We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best in varna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of mOdus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
mOdus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Certificate of Excellence
İstanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best in varna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

İ would like to say thank you for smiling face and very kind and friendly personel....ver good location ,very easy to rich walking area ,resturant bar and city center thanks for .extra clean and comfortable room.what can İ say more, thanks for great hospitality next time İ am going to come with my childreen see you next time MODUS

HasanTahsin Gunar

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guserko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guserko,

I happily take this opportunity to extend our appreciation for the fabulous review and the good words. It has been a great pleasure indeed to have you amongst us and we will be more than happy if we had the opportunity to offer you our hospitality again.
Looking forward to welcoming you at mOdus hotel!

Sincerely,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    52
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
81
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Actually I expected a lot more from this hotel. It is a nice, brand new city hotel with very good service, but nothing so special as written in other reviews I read before booking the room. May be the reason is there are not so many good hotels in the city of Varna and the rating of this one is so high. According my opinion it is not more than а 4* international/European standard hotel. I would expect from a 5* hotel a bigger room with more hotel facilities and at least an indoor pool. My room view was the back yard of the other adjacent old buildings. I find the breakfast variety was not appropriate for the room rate and hotel quality. The location is an advantage if you go to city beach or to visit the city center.

Room Tip: either a noisy room with nice view or a quite room with view to the back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgtravellerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear echigogo,

I'd like to thank you for choosing mOdus hotel for your stay, for being our guest and for taking the time to post this useful, yet rather dissapointing review, although with a very good score.
I'm perfectly aware that your experience is based on your expectations and on the information that you have collected prior to your arrival. I am truly sorry to hear that your demands towards the facilities in a five-star hotel (e.g. bigger room, idoor swimming pool etc.) were not met in full but there is a good reason why: mOdus hotel is not a 5-star vacation property and has never been listed as such. As you say, it corresponds to the standards of а 4* International / European hotel and is more appropriate for guests with taste for the contemporary design, the minimalistic style and all benefits , that the modern technology has to offer to the active businessmen and businesswomen, rather for guests, seeking SpA and wellness services. What matters the most is the exceptionally high level of service, the personal approach and attention to detail, which is the cornerstone of our phylosophy. Our breakfast is composed very carefully, made of fresh high-quality products and has a virtually unlimited variety, as besides the buffet, we also cook breakfast to the taste of each guests, all you had to do is ask any of the staff, as handwritten on the little sign on the breakfasr table.
In conclusion I'd like to express once again our regret tor failing to deliver our usual "Wow factor" to you, as we succeeded many times before, and here I will have to disagree with you and say, that so many guests who are happy with our product can't be wrong and I like to believe that our reputation is well deserved!

Thank you again for your efforts!

Sincerely,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited this hotel for one night only as part of a group holiday. We all agreed that it was the best hotel of our trip. The rooms were very chic with stylish furniture and lovely bathrooms. The location near a busy road was not a problem as the double-glazing and air-conditioning kept the room cool and quiet. Crossing the road one came to the Sea Gardens and a short walk to the beach. We had an excellent meal with clear evidence of a good chef and very attentive service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nausikaa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear nausikaa_10,

What I like best about my job is the chance to answer to the comments of positive and knowledgeable people like you. Please accept my appreciation and please consider visiting us again for a little longer - you may find whole lot more of those pleasant surprises that the hotel and its staff has to offer.
Looking forward to welcoming you again any time soon!

Yours truly,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a really high quality, well run, boutique style hotel. Tasteful decor and complementary L'Occitaine toiletries.

The room I had was very comfortable. Free wi-fi is an excellent and welcome feature (more places should offer this).

Decent buffet style breakfast. Good Value - highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeyanKolev, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Partickhill,
Allow me to extend our gratitude for this wonderful review! It gives me and the entire staff great pleasure when we have the possibility to see our efforts appreciated and the positive experience being shared with TripAdvisor community.
Please feel welcome to book another stay at mOdus hotel, it will be our pleasure to have you with us again!

Yours truly,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for a week with work at the end of August. This hotel is AMAZING! The rooms are spotless and huge, with flat screen tvs and comfy beds. The staff are all brilliant and couldn't be nicer, the rooms were cleaned every day and they even turn down your bed and leave a chocolate on your bedside table for when you get back from dinner out! We were B&B and the breakfast was very good - wide choice of pastries and the usualy cheese/ cold meat continental selection plus hot options every day (smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for me - yum!).

Great location, right in the centre of Varna a short stroll from the bars, restuarants and shops. I went running early every morning along the seafront and also along the cliff top sea gardens - which are like a smaller version of New York's Central Park with early morning runners, dog walkers and people doing tai chi under the trees.

The 'Captain Cooks' restaurant down by the harbour is also excellent. It's a bit of a trek but well worth the effort - make sure you book ahead for an outside balcony table and dress up; this place is full of the movers and shakers of Varna :-)

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jojoborofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear jojoborofan,

Thank you for your fabulous review! Comments like yours are the main source of pride and motivation for all of us. Your kind yet professional opinion adds credibility to every honest comment, posted here on TripAdvisor. That is why sharing your authentic first - hand experience is so precious for everyone - hosts and guests. Thank you once again and, please, feel welcome to visit us again. It will be our pleasure!

Warmest regards,

Deyan Kolev
General manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The modus hotel is the best hotel we've been in so far. The staff is very friendly all the time. The rooms are very stylish/ modern and are cleaned at least twice a day. Bikecycles, Beach-towels, water, additional pillows and Wi-Fi are available for free.
The bistro is very clean. The food was very delicious. Especially the homemade chocolate, that comes with every coffee.
Thank you for making our vacation so comfortable!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TNT_Larsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear TNT_Larsn,

Thank you for the brilliant review, posted on TripAdvisor! I can't thank you enough for the encouraging and motivating words and for making our efforts appreciated. We are very much pleased to hear that your vacation has been more than pleasant and we promise to keep doing our best to provide you and all our guests with flawless experience and unforgettable time while at mOdus hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you again any time soon for more chocolate truffles with our delicious coffee!

Best regards,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Although we stayed for only one night, it was easy to appreciate the charming atmoshere of Modus Hotel. Nicely designed in every detail to create a worm ambience, the rooms together with the other hotel areas, create a relaxing feeling.
The hotel is perfectly situated just behind the central part of the beach and a few meters from the start of the pedestrian area.
Breakfast was at a high level in every aspect - service, ingredients, ambient. The overall service was also good. Modus Hotel is a realy good choice in Varna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lion1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-modushotel, General Manager at mOdus Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear lion1229,

Please accept our sincere gratitude for the warm words in your review! We highly appreciate the positivity and the great deal of motivation for the entire staff, created by your comment! It will be our true pleasure to have you at mOdus hotel in the future. Please rest assured that we will make every effort to make your stay most enjoyable and memorable!
Thank you once again for choosing mOdus hotel for your stay!

Sincerely,

Deyan Kolev
General Manager
mOdus hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varna
0.3 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
0.3 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#6 of 51 in Varna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#4 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel London
Grand Hotel London
#5 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
8.6 mi away
Melia Grand Hermitage
Melia Grand Hermitage
#4 of 111 in Golden Sands
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to mOdus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about mOdus Hotel

Property: mOdus Hotel
Address: Stefan Stambolov Str 46, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varna
#1 Business Hotel in Varna
#1 Romantic Hotel in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — mOdus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOdus is a small hotel with unique modern design, ideally positioned for both business and leisure with easy access to the major commercial, shopping and entertainment areas of the city. It is 200 m away from Varna's central beach, next to the entrance of the Sea Garden. MOdus hotel offers 29 stylish rooms and 8 great suites with luxurious interior, furnished with: LCD TV, interactive IPTV, VOD, Wi-Fi, voice mail, mini bar, safe and much more. The suites are equipped with Nespresso coffee machines and goose-down duvets and pillows. The hotel is proudly dedicated to the Sustainable tourism and offers free bikes for an energizing ride in the nearby Sea Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your mOdus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Modus Hotel Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing