We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not luxury, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hermannstadt Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hermannstadt Inn
Ranked #78 of 116 Sibiu B&B and Inns
Sylvester, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not luxury, but not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the 2nd location, a 5-minute walk from the Piata Mare ("Large Market") where the Christmas market is located. This location is on a tiny side street on the ground floor of a residential building. The old city wall runs alongside the building. An employee rode with us from the main location, showed us where to park, and gave us easy walking directions to the center. My friends and I rented all 4 rooms and had the place to ourselves. It is old, but fairly clean (the rugs could stand a beating) and quiet. We nearly froze until someone figured out how to turn up the thermostat, but in the managements' defense, I wasn't paying attention when they told us there were extra blankets in the closet. Our rooms had TVs, one had a mini-fridge, and one had a sort of kitchenette (refrigerator and sink, but no stovetop). The bathrooms were clean and obviously recently updated, although one of the shower curtains was ripped and left water all over the floor if you weren't careful. One of the double rooms uses the hall bathroom. All in all, I've stayed in much worse places that were more expensive. For one night in town, it was fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent two nights here at the end of September and first of October (at 105 Lei per night, including breakfast, about $33/night). The manager and desk clerk were very helpful in securing a parking spot for our rental car right across the quiet street. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the breakfast was OK. The Hermannstadt (which means "German City") has an excellent location, close to the train station and the old Saxon town center, which is pedestrian only and has lots of restaurants and cafes. Apart from the endless rain and overcast skies, this was a fine stop, and I would be happy to stay here again. My only complaint is that I do not like the "feather-bed" blankets that all the guesthouses seem to use in this part of the world. It would be nice to at least have the option of thinner blankets. Otherwise, good people here, doing a good job. The staff were all proficient in English.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidColorado_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,970 reviews
392 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

This pensione is within 200 metres of Sibiu railway station.

My room 8 was up three steep flights of stairs: in fact, entrance to the place is dangerous as you open the door and are confronted by downward stairs ti reception: an older person could 'go for a sixer!'

The room had two single beds on either side of the attic window. A small TV, two chairs, a table and reasonable bedding were provided along with a bar fridge which to switch on I had to move a table to get to the power point.

The bathroom's dormer window offered a lovely view of next door's old style tiled roof. The curtained shower was small but the water flowed OK.

The owners said they had a private function (for five people!) so I could only have a beer in my room: disconcerting.

I slept well. My tariff of 90 lei did not include breakfast. It was a cheap rate

The hostel is 150 metres from the street corner where the walk up to the great Old Town starts.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorianlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

Staying at this place was the only thing that made our trip to Sibiu less than ideal. From the moment our group arrived, the person who was travelling solo was given a room that you would not think anyone would ask money for - there were literally less than 50 cm of space between the edges of the beds and each of the 4 walls, which is claustrophobic to say the least. Unluckily for us, we had paid in advance and the owner refused to give us our money back, meaning we had to stay there anyway (he was, though, OK with the fact that we did not accept the "shoebox" room).

The other room (which we kept) wasn't much nicer - although of normal size, there were many things wrong:
- although we had asked for a double, there were two separate beds that weren't even close but in opposite sides of the room
- the water in the shower had very fast burning hot/freezing cold fluctuations, before soon settling on the latter temperature; adding insult to (almost physical) injury, the shower drain was defective and so water spilled out after only 2 minutes spent in the shower
- there must have been bedbugs/spiders in the beds or sheets, because both me and my partner woke up with numerous large insect bites on our legs
- the owner insisted that he keep my passport until the day we left; even though I explained I would need to have my passport with me during our stay, he claimed this is standard hotel procedure to safeguard owners from damages brought to the room (it obviously isn't!)
- a small kitchen was annexed to the room, which would have been useful except for the fact that all the cubbards were empty, there wasn't even a single plate or fork in there

This all comes in the context where this place claims to be a 3 star establishment - I hope you can tell from my review that it is far from being that, and, with so many nice hotels/pensions to choose from in Sibiu, we will clearly NOT be coming back to Pensiunea Hermannstadt, and of course we would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LongTalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.6 mi away
Casa Salzburg
Casa Salzburg
#10 of 116 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pensiune Casa Romana
Pensiune Casa Romana
#64 of 116 in Sibiu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Center Sibiu
Hostel Center Sibiu
#13 of 49 in Sibiu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Brukenthal Central Apartments Sibiu
0.4 mi away
Huet Residence
Huet Residence
#6 of 116 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pensiune Casa Frieda
Pensiune Casa Frieda
#27 of 116 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermannstadt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermannstadt Inn

Property: Hermannstadt Inn
Address: Strada Blanarilor nr 13, Sibiu 550254, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hermannstadt INN was renovated and refurnished at the beginning to 2016. Few reasons to come: the inn offers you 2 lodgings areas, both situated near the historical center of the town. It is situated in a very peaceful and quiet area. It offers the guest a very pleasant stay through its services. It offers increased comfort for our guests. Lodging places : 24 rooms (50 places). The Hermannstadt board & lodging is situated at less than 50 meters from Polisano clinic, 150 meters from the means of transportation if you wish to travel within the city or outside it, approximately 3 minutes from the historical center of the city of Sibiu,150 meters from the bus stop where you could take the bus to get to the Paltinis mountain resort (this mountain resort is situated at the highest altitude of all the country at 1443 meters and it is only 32 kilometers from Sibiu). Video surveillance for parking places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hermannstadt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing