We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Town Hostel Sibiu
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Sibiu
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

I've been there with my spouse on our Roumania-tour. Just Lovely. They even have a matrimonial-room and beeing in the center of Sibiu the prices are verry ok. It's a nice Hostel right in the center, easy to find, just tell people " Piata mika".They recently renovated tha place and have smaller rooms too, not just dormitories, where you can go with family and even kids.

Room Tip: depending of how many of you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreaalbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    19
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
10
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We were in Sibiu in March and stayed at this hostel. It's really nice (I think they did some changes and painted all new there). It`s cosy and the view is really nice (to the square), really central. The staff is nice and (very important for me), the bathroom was clean. I will go back in May-June and I'm pretty sure that we will choose the same place to stay.

PS. The city is amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a with a view to the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sethperiod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

This is more than a hostel, it is a must for any hostel culture connoisseur. Here I met very interesting people from the fellow tourists to the very helpful and friendly staff. I stayed in hostels in different countries in Asia and Europe and I loved it but OldTownHostel was the only accommodation that turn into a tourist objective itself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorian-Andrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

In March 2011 I stayed in this hostel for the 3rd time, 2 times before the restoration and now in March for the first time after they restored it. I can only partly agree with the rather negative remark somebody gave earlier. The bathrooms were indeed quite small but at that moment the owner had to work with the place he had. Now new, smaller rooms were created with brand new modern showers. You have now the possibiliy to book smaller rooms and so less people can step in your room at night. The owner is very relaxed and will always try to help you. I would advice this hostel to everyone because its authentic, centrally located and clean. Enjoy it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ISupportRomanianWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

After reading some negative reviews here, I was suspicious about this hostel. But I found the place rather charming, and peaceful, with a great view on one of these picturesque markets. I must say: the renovation which took place in the winter of 2011, hase had a very positive impact on this hostel. To my opinion, this hostel has an excellent quality / price balance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterlybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

When we arrived at the All town Hostel, we were verry happy to find it so near the maine square of Sibiu, bud saddly, like that saying "appearances mislead", we found the hostel so deceiving... VERRY small bathrooms, just ONE shower (for midgets), no privacy in the bedrooms (if u want to sleep bring headphones because some people don't have the decency to knock on doors, walk slowly to not disturb the rest, others strip before your eyes, other snoor verry loud etc), no lunch tables ....AWFULL...and not quite cheap...Qeep Distance!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sibiu hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

Our group of friends was so ecstatic when we thought we would stay at Old Town Hostel Sibiu. We saw the pics over the internet and we said, this is a place we would like to stay for a night. But every good thing lasts only a minute. When we got there everything was so out of order. Everything was all over the place. The bathrooms are so small, that you can't ever make a turn in them. There was no toilet paper, we always had to ask. No one ever came to see if we are settled or ok, or if we need smth (when we were in Italy, they always made sure we were happy). Everyone wandered in their underwear there, walking through our room when we were SLEEPING, and no one told us we had to sleep with a stranger in the room. I've been to hostels before, but this was...terrible is too good of a word for it. Anddd...the beds almost fell apart. Every time i would make a small move, a big sound comes from it. You realize we and going barely slept. It was like a market. Everyone coming and going almost naked, without caring about us sleeping. Besides the town, which has changed a lot since it got it;s title of "The cultural capital of Europe", now it;s in such a bad shape. You can deduct that all they did 3 years ago (when i first was there) was for image. Now all their image is gone, Shame shame. My final conclusion is: if you want strange and foreign people wondering around you, making you uncomfortable and giving you a hard time sleeping, or going into a 1m/1m bathroom where you can only enter and sit, go ahead and chose this hostel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaL21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanstadt, Owner at The Old Town Hostel Sibiu, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
To CristinaL21,

We would like to start off by apologizing for the rather uncomfortable stay you had at our hostel. We are really sorry if we did not manage to create the right conditions in order for you to feel at home. Further on, we will try to offer some explanation to a few of your requests.
First of all, we should mention that our check-out time is 12 o'clock in the afternoon. Unfortunately, our hostel was completely full the night before, and the cleaning started at 12 o'clock, you arriving around 10.00 a.m. Our guests were just waking up or trying to pack their baggs.
Furthermore, the reason for the bathrooms being small is that the building is a 450 years old historical monument, and all modifications to the structure are not allowed.
In regard to the toilet paper incident, it is regretable and entirely our fault. We regret the unfortunate event, it is full season and the staff are always occupied at the reception desk during the morning. The situation was taken care of, as soon as another guest came up to the reception and informed us. We don’t want to excuse the event, just to offer some explanation why it unfortunately happened.
Regarding the fact that some guests walked around in the room in their underwear, well, it is a common thing in a hostel dorm :) We believe that all tourists who prefer hostels are quite familiar with that facts.
In regard to the condition of the city streets, buildings and points of tourist interest, yes, there is partially yet work to be done, but, in general – and here comes the local patriotism – the town looks rather ok.
To conclude, we would like to sincerely apologize once more for your uncomfortable stay, we hope that your next trip to Sibiu will be more pleasant, and, perhaps, you will give us another chance. :)

Kindest Regards,
The Old town Hostel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.5 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
0.1 mi away
Hostel Center Sibiu
Hostel Center Sibiu
#14 of 49 in Sibiu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smart Hostel
Smart Hostel
#2 of 49 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
PanGeea Hostel
PanGeea Hostel
#3 of 49 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Astronomului
Casa Astronomului
#9 of 117 in Sibiu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Welt Hostel
Welt Hostel
#5 of 49 in Sibiu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Town Hostel Sibiu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Town Hostel Sibiu

Property: The Old Town Hostel Sibiu
Address: Piata Mica Nr. 26, Sibiu 550182, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is located in the heart of the historical centre, in Piata Mica ("Little Square"), the oldest and most romantic of Sibiu squares, in a 450 year old building with Renaissance style arcades, at the first floor above the Pharmacy Museum. This museum holds the furniture and equipment of the oldest Transylvanian pharmacy. There is also a room dedicated to Samuel Hahnemann, the founder of homeopathy and personal physician of the Baron von Brukenthal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your The Old Town Hostel Sibiu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing