We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy/comfortable and a homey atmosphere”
Review of Casa Burgheza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sibiu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Burgheza
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Sibiu
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
2 reviews
“Cozy/comfortable and a homey atmosphere”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Great place to stay in .. very authentic!
Great hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvidican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orange Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

WOW... We stayed 2 nights here and from the time we arrived until we (reluctantly) left it felt like home.
This is an arty well designed B&B with so many extras.
The bathroom is amazing with shampoo, soap and scented mosituriser provided. There is a wonderful shower and HUGE bath.
Our compact room had twin beds and we had the place to ourselves which was divine (there are three other double bedrooms).
The kitchen has everything you would need to self cater (but who wants to do that when there is great affordable food easily found in Romania!). Dishwasher, stove, utensils, pots, pans, etc
The breakfast was out of this world. we had the vegetarian option which included eggs fried or omelete... breads (and a toaster!!!!) 4-5 cheeses, tomatoes cucumber, yoghurt, cereal (muesli!!!) hot milk, endless teas (some they have gathered from forest) and coffee... 4-5 home made jams - all divine, + other tasty goodies for toast.
On arrival there was also a welcome tray of fruits, savoury snacks and biscuits and access to as much tea and coffee as you want.
The owners are very warm and friendly and a tour of their family collection of memorabilia is a must.
The walk into town is not far and it was lovely to wander past some gracious old houses.
Sibiu is a great city... the centre is easy to spend a day in and a great place for a pedicure or massage... we had one and it was the best every... just to the left of the clock tower (which you need to climb... there was a terrific photo exhibition there when we visited!).
We had a hire car so driving to Casa Burheza was easy... just phone to get some driving instructions if you don't have a map.
This B&B really was a wonderful find and highly recommend it to all!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I completely loved this B & B, really amazing quality, super clean/modern rooms decorated with romanian folk antiques and contemporary art. The hosts are amazing and attentive, the breakfast was incredible, homemade jam and treats that tasted better than any i have had in Romania. There is a communal super modern kitchen with hi-quality cooking supplies. The outdoor patio decorated in traditional Romanian style is a perfect place to watch the sunset. This B & B greatly makes up for its 15min walk distance from the center of Sibiu with quality and quiet. Oh and there is a small attached ethnographic collection above the kitchen facility, which i received a personal tour of. This B & B is distinctly different from any of the other places I have stayed in Romania (in which I have been traveling for 1 month), aesthetically pleasing, interesting, homemade food and service, etc. I hate hotels, and I didn't want to leave this one! Personal adn warm, can't recomend it enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caspercautis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed here recently and I can't give a more positive review. The owners are very friendly and nice. The breakfast they serve is excellent and the rooms are beautiful. The casa is situated about a 15-20 minute walk from Sibiu old town centre. Booking was easy and straight foward and in my opinion offered very good value for the money

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cianmurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is a lovely house with very nice, stylish rooms. The breakfast is fantastic, and the hosts are as hospitable as they could possibly be. I definitely recommend it, particularly for families or groups traveling together.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

The street is quite, only houses and trees:) - a 3 minutes drive from the city center (-20 minutes walk).
Casa Burgheza -The house is red and the people are great. Mother, father and daughter - incredibly serene and nice people. You feel really welcomed and they are happy to give you tips about the city and the surroundings.
The rooms - gorgeouuuuuuuuuuuus. I fell in love with where I stayed: a mix between wood and red brick, wood furniture and white & brown linen sheets. The bathroom is greeeeeaaat and you can even find cinnamon candles, face cream and lait demaquillant. Smooth bath robes and they clean the room every single day.
The breakfast is everything you could wish for. Much more than you could eat and very very natural food.
Plus: you always have fresh fruits any time of day, cookies and organic biscuits, tea, water and coffee. It's heaven! I can't wait to see these people again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 21stofMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

This is a fantastic B&B, especially if you are driving. The room was beautiful; breakfast was hearty and delicious; the hostess was friendly and helpful. There is a lovely patio if you want to sit outside and off-street parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMissSpokaneWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sibiu hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ibis
Hotel Ibis
#6 of 31 in Sibiu
523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Sibiu
Hilton Sibiu
#1 of 31 in Sibiu
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Continental Forum Sibiu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Casa Luxemburg
Casa Luxemburg
#2 of 31 in Sibiu
247 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Silva Hotel
1.2 mi away
Smart Hostel
Smart Hostel
#2 of 53 in Sibiu
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Burgheza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Burgheza

Property: Casa Burgheza
Address: Strada Fochistilor nr. 11, Sibiu 550299, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Sibiu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Sibiu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With only 4 rooms in the attic, our villa offers a cozy experience that’s been missing in the cultural oasis of Sibiu. Recently renovated by a young couple of artists, the property is situated in a residential area, at 2 km far from the city center. "Casa Burgheza" aims to be a stylish villa, where each room inspires the feeling of being hidden away in a posh home decorated with contemporary & antique artworks ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing