We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable”

Museum of Steam Locomotives
Ranked #24 of 72 things to do in Sibiu
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lovely opportunity to get close to some Romanian locomotive history. I loved being able to get up close (on even) to the trains - there was no one about apart from a few local workers.

I also got a wee thrill form walking back to the station accross the main lines... just following the locals :-D

Great photography opportunity too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ItalloSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“incredible pieces hidden and not advertised”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

super museum, worth to visit and see those unique pieces of history! Too bad is not advertised and on the road to it you don't find any sign or something else for guidance...Also there is no fee for visiting or someone to give you any heads up for what you see...

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduard_N1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Why not? Definitely worth the trip.”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A great little place where you can wander in and out of the locomotives and try to figure out what you're looking at! Right up close to the working mainline that has real turntables operating - something I really enjoyed seeing.
As the previous review states, there is a small entrance fee and photography fee advertised and similar to their experience we also couldn't part with our money despite wandering into a few open doors to look for someone. Then after we'd spent the best part of an hour pottering around we were met by a man who seemingly works at the museum (and still didn't want our money as it was a public holiday). We resisted taking any photographs since we weren't going to be able to pay. The gentleman kindly explained a bit about the trains and escorted our children to look closer at them as his dog was guarding pups somewhere hidden and found our small people rather threatening.
This place is certainly off the beaten track in snowy January and it felt quite isolated and eerie wandering in between imposing weather-hardened steam engines - I think I could easily have got spooked if I was there on my own at dusk! It was well worth the trip though - just to be up close to the trains, to meet the gentleman overseeing the place and to see the other side of the tracks and meet some locals other than those in the city centre in some chance encounters in the residential area. And, I certainly have never seen quite such a place and been able to meander so freely among the huge engines.
Full of atmosphere, intriguing and interesting and not far to go if you don't have much time but want to take a look at something a little bit different.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank mrsspikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Basic but worth a look”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A collection of maybe 20 or so steam locomotives, a snow plough and a crane, alongside an active railway depot. This isn't York, Nuremberg or Mulhouse; the locos are stood outside and not in the best of conditions. There is a list of locomotives at the gate, but little other information about them.

A sign gives the museum's opening times as 08:00-20:00, with an entry fee of RON3 plus a RON5 photo fee. However access appeared to be unrestricted when I visited, with no-one around to pay; I would have happily paid to help support the museum, but there was no way to do so.

To find the museum, use the main road bridge by the station to cross the railway, go down the stairs to ground level and then follow the road parallel to the railway, away from the station. The museum is down road which goes off on the right, then through an archway.

The museum is really going to be of most interest to railway enthusiasts, but it's worth a look if you are in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank i-woz-there
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Steam Locomotives also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Steam Locomotives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing