We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had the worst time ever in Sibiu”
Review of Am Ring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Am Ring Hotel
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We had the worst time ever in Sibiu”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived as a group, so I will write about 4 rooms in the same time.

1. Didn't have any toilet paper
2. Didn't have any kind of soap just an already wet shower cap :)
3. The water was floating in the bathroom after a shower (without soap but with a very nice shower cap)
4. In some rooms there wasn't any kind of heating (in november it was a problem)
5. Not all the lights were functioning, you could barely see anything in the bathroom (they put energy saving light like at my grandma's house)

At breakfast (you might want to sit down):

1.nobody told us the breakfast wasn't included, they ran after us twice with the bill in front of their clients at the terrase (we had bags and all in our hands) who tried to have a great time in front of the hotel;
2. The waitress was such a dummy girl... didn't even know what her name was; we had a hard time in getting along especially when we had to pick the flavor of the juice from the fridge (she didn't bring us the fresh juice she promised at the beginning)
3. The others hired in the restaurant were making fun of this waitress outloud, it was clear she was new but have I needed to know this detail as a client?
4. We asked for the bill (we ordered other stuff besides the breakfast we thought it was included) at least 4 times, 4 different persons. After 20 minutes the bills arrived (didn't even notice the breakfast bill below the other one)

Shall I say more about this hotel?
I could hardly enjoy the beautiful view from my room because I was feeling so bad being part of this comunist hotel system. It felt like nobody cared that we wanted to feel good in Sibiu.
Sorry guys, that's the whole truth and I didn't write everything down...

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallamocska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    45
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
22
50
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in June 2013.

Excellent location on one of the main squares of the centre.

Reception staff speaks good English and are helpful (eg. printing of tickets, provide information on city). However they seem to leave their post quite often and for long periods. Upon my arrival (Thursday 4pm) as well as upon my departure (Sunday 8am) I had to wait at least 15 minutes for someone to show up.

No elevator available.

Obtained a beautifully furnished room(207) with a very stylish bathroom. Airconditioning available. Two floors lower is a bar-terrace but it did not cause noise problems.

Rooms facing the square may be noisy on hot summer evenings and nights.

Wifi is provided free and quality is very good.

Breakfast is not included in the room price and I have not tested it. Peculiarity is that breakfast starts only at 9 am on Saturdays and Sundays.

263 RON (58€) a night is not a low price for Romanian standards, but given the quality of the room and the location it seems good value to me.

Room Tip: rooms on the front (facing the square) are most probably noisy on hot summer evenings and nights.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VillefrancheVLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
847 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 908 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel if you love old architecture and decorations. The furniture and wall decorations were exquisitely beautiful. I will add photos here rather than trying to describe details.
We were on the second floor and we had a view of the Grand plaza from our window, which was very pleasing. If it got loud we could always close the window and hear nothing of what was going on out there. From the corridor we could see lovely reddish tiled roofs of nearby buildings. Large stare cases had red carpeting giving the hotel a majestic look. Very large wall paintings all over the hotel were truly tastefully done.
The hotel had an outdoor /indoor restaurant and a bar. We did not eat there, but had a drink at the bar. As can be expected there was quite a bit of smoking in the late evening. It was, however, great to have a separate nonsmoking area for breakfast close to the reception. Breakfast was included in the price and there were three choices. There was also a buffet for which you had to pay extra.
The internet was accessible free of charge through a cable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They would call a taxi for you anytime of the day and the taxis came very close to the hotel although it was in a pedestrian area. There was a good room service and everything was neat and clean.
Possible negative issues:
Because it was very old hotel, the bathroom had bit of a problem with water overflowing on to the floor after a shower. However, the shower itself was great, always reliable with hot water. There also was no elevator. So, if you have trouble climbing stairs and cannot get a room on the first floor (which also required climbing a set of stairs), this is not the place for you. The beds were rather small, but not too bad. I am, however, not sure if a heavy person will be very comfortable on these beds.
All in all, I found the hotel to be great and recommend it to anyone who would like to experience a bit of Sibiu’s past.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Super cute. Staff were excellent and friendly. Rooms are great.
I do hate being told my review must be 200 characters.. My keyboard is too small for that :(
Fffggdsffsgfdugfyufxdwwfggsefgfdtytsdfggffccghgffdssdfgghfgghhtd

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneLynnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

A nice fin-de-siécle hotel, in a really enviable position in one of the three main squares of the beautiful town of Sibiu.
Too bad that the rooms are really, really hot (it was the end of April, with 28 degrees outside, and the heating system was working all night long), and the bed is one of the most uncomfortable I've ever slept in (it kept squeaking at every movement and the mattress was terribly thin).
Wouldn't suggest.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkcecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stay two days in Hotel Am Ring in Sibiu (Romania) and it was a very pleasant disovery.

The place is a really boutique hotel having a very good location. The hotel is an ancient medieval house restored, which is located in the Great Square ( Piata Mare) in Sibiu, just oposite with the Bruckenthal Museum. The hotel has a warm and ancient athmosphere in according with the profile of the building and with the historic center of Sibiu.

Each room has it's own personality ( we saw two rooms) and the furniteru is from 19th Century very well restored. The bathroom is spacious and very well equiped.

We cannot valuate the breakfast, because we wake up late.

We recommend this hotel for a journey in Sibiu.

Cristina and Radu Cataniciu

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radu_cataniciu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in November 2012. The rooms are adequate, though pretty dumpy. Some light fixtures were broken, there were lots of stains and cigarette burns on the carpet, and there was a cheap air freshener to hide the smell of smoke, though it just smelled like smoke and watermellon gum. The bathrooms are fairly nice, and the location is wonderful, which is why I gave the hotel a two. The first floor of the hotel is a club, so you get very loud thumping music all night and well into the day (I was there during the week so I imagine it was even worse on weekends). The crowd spills out in front of the hotel so you get even more noise plus lots of cigarette smoke. The entrance to the rooms is off an ally, and there's no secure door or desk so anyone can walk right into the hallways. The walls are so thin that I could hear every single word the guy in the next room was saying. The cleaning staff barges in with no warning. If you are a college student or into the party scene this place is for you. If you want a nice relaxing vacation in a safe hotel go somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Levoslav House
Levoslav House
#10 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.4 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#5 of 30 in Sibiu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imparatul Romanilor
Imparatul Romanilor
#13 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Ring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Ring Hotel

Property: Am Ring Hotel
Address: Piata Mare 14, Sibiu 550163, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Ring Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Am Ring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing