets or instant coffee at breakfast.

Thank you for taking the time for this feedback.
For further information please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Delia Duduleanu

Manager of Casa Luxemburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    87
    31
    3
    6
See reviews for
36
117
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed here in June 2013 and found the rooms to be very large and clean. They were a bit dated but the size and cleanliness made up for the decor. The largest plus was the hotel's location - it was right in the heart of old Sibiu in the small square. We could walk to everything. The rooms were very quiet despite being in the center of everything. The breakfast was also very good as well! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Sibiu, overlooking a pretty square with plenty of bars and restaurants right outside. We had booked a double and were given a huge room -- a suite really -- with two sitting areas and a lovely view. It's not luxury -- but it offers great value. The young staff were its great strength -- all were enthusiastic and helpful. Breakfast was fairly basic, but could be taken outside which was a bonus on sunny mornings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheddar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was full the first night but we were very fortunate to get a room the second night. Huge bed and lovely room. The staff were all young and they went out of their way to help us e.g. Booked a hotel for us when they were full at ibis, kept our luggage etc. breakfast is very minimal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hornstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I booked a room at the Casa Luxembourg hotel but was given a room (without any real explanation) at the Huet Residences located in a nearby building (same owners as the Luxemburg). I was concerned when they told me, but the room turned out to be of equal quality (if not better), so no complaints in the end. My only complaint is that breakfast the breakfast service began more that a half-hour late on my second day, causing me to be late on my scheduled journey. Having said that, I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Sibiu. I was in the annex building (Huet Residence) and I'm glad that I was. They had me in a huge room with a baby grand piano, and with windows that looked out down the steps from Piata Huet. The staff was helpful and it was a very peaceful place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndb9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We booked online to stay here based on reviews and paid for a basic room. Upon check in were walked a minute around the corner and shown to our room. Things didn't look like the photos on here and when I looked at the leaflet in the hotel I realised it was because we were in the Huet Residence! This wasn't a problem as it was a nice enough place to stay but I had chosen Casa Luxemburg after a lot of reasearch so had I known this was where we were going to end up I'd have paid more for a room in Casa Luxemburg. As we had just come down from a night in the ice hotel and all I wanted was a hot shower and a rest the room we had been given was clean, large and still in a good location so we decided to stick with and not question it. I've written a more detailed review under Huet Residence, and would still recommend booking Casa Luxemburg, even if you do end up in Huet Residience as they are both within a stone's throw of each other and in a beautiful spot of Sibiu. Just be aware you may book Casa Luxemburg but end up in the Huet Residence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McNoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.5 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
31 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 31 in Sibiu
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
0.4 mi away
Exclusive Hotel & More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luxemburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luxemburg

Property: Casa Luxemburg
Address: Piata Mica No. 16, Sibiu 550182, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Luxemburg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luxemburg is an unusual hotel with exceptional rooms looking out over a city that in 2007 was designated European Cultural Capital. Situated in the very heart of Sibiu, Casa Luxemburg still preserves unique architectural elements thus reminding you of initial charm from the 13th century.Each room has its particular style and you can choose to stay in any of them enjoying picturesque views of the Liars’ Bridge, the Evangelic Cathedral or the Council Tower. Come and enjoy a special stay in Sibiu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luxemburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luxemburg Sibiu
Casa Luxemburg Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing