We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To see”
Review of ASTRA Museum

ASTRA Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.38*
and up
Private Day Trip to Sibiu and Fagaras Fortress from Brasov
More Info
$95.58*
and up
Village Museum in Sibiu and Cozia Monastery - Private Day Trip from Bucharest
Ranked #3 of 72 things to do in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“To see”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The Astra Museum is a good choice to spend a nice afternoon when you're in Sibiu. It's not that far from the city and apart of the village museum, there is also a zoo and a lake where you can take a ride in a boat.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    100
    25
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

When I first visited the Astra Village Museum was like I step back in time. All the houses and the contraptions that they have there are in such a good conditions with all the details kept in place. It felt like I was there in those times and I was expecting the peasants to come out of the houses like they lived there.
The day I visited it was a fair also with all handcrafted things, traditional suits, delicious sweets. It is a pleasure to visit this place also because it is so vast. Nobody will feel sorry that it came to see it, it's worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Furnicutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
812 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
“Excellent day trip.”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I took a bus from the train station and within twenty minutes I was there. It is spread out over quite a large area. I went on a Sunday and there was actually a service going on in the old church. Everything has been restored and rebuilt here to a good standard and most things are explained in English. I went on a warm, sunny day and the walk alone through the woods was great. I liked the windmills and watermills the best. It is a pity they cannot get them up and working again. The restaurant is a bit overpriced but in nice surroundings. I think the Bucharest version is better as all the old buildings are in a smaller area making it look like an actual village. Well worth a visit and if the sun is shining you can sit overlooking the lake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taree NSW Australia
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We visited this outdoor museum as part of an organised tour of Romania. It was definitely a highlight. It is a recreation of Romanian house/villages through history. It was drizzly and cold the day we were there, but it did not detract from what we saw. It is an extremely well presented and maintained (largely by older volunteers) attraction. Yes, it is a long walk to go round the entire village, but it is mostly level and an easy walk. We found several of the volunteer workers going about their business, and they were only too happy to explain the various displays. (Fortunately, our English speaking Romanian guide was there to translate.) If visiting the Sibiu region, I thoroughly recommend a visit to this attraction.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was all very well laid out and presented - don't underestimate how long it takes to get round it though

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ASTRA Museum also viewed

 

Been to ASTRA Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing