We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Sibiu”
Review of Hotel Ibis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ibis
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Week in Sibiu”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is ideally located for a short walk into the old town and attractions. The free parking is also a god send. The service from the restaurant and cafe staff was excellent, although occasionally this did take a long time to materialise, but this was due to the fact that they were covering both areas at once. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Dors75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest !

Thank you for taking the time to write your remarks on tripadvisor. I'm am really glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We strive daily to ensure that the stay of all our guests is special and your review is a source of great satisfaction and motivation.
I will certainly share your comments with my entire team!

Kind regards,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    217
    119
    41
    18
See reviews for
84
173
31
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed recently at Ibis and I think it's the 3rd or the 4th time I stay here. I stayed just one night, but I can only say good things about this hotel. The location si really good but if you want to go to see things in Sibiu or eat somewhere, just ask at the reception and then call a taxi.

I stayed at the 6th and 8th floors and I love the view from those floors. The bed is very confortable, the bathroom si nice and clean and the shower has good preasure. When I checked in, the room was kinda' cold, but I turned the AC at maximum heating and in a few minutes the room got warm.

You can also try to eat at the ground floor restaurant. The food there is really good and it's never crowded. If the restaurant is closed ask at the reception for the restaurants that are near there. You'll find a rustic and a fancy restaurant just over the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Oliver S !

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill in the review on tripadvisor. Thank you as well for your positive comments following your stay at Ibis Sibiu.
I'm am really glad to see how much you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, especially our beds and our menu at the restaurant!
Thank you again and I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at Ibis Sibiu.

Sincerely yours,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well , i just stayed for one nigt at Ibis . There is not much to say , the room was standard IBIS quality . Very cleam , bathroom very clean , and the bed was really comfortable . I would recommend this hotel for 2-3 nights on a business trip . Also the budget was very good

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ionut C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Ionut C !

Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out your review on trip advisor and for your positive comments after your stay at Ibis Sibiu.
We are pleased to see that you remain with a good impression following your stay in our hotel. Nevertheless, we are sorry that we could not receive a rate of 5/5. I really hope that we will have the chance to welcome you again soon at Ibis Sibiu.

Sincerely yours,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I was guest in this hotel for one night. Very small room, hair on the pillow, and blanket. Also on the door of the bathroom, not my hair of course.....First reaction was to leave.

There is a sort of advertisement stating that in 15 min they fix your request. Mine was simple, to prepare the room for two persons, meaning to bring a second set of towels. I had to wait about 40 min.

Breakfast... 9EUR.. extremely poor... For a 2 stars hotel can be acceptable, but not for 9 EUR!!!!!!.

i was in this hotel three times: first time, last time and no other time...

Room Tip: probably another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Cristian C !

We very much apreciate you taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
I am sorry that we did not come up to your expectations and that you had to wait such long time for your requests.
It is very important to know what should be improved in our hotel, so we appreciate your words about the room and the breakfast. These issues are now in our attention and we can assure you about our commitment to solve them.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It was a raining night and I felt tired, I have stopped on few motels but the better value for money(same price like a motel room) I have founded this hotel. Staff is friendly, the breakfast was excellent, clean and nice room and bathroom, few steps to city centre

Room Tip: the good rooms are situated on 4-6 th floor , they are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirceajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Mirceajr,

Thank you for choosing us for your stop in Sibiu!! We are gald that we could reach up to your expecations. We will be glad to welcome you again in our hotel, soon!

Kind regards,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean rooms equiped with modern furniture, fridge, safe, LCD TV, hair drier. The personnel where very kind and helpful. The room prices are real bargains. I payed 32 Euros per day per double bed room with a day ski pass in Paltinis (a ski resort situated at 35KM away from Sibiu). Off season prices are even lower (under 30 Euros per night per double bed room). For a buffet breakfast you need to pay extra 9 Euros per person (a little bit pricey - my opinion), but you can eat a 2 euro breakfast nearby, in "Piata Mare - BIG PLAZA/BIG SQUARE") composed of a coffee, a sandwich and a croissant - a very cheap suggestion. The hotel is situated next to the old city center, where you can visit the Brukental Museum Art Museum, the old fortress Towers and walls, The Evangelic cathedral (a 700 year old cathedral) with its 73m high tower (the highest medieval building in Romania), the Catholic Catedral, the Orthodox Cathedral, all the pubs and restaurants for different pockets and tastes, book stores - there are also a couple of bookstores with german books (Schiller bookstore is in the "Piatza Mare"). I strongly recomend this hotel and this warm and full of life medieval city. And don't forget to visit Astra Museum, for a couple of Euros you can visit a Zoo, an open air folk museum (there are lots of old wood houses, windmills, old times inns - you can even have a lunch, or drink a beer there), a beautiful lake - you can rent a rawboat. If you come in Romania don't forget to visit Sibiu, and IBIS is a very affordable place to stay over night.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ochiul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Mr. Ochiul,

It was a great pleasure to read your review!! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your trip in Sibiu. Our city break offer during the Christmas Market had a very good impact and there are many tourists that discovered our beautiful city. We hope you will have time to come also during the summer time when Sibiu is coming alive with all the cultural events. We will be very happy to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Ibis hotel in Sibiu is a typical Ibis hotel: rooms are clean, very simply furnished, bed is comfortable, service is nice and polite. The best thing with this hotel is its location, only a hunderd metars from the central street. And it is quite cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiborBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gheorghiu A, General Manager at Hotel Ibis, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Mr. TiborBH,

I would like to thank you for chosing Ibis hotel during your trip in Sibiu and for the time to share a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad that your experience with us was up to your expectations and we will be very happy to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Andreea Gheorghiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.2 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.6 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
0.3 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sibiu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis

Property: Hotel Ibis
Address: Cale Dumbravii 2-4, Sibiu 550324, Romania (Formerly Minotel Continental)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
195 soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms are available for booking. The hotel has an international restaurant and a bar open 24/24 for snacks. Guests on a business trip have internet connection access. Private parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ibis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Sibiu
Sibiu Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing