We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HIDDEN GEM”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Weinkeller

Weinkeller
Ranked #18 of 176 Restaurants in Sibiu
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Eastern European, Romanian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Probably the most beautiful small terrace in Sibiu. Definitively the most interesting cellar restaurant!
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
218 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“HIDDEN GEM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

very very nice position for both winter and summer days and evenings and nights....but there is a big issue with the wine there as they do offer by glass only the cheapest ones!!! 1 type of red and one of white served by glass the rest by bottle....why is called then....WEIN????KELLER????? i never understand...but the position is great, the location is excellent!!!! worth a visit.
next time,if any, i will try the food as well!!! service is prompt and good plus the prices are decent!!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theodor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    25
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sad”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Following the overall positive score from tripadvisor we decided for a lunch at Winekeller.
As the weather was warm enough we prefered a table on the small terrace.
Unfortunatelly the kitchen's window is right there and we could overhear everything that was going on. Apart from the personal troubles from the life of the cook, which are of no interest to me, but bothered my ears, one thing got me puzzled: the overuse of the microwave oven! I left with the impression that everything there was cooked on the microwave!

Bottom line: the menu looks nice but the food doesn't raise to the expectations
I've tried a baked red peppers soup - disaster. The peppers were not freshly baked but came from a supermarket jar of pickled peppers. Therefore the overwhelming sour taste of the vinegar.
The onion pie came out of the freezer, you could feel that in the texture although it was warmed up in the microwave.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MihneaDorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have discovered this treasure on a road trip with my boyfriend around Europe. It is hidden which brings to it a more local taste rather than the all tourist classic restaurants with pizza and pasta. Staff is friendly, decorations lovely and food extraordinary - real traditional and tasty (a very good price too!). Definitely a place we are looking forward to coming to!

Helpful?
Thank Miruna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

This off the beaten path restaurant was a great find. We ate outside, while looking up at the steeple of the old church. I liked the fact that this place was away from the square where the prices are high, and the food quality low. I strongly recommend this to the world traveler, not the tour bus status quo tourist. Charming is the best adjective to describe this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Wine, great food and very friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Second visit in two years in Sibiu and second visit to the Weinkeller. And when I go back to Sibiu next time, if I have only one night, this is the place where I would go to eat!
Siebenbürgisch/Rumanian Food and great wine selection!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank voegelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinkeller also viewed

 
Sibiu, Sibiu County
 

Been to Weinkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing