We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balea Lac Chalet & Ice Hotel”
Review of Balea Lac

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balea Lac
Ranked #65 of 117 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Balea Lac Chalet & Ice Hotel”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This trip with untraveled paths was Fantastic!
Stayed in the Ice hotel for one night and the chalet one night, which were both great experiences. The staff were very happy to help at any hour and although they didn't know much English they certainly tried their best!
The food in the Chalet was good, nothing to complain about there, but being so far out in the sticks it was surprising how much selection they had! The food in the Ice hotel was great, had the vegetarian option and was worth the money for the dining experience!
One couple complained about the food being too cold but you're in an Ice Hotel without a kitchen!!!
There were a few delays at times, but I can't understand people needing to be places dead on the dot on holiday! It made us chuckle as it was such a different way of life here... plus the company 'untraveled paths' don't call it that for nothing!
The location was spectacular, the rooms clean and the staff helpful when requested.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shdaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    16
    11
    8
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on an untravelled paths holiday - the rooms were clean and spacious and the shower was clean. Overall the room is fairly basic but okay for the one night we stayed there.
The restaurant menu appeared to be the same meal with slight variations and this was a shame as it was the only place to eat the 2 days by balea lac. The staff work very hard and are up all the time, however I feel this is at the sacrifice of smiling and a sense of humour! They look annoyed with you all the time, whenever you ask for anything! The meals are cheap and in 5 days with all meals and alcohol we only spent £225 when in romania.
We took a tunnel trek which was okay, quite hard going even for the fit people with us as the air is thinner, but then went through the top gear tunnel, sadly misty at the end so didn't see the beautiful views.
The cabana is in an incredibly scenic place and that makes up I feel for any small grumbles we had. Really, we had come for the ice hotel - and that was incredible

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We arrived via cable car in the middle of a blizzard.

a 100m walk to the chalet from the cable car. Check in is at the bar. Room was clean and comfortable . Staff were friendly and tried hard to please. Food was very nice. Wife had beef soup and I had spicyromanian sausage and chips. Despite its isolated location bar prices were very reasonable 5 lei for a 500ml beer.

Manageress went the extra mile and arranged for a member f staff to drive us from the cable station to Fageras a 90 minute drive

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunterstrystjambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The service was terrible, they gave us stale bread and cheese, insisted we have dinner as soon as we arrived because they had to close the resteraunt then kept it open until 10. Very noisy, very rude staff, Internet doesn't work in rooms, balcony around rooms is shared and has no way to lock door. Huge disappointment, especially for the cost. The bathroom was not clean and the soaps were open and used.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at Cabana Balea Lac in June 2012. Our room was clean, nice size and had an amazing view. We ate a couple of meals at the restaurant and all were good. The deck off the restaurant overlooked the lake and the mountains but we were unable to sit outside because of swarms of insects. There was still a little bit of snow on the ground but we were able to hike the trails. There were roadside vendors set up within walking distance to the chalet. We purchased cheese and afinata (a blueberry liquor). The road to Balea Lac ( the transfargarasan) is breathtaking and is a "must do" if you visit Romania.
I only gave this property 3 stars because it is mostly the location and setting that make this hotel cool. It was clean and nice but nothing luxurious;however, I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffielduk
Level Contributor
238 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Way up in the Fagaras mountains about an hour drive from Sibiu is Cabana Balea Lac. Take the Transfagarasan Rd (which was featured on BBC Tv "Top Gear" and described by the presenters as the best drive ever) keep going along this truly spectacular road until you reach the summit of the pass. Here you will find Cabana Balea Lac. Strictly speaking a 'Cabana' is a mountain refuge hut but Cabana Balea Lac is a proper hotel. It has recently been upgraded and we were offered a modern basic very clean room with satisfactory ensuite. It had full central heating and the accommodation was entirely satisfactory. The hotel is very busy at weekends as visitors drive up to see the spectacular scenery and enjoy an opportunity to walk in the peaks.
The restaurant is also very busy catering for day trippers but offer generous portions of good value Romanian style food. It would be impossible to rise from the dining table hungry. I am sure that because of the unpredictable nature of their business, both seasonal and dependant on mountain weather, it must be so difficult for the management to forecast trade. However on a truly desperately busy weekend day the staff made up for their lack of english by their enthusiasm and hard work to make us very welcome.
If you can afford the time don't be tempted to try the route from Sibiu/Brasov to Bucharest in one long day. It's possible, but much better to break your journey here and enjoy the fantastic situation of this hotel.
Do book. They don't seem to do email but use the phone number from their website to book and I confirmed by FAX also. I don't know if that was necessary. The road is closed for five months of winter but then they may have an 'Ice Hotel' but I don't know how they get you there. There is a cable car which ascends from further down the valley so I suppose it is four wheel drive to the lower station from the plain below.
This is a great destination.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake View
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank indefatigable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibiu
0.7 mi away
Ramada Sibiu
Ramada Sibiu
#8 of 30 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 30 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Brukenthal Palace Avrig
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 30 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balea Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balea Lac

Property: Balea Lac
Address: Strada Eroilor nr. 22 | Avrig, Sibiu 550361, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 117 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing