We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Luxemburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Luxemburg
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My tour of Romania took me to Sibiu for a day where I stayed in this hotel. Located in the smaller of the two town squares, which is therefore quieter at night but still in the midst of beautiful old buildings, and a 2 minute walk to the main square and all the restaurants and shops. As noted by other reviewers, there are no lifts and rooms extend up to several floors. However, its worth the trek as my room was perfect - exceptionally large and really well furnished, with a very comfortable bed. Very light with large windows on all walls with excellent views, Water does take a few minutes to warm up but once it does it was fine. A non-smoking hotel (with a terrace outside for those that do) - which seemed a rarity in Romania! Breakfast was fine - selection was small but all well cooked. Staff were friendly and welcoming - my stay was short but I would definitely return and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CultureBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaSibiu, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear CultureBoy,

Thank you for your review! We are happy you had a pleasant stay and liked not only the location of Casa Luxemburg, but also the room and the service and staff. Hope you will be back soon for a second stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    83
    30
    3
    6
See reviews for
34
115
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Right in centre of Sibui. Reception is the tourist office on street, which is helpful although a little strange. They are very helpful and informative. Rooms upstairs, no lifts. Basic but very comfortable with all the usual facilities. Quiet despite being in centre of city. Can be difficult to access by car due to road works and one way system - our satnav gave up saying bleatingly at one point 'find a road'! Having said that parking in main square is very cheap less than 50p an hour. Many restaurants nearby , breakfast adequate but nothing special.
An ideal place to stay at bargain rates.

Room Tip: First floor room (not overlooking square?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Casa Luxemburg was our hotel for 3 nights and we had absolutely nothing to complain. Our room was nice and had separate beds. We slept very well due to the absence of outside noise. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was not luxurious but had everything we needed. We particulary liked the fresh bred - and it was equally fresh every morning. The hotel is a good starting point if you want to explore the historic town of Sibiu and it is located in walking distance from almost all the good restaurants in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renfah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Annex and really enjoyed staying in this renovated building. Our room was right off the main squares, on a quiet street. The check-in desk was open 24 hours a day and they were very helpful. The room was very clean and nice, plus had beautiful wood floors!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK_83705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Happened upon this hotel after deciding last minute we would stay in this charming town overnight. Possibly the prettiest in Romania...don't miss Sibiu! Hotel is nestled in the old quarter, and luckily we found parking nearby, worth the price if you have luggage. Rooms were very large, simple minimal decor, but bright with nice town views. Bathrooms only offered dispenser soap by the sink and in the shower, and could have used some bleach on the grouting. There was no AC which was a disappointment given the July heat in the 90'sF. But fans were provided and we were ok since the thick walls of this historical 16th cent. bldg. retain cooler temps inside. Breakfast buffet ok as well. In nice weather you can eat on the terrace but indoor room looked inviting too. Would recommend this place if you are looking for simple, well priced accommodation in the historic section. Note that you do have to climb a few flights up to the rooms, no elevator, given historic nature of this location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly. Had large room overlooking one of the squares, but was still very quiet at night. Ideally located to explore the town and visit some of the many restaurants. The breakfast took the concept of ‘self service’ to a new level but there was a reasonable selection and I recommend the coffee machine. Overall a great place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Casa Luxemburg, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Doob123,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Luxemburg and hope you will be back soon to explore more of Sibiu and its surroundings.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in two rooms in Casa Luxemburg-in their annex off Piata Huet, one with a friend and one by myself. Both rooms were very clean, had great bathrooms, and were larger than I'm used to finding in Europe. Rooms have decent beds with good bedding. For the annex you enter through a small cafe/bar, which is odd, but a good place for a drink close to your room I suppose. Casa Luxemburg staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke great English. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice go for room 2 in the annex as opposed to room 1. Room 1 is along the steps goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferinRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.5 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#7 of 30 in Sibiu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#6 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.8 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
0.2 mi away
Levoslav House
Levoslav House
#10 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Luxemburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Luxemburg

Property: Casa Luxemburg
Address: Piata Mica No. 16, Sibiu 550182, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Luxemburg 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Luxemburg is an unusual hotel with exceptional rooms looking out over a city that in 2007 was designated European Cultural Capital. Situated in the very heart of Sibiu, Casa Luxemburg still preserves unique architectural elements thus reminding you of initial charm from the 13th century.Each room has its particular style and you can choose to stay in any of them enjoying picturesque views of the Liars’ Bridge, the Evangelic Cathedral or the Council Tower. Come and enjoy a special stay in Sibiu! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Luxemburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Luxemburg Sibiu
Casa Luxemburg Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing