We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice little hotel”
Review of mOdus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
mOdus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice little hotel”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on business for 3 nights. Location was lovely, beach and many restaurants in walking distance. Rooms are on the small side but well designed. Air conditioning was great, wi fi worked brilliantly with no password needed. Good shower room and tv at the foot if the bed. Breakfast was lovely and service was very good. The only bad point is that sometimes traffic noise was quite loud but it did not disturb my sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Nic,

Your review is so much appreciated and I'd like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to post it here on TA! It is indeed very rewarding for all of us ho hear such good words from an experienced travellers, pointing not only to the positive side of their experience, but also to the areas where we need to improve. It the case with the sounds, coming from the street, there is a little that we can do but we have noted the issue and we did everything posiible to further improve our soundproofing at earliest convenience and to eliminate the impact of the urban noise which every major city on the coast has during the high season. I guess it's even in the nature of the things and as long as we do our part, we may assure our guests that their comfort is our utmost care and this will no longer be an issue!

Thank you again and please consider visiting us again!

Yours respectfully,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    54
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
89
30
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

It was my first trip to Varna, and I been told to expect faded grandeur, some great examples of Art Nouveau and Deco architecture mixed with some varying successful examples of 70's Communist buildings. What I hadn't expected was how green the city is, how many parks and how close the centre is to the sea. If more money was used more effectively this city could be a wonderful addition like Split in Croatia....so it was a great surprise to see a well run, well designed hotel with friendly staff and great service. Room was superb with great facilities and breakfast very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanartus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear vanartus,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the travel community on TripAdvisor! It surely matters for all of us to know that your expectations have been exceeded and you are happy with your stay in Varna. Our city has a lot more to offer to its guests and I sicerely hope that you will consider visiting us again in the nearest future. If so, please feel welcome to stay with us again, it will be our pleasure to offer you our hospitality and we are very much looking forward to it!

Yours truly,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Purposely holding themselves down to 2 stars Modus proves less is more. Sleek modern minimalistic masculine design feels perfect for smaller spaces... classy places! By eliminating some of the unnecessary kitschy usual standards (thus dropping a couple of dimly lit stars)this refined Hotel is all a traveler needs.. great service perfect breakfast next to the park and 5 minutes to the beach! Costs a bit more but u will agree. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kashi0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear kasi0110,

Thank you for being so kind as to post such nice and motivating review with regard to your recent stay at mOdus hotel! We sincerely appreciate your decision to share your observations here on TripAdvisor in favour of the entire travelling comunity. Please consider visiting us again if you would undergo another adventure in Bulgaria, It was a real pleasure having you with us and we are anxiously looking forward to welcoming you again!

Yours truly,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

First class from the moment of walking through the door. I never stay in big hotels if I can avoid it, and this is exactly the reason this policy often pays off. Assistance to the room, which was much larger than I expected. High quality fittings and L'Occitane toiletries. I dined in on the first night - the Bistro is top-notch - there was simply no need to leave the hotel after my slightly tiring flights and late arrival.

Nothing too much trouble: I wanted to adjust the heating in my room and had trouble with the temperature resetting. Reception had it sorted whilst I was out. They also happily printed my boarding passes which I e-mailed from my room the night before my checkout - it's the little things that you remember but which make all the difference.

Bed very comfortable, room had double aspect (and a small balcony at the back - but not view to speak of). The double-glazing eliminated the traffic noise at the front. Complementary bottle of water every day - again, a nice touch.

Although I didn't, if you ring ahead by 45 minutes, they'll turn the sauna on for you. There's a small fitness room in the basement which I'd probably use during a longer winter stay, though the Sea Gardens are right opposite, and running there and on the beach would probably be preferable.

Breakfast was good. A sense of personal service that you don't get everywhere.

I hope to be back, probably this year!

Room Tip: Request an "apartment". There's one on each floor. 3 was mine, and was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear James,

Thank you so much for choosing mOdus hotel for your stay! Your time and efforts to post such brilliant review are highly appreciated! I find it very rewarding to see your attention to detail put to work and actually seeing how it makes a huge difference. Can't stress enough on how important it is for us to receive such detailed and professional reviews, which depict the very essence of our service philosophy - providing the best service, suppoprted by smartly built facilities.
If you asked me why is the personal touch so important and why we gladly do anything for you, I'd proudly say: That's who we are and that's how we beleive it should be done!
It has been a pleasure having you! We truly look forward to your future stay with us!

Very respectfully,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you arrive at this hotel it seems kind of unspectacular. Even the Foyer is small, but then you look around and see the funky style.

Reception was wonderful, and the staff cannot do enough to help. They really do mean it when they say they will cater to every need.

The location is excellent. Just a short walk to the beach, and it's right next to the main tourist mall. One pleasant surprise is all the birds flying and singing around the room. It's not at all overwhelming, and they don't wake you, but they are nice background noise.

The rooms themselves are fantastic. Very modern and full of the latest mod cons. If you've been to Bulgaria, you will know that Modern is hard to find.

Internet was lightening fast.

There was a good spread for breakfast considering it is a small hotel. The room service was outstanding.

I travel a lot. This was a great hotel. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try getting a view of the gardens or corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Steven D,
Allow me to extend our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your positive comments regarding your recent stay at mOdus hotel! It is so rare that a guest will notice all small details that are making us so unique. The attention to detail is wery well paying off when we have guests with such high standards like you, willing to share their findings with TripAdvisor community. Please do consider visiting us again soon, it will again be our true pleasure!

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice and stylish hotel in Varna, just near to the Varna garden and the beach. It is near to the city centre also. Excellent service and very polite and friendly staff. Excellent combination between seaside holiday and town vacation or business trip. Definitely I'll be back soon

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zdravko_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Zdrawko_13,

Thank you so much for the beautiful review! We are so happy that we have managed to meet and exceed your expectations. You, as well as each and every satisfied guest is more than welcome to visit us again, as one of our goals is to establish close relationship and make you feel like home.
Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very beautiful smartly furbished hotel, just accross the beautiful Varna gardens and 2 steps from Varna's garden main entrance, 5 mn from the beach
Very helpful staff
Great breakfast and snack bar
Only bad point : very noisy on the road side due to traffic at night, and also to party goers on the beach... If you can, try having a backyard room !

Room Tip: room at the back are more quiet, but there are only few
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Karine B,

Thank you for the good comments! it's our privilege that you have chosen our services and facilities and we appreciate the way you express your satisfaction. At the same time we are concerned to hear that you have been disturbed in a way by the noise coming from the restaurants in the garden across the street but as every vibrant city, Varna has its issues during the season of the graduation parties with all those young people having fun. I'd like to assure you that apart from that Varna and mOdus hotel are an extremely pleasant and vivid places to spend fortnight of your holidays or just an overnight, while on business trip.

We are looking forward to having you with us again in the nearest future and we remain at your services to help you make the most of your stay!

Best Regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varna hotels
0.3 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#6 of 51 in Varna
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#5 of 51 in Varna
178 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Amfora
Hotel Amfora
#33 of 51 in Varna
25 reviews
7.2 mi away
Morski Briag Hotel
Morski Briag Hotel
#17 of 51 in Varna
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mOdus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mOdus Hotel

Property: mOdus Hotel
Address: Stefan Stambolov Str 46, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varna
#1 Business Hotel in Varna
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — mOdus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOdus is a small hotel with unique modern design, ideally positioned for both business and leisure with easy access to the major commercial, shopping and entertainment areas of the city. It is 200 m away from Varna's central beach, next to the entrance of the Sea Garden. MOdus hotel offers 29 stylish rooms and 8 great suites with luxurious interior, furnished with: LCD TV, interactive IPTV, VOD, Wi-Fi, voice mail, mini bar, safe and much more. The suites are equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and goose-down duvets and pillows. The hotel is proudly dedicated to the Sustainable tourism and offers free bikes for an energizing ride in the nearby Sea Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your mOdus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modus Hotel Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing