We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Holiday”
Review of Pensiunea Cardinal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pensiunea Cardinal
Ranked #4 of 124 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I spent New Year's holiday in Sibiu, at Cardinal. We had an all inclusive package which was above any expectation. The staff was extremely nice, impeccable conditions in the room. In the and we didn't have to pay anything extra, not even for the drinks. I have no reproach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaRomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Pensiunea Cardinal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 100 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

nice and big rooms, very nice staff, close to the old city (10 minuts walk), planty of free parking around the place. nice restaurat downstairs (be aware that smoking is allowed ther). They also have free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank odedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Super pension with very friendly and helpful staff. The pension is about 10 mn walk from the old city. The location, near a church and a cemetery is very quiet. The hotel has a private guarded parking 3 mn away. "A la carte" breakfast! The pension has a small restaurant with good and cheap food. The only fly in the ointment: There is no lift... but the staff is ready to help you!
To sum up: nice place... I would go again if I come back to Sibiu.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pollofeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We chose Casa Cardinal based on positive reviews on Trip Advisor & were not deceived. We arrived in Sibiu by car coming from near Deva. Finding the pensiune was not easy but we were rewarded by a parking place right in front.. We had quick help with our bags after a rapid check in.

Aida, who worked the desk a lot of the time we were there (2 days & nights), cordinated the retrieval of a toilet kit we had left at out last lodging place & had it sent to our hotel in Bucharest.

We dined for our evening meal both days in the Restantul Cardinal which is very handy & offers excellent hot food and attentive service. Also the complimentary breakfast is served there.

The WiFi did not work in our room, 12, but did in the restaurant and outside the office on the main floor.

If outside light coming into the room bothers you, as it does us, ask for rooms 13 or 14 which are on the side away from the street, which is quiet most of the time..

Room Tip: Try rooms on the back side away from street.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

A charming place to stay just 5 minutes lazy walk from the old city with its museums, restaurants and shops. A wonderful careful and helpful staff, cleanliness, a great breakfast that can be served either in the restaurant, or in the terrace garden or in the hall of the second floor, very spacy rooms - all this together makes this pension an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regaleks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here two nights during our weeklong drive through Transylvania. We were originally disappointed that it was not within the walls of the old city, but ended up thankful it wasn't, as we enjoyed the 10 minute walk home each night after big dinner. Just as the other reviews mentioned, it is on a quite street with parking right in front. Rooms were large with antique furniture and updated bathrooms. Breakfast on the outside patio was awesome and the staff was great. Our room was non-smoking and the air conditioning worked great. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms are on the 1st floor (2nd in the U.S.) and 2nd floor (3rd in the U.S.). No elevator, so i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Easy to find, position close to the historical center (10 minutes by foot). Clean, very big rooms, friendly helpful staff. Big, good breakfast (possible to have it on the terace). Parking available right in front of the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miabirau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#7 of 31 in Sibiu
550 reviews
0.3 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.2 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#3 of 31 in Sibiu
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Republique Hotel
Republique Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Ana Tower Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensiunea Cardinal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensiunea Cardinal

Address: Strada Justitiei nr. 9, Sibiu, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Price Range: $46 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pensiunea Cardinal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing