We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Silva Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sibiu
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Hotel Silva is a good place to stay while visiting or transiting Sibiu. The hotel is located in a quiet area in the middle of a park, within 10-15 minutes walk from the city center and has a private parking. The hotel has decent accommodation conditions and decent prices. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms are quite small. The personnel from the reception is very polite and promptly answered to any demand we had.
However, regarding the hotel there is a lot of room for improvement, such as bigger screen TVs, more comfortable mattresses, some refurbishments in the bathrooms but all in all I am pleased with this hotel and therefore it will always be my first choice in Sibiu for short stays

Room Tip: During the weekends the hotel is accommodating events like weddings, anniversary party, etc, therefo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    44
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
17
29
13
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galati County, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We were guests of this wonderful hotel of 23 until April 28, 2012.
The first two nights we stayed in room 310 (3rd floor, twin beds) because when we arrived - no prior booking from us - we did not find anything with king size bed. Once it became possible to get what we wanted, the people at reception, with all courtesy and promptness gave us room 111 (1st floor). That is why we have been able to see and test the two rooms. Different floors, different locations: 311 on the front of the hotel, 111 on the back. Both rooms are identical in terms of cleanliness, tranquility and comfort. Both excellent in sleep quality.
From photos and small video that we add to our review we hope you can have your first visual impression.
Rooms are spacious, bright, clean is beyond reproach whatever we talk about rooms, bathrooms or in lobbies. Being situated in a vast natural park, this hotel location is fabulous.
Easy to reach any part of Sibiu (be it of the new city or area of historic Old Town), the hotel provides a very quiet good experience in terms of a stay in the heart of nature just steps away from what you usually call overbuilding. The mornings are effectively surrounded by singing birds and raw green serene nature.
The entire staff is friendly and discreet. Excellent food whether we refer to breakfast, lunch or dinner at more than affordable prices. The whole hotel hallways, lobbys and rooms are well covered by wi-fi connection at good speed.
Absolutely nothing to displease, to disturb or injure your overall impression of friendly, high quality and a good relation between price and what you get for money
We highly recommend this hotel if you want to be treated not just as simple guest, to enjoy quiet and comfortable accommodation without paying more than they deserve.
From our perspective we were completely satisfied and will definitely return. Silva left us a joy in the soul when we remember our trip to Sibiu

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Claudiu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were there for the New Year's party and we choose this hotel for the location and the menu. None of us stayed at this hotel before and I didn't know what to expect. Everything was more than we imagined. The staff was very kind and professional, the food was excellent, and the dining room and the ball room were very elegant.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misu2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

From the first moment I made a reservation here, I found it odd that the difference between a reservation with included breakfast, compared with one with no breakfast included was 60 RON ($20) - which by Romanian standards is quite a lot. I mentioned this in my telephone conversation with the gentleman at the hotel who seemed displeased with my observation. I made a reservation without included breakfast and yet the hotel staff tried to bill me as if I wanted breakfast included - again seeming displeased with my choice. Afterwards, the staff was polite but cold. Other than that, I have no complaints. The location is rather remote, but that should be an advantage for people who want a quiet evening - and the city center is at a 10 minutes walking distance. The hotel was clean, as far as the rooms was concerned my only displeasure was the lack of sockets for my laptop, I had to disconnect the minibar to connect it to electricity. The view is nice, the internet worked very well. I did not try the restaurant, since Sibiu is a place where good restaurants are in abundance in. As far as value for your money goes, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilyawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

I stayed a couple of nights here. The staff was very pleasant and friendly in both the hotel and restaurant.

My room was on the top floor (3rd) and was a little hot (no a/c), but otherwise comfortable and very clean. The wireless coverage was a little spotty on the third floor, but the receptionist confirmed there were some problems and that they would be fixed.

The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre, but is on the edge of a lovely park, which made it quiet and very pleasant for a morning walk or run.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

although this hotel is a bit of distance form the downtown area, it is nevertheless quite a good hotel. Rated as a 3 star, it gave 4 star service with a lot of amenities. Rooms were nice clean, bathroom was clean. My room had a small balcony. Staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. While on my trip to Romania, I would say this probably the second best hotel I stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelCrazyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 21, 2005

We loved the chalet style Hotel Silva. It is a short walk through the tranquil Sub Arini park to Bulevardul Victoriei which becomes the cafe lined Strada Nicolae Balcescu which leads to Piata Mere. The rooms were clean, the English speaking staff was helpful, and the restaurant served excellent food.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
534 reviews
0.6 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
1.0 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 31 in Sibiu
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Exclusive Hotel & More
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Silva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Silva Hotel

Property: Best Western Silva Hotel
Address: Aleea Mihai Eminescu No 1, Sibiu 550370, Romania (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Silva)
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Silva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome our guests in a non polluted area, far away form the industrial centers and far away form the widely circulated channels of communication, in a corner of "Sub Arini" Park, 10 minutes away from the medieval city center.Our rooms offer a lot of comfort. In our restaurants, you'll be caressed with great pleasure culinary special plates.An oasis of tranquility in the heart of the city, BEST WESTERN Silva Hotel is the ideal place for those who appreciate walks in nature or jogging.Let yourself charmed by a relaxing and familiar atmosphere and reestablish your connection with nature!The season doesn't matter, breathe the fresh air in the morning! Hotel Amenities: Restaurant on-site Elevator 24-hour front desk Multilingual staff, (English, French, Italian, German, Romanian) Porterage/bell services Safe deposit boxes, available in rooms or at the front desk Shoe shine Cable television Fax services Photocopy services Printer available Computer available in the hotel lobby High speed Internet access, free for the guests in the hotel lobby Free wireless internet access available in public areas and all guest rooms Wedding services Banquet facilities, Cristal Restaurant with 150 places; Rubin Restaurant with 240 places Ballroom, Cristal Restaurant with 150 places; Rubin Restaurant with 240 places Catering Higher rates may apply for holidays/special events Storage space available complimentary Laundry/valet available 7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday for a nominal feeGuest Room Amenities: Cable television, remote controlled television AM/FM alarm clock Hairdryer Mini-bar Coffee/tea maker available on request Iron, ironing board available on request Desk/work area, with electrical outlet High-speed Internet access, wireless Direct dial telephone Free local calls under 3 minutes Room service from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. Air-conditioning available in 15 rooms Wake-up calls Balcony available Park view Bathroom amenities Shower Bathroom supplies Central heating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Silva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silva Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing