We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of character and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Imparatul Romanilor
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lots of character and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is obviously one of the landmarks of the old town Sibiu. No other hotel has a more convenient location right off the main square and on the main pedestrian drag. There is a large parking facility belonging to the hotel right in the back.

We found it to be excellent value for money and wish we stayed more than two nights. Our room was very large classy decor and furniture. Although facing the pedestrian street it was quiet and loved looking out the window to see the locals walking around.

Their staff was extremely polite. We got a call in the room after we check in for them to make sure all was fine. Breakfast was good, the typical buffet with eggs made to order though I wish they had a larger fruit selection.

Definitely recommend this place for the value and charm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlbuffOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    73
    42
    23
    8
See reviews for
23
80
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Imparatul Romanilor Hotel for two nights during a five day trip throughout Romania. We absolutely loved it!

The hotel itself was extremely charming, and the staff was helpful and gave us the price we saw on booking.com when we asked for it (52 euros). The room was large and extremely clean, and the bed was comfortable. We also liked the continental breakfast because the food was better quality than most. My husband even spent some time in the spa and really enjoyed it.

We would be more than pleased to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelotz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Very durty hotel,durty bath,noisly and very impolite Manager.We consider than it is a hotel under 1 star and the European criteria.Very expensive hotel compaire with the modern and close hotel Continental who charge about the same price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Old Europe type hotel, lots of character. Around the corner from the main square, all pedestrian area. Great location. Very classy and lovely atmosphere. Got one large double room with jacuzzi.

Staff helpful in every way. Breakfast was good, loved their fresh cheeses.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LetiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is in the center of the old city. It is not on a steep hill as some reviews have claimed. Walking is easy here. Be sure to take a metered taxi from the RR Station or airport!!! Service was excellent. We had the suite which had 2 bathrooms and a living rm. Breakfast,as well as other meals in the hotel, was very good. Sibiu has a wealth of museums and churches. We were there a week and did not run out of things to do. Safe and clean too.

Room Tip: The suite or apartment is very little extra. Reserve in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

I was traveling alone and had no car. I wanted to stay near down town so that seightseeing was easy.
The taxi ride from the airport is short and costs about € 5. The hotel is located on a street where no cars are allowed, but the taxi takes you all the way to the back of the hotel. There is also parking available if you drive, but the parking lot was beeing under construction.
The hotel itself is beautiful, you feel like you are stepping back in time. Full of mirors and lights and gold...The staff was great. There is an elevator and also a business center and a pool (which I did not use). The room was big and the bathroom was small. The bed was a queen size and confortable. There is not a clock in the room and also no heat control. I don't know if they have air conditioning, I was able to open the windows when it got too hot at night.
Breakfast was included with the room and it was very good.
I would reccomend this hotel for its location and confort. The price was also right.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

I spent 1 night in this hotel, while I was travelling around Romania. From my whole trip, this hotel was the best one! The room was clean and nicely decorted and the bed was SO comfortable... I want to thank Christina from the front desk for her extremelly kind treat and for her help! In my next visit to Sibiu I will return!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trotamundos59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.3 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Levoslav House
Levoslav House
#10 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#6 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imparatul Romanilor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imparatul Romanilor

Property: Imparatul Romanilor
Address: Strada Balcescu Nicolae 4, Sibiu 550159, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Imparatul Romanilor 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imparatul Romanilor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imparatul Romanilor Sibiu
Imparatul Romanilor Hotel Sibiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing