We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weinkeller - a friendly place for an empty stomach”
Review of Weinkeller

Weinkeller
Ranked #20 of 178 Restaurants in Sibiu
Cuisines: European, Wine Bar, Eastern European, Romanian, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Probably the most beautiful small terrace in Sibiu. Definitively the most interesting cellar restaurant!
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weinkeller - a friendly place for an empty stomach”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've been there last summer with a group of friends who I remember were very hungry and we were impressed by the hospitality, the good food and the very good choice of wines, both red and white the waiter recommended us. The tuica was also amazing since it was a homemade spirit and it accompanied the cheese plateau we had for an entry very well

I recommend this place when hungry but perhaps it's better to make a reservation in advance. The location pays off for sure as it's situated minutes from Sibiu's historical center and once inside you can experience some really good food in a genuine Transylvanian cellar.

Very good service, quite cheap for a very nice looking restaurant, perfect food hungry travelers,Weinkeller has them all.

Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank darmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    57
    25
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Exquisite wines means Winekeller!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Every time I was in Sibiu I ate here since in my opinion is the most romantic place, the food is delicious and the wines very good. I always come here to eat beef with horseradish sauce and jam. We had for starters goulash soup and some bruschetta with tomatoes and salmon which were excellent. For main course we had the beef that I mentioned before and some chicken roll with white sauce. We had as an appetizer an white wine Nachbil - Riesling after that a rose one from Stirbey Domain. For the main course and after that a red Pinot Noir from Nachbil which was astonishing. I highly recommend that wine. Overall was a very nice experience and I can't wait to go to Sibiu for this restaurant once again :) I definitely recommend everyone to eat or to drink a good wine here. Especially for couples.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheroo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Perfect service, excellent wines and food, cheap prices. The perfect locatin for everyone. I love it. Situated in a celler with so much flair, and it smells like history.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lebehier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very best food & very good location”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

"Tocana saseasca de vacuta cu varza rosie si piure de cartofi" very, very...good food! Associate with a dry red wine, from the local offer, was a excelent choice! After that we recomended "Prune fierte in vin cu inghetata si scortisoara"! The place is beautiful and the personnel was very, very kindly! It's a beautiful restaurant! We love Sibiu and the sibians people!

Un cuplu de bucuresteni...autentici!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matei d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best places to eat in Sibiu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went there several times and I strongly recommend it. The carrot cream soup is my personal favorite, along with the fried goat cheese salad. The Weinkeller steak with ginger bread sauce is definitely worth a try, if you are searching for innovative dishes.
The waiter was very wine knowledgeable and experienced in all aspects of serving wine, such as knowing the characteristics type of wine in the menu and what wines best complement particular foods.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina_Raluca_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Weinkeller also viewed

 
Sibiu, Sibiu County
 

Been to Weinkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing