We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore from!”
Review of Villa Duchess

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Duchess
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just outside of the town centre which is great as you can retreat from the hustle and bustle of it. Its on the main road and you can easy catch the bus or taxi to where you want to go.The hotel is small and friendly. The hotel manager, Valeri, is happy to help in any way he can, just ask! The staff quietly go about their roles and can speak enough English to meet your needs. The hotel is clean and the rooms adequate. We've stayed here twice and would recommend a stay. We will return again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Villa Duchess
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Service and food are not realy good but okay. The place and the surroundings are very nice. Food and Service is like Restaurant De Wine, but De Wine is inside more cosy, our room was nice and the people were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank maximo1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The place is wonderful! It was nice to be away from the hustle of downtown. They don't have a restaurant on site, but there are several within walking distance (one about 2 blocks away).

Their remodeling makes the building a charm. Rooms are good sized. Bathrooms are squeezed in where they fit.

We enjoyed talking with Valeri about his life in Bulgaria. Not all the people who worked there spoke English. But that is the way it is in Bulgaria.

Right on the bus line. Easy to get there because you can just look for the Dolphinarium.

Room Tip: Upper rooms have a view of the Black Sea.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joelwx39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We chose this hotel based on reviews and location as on the trip advisor app, but after making the reservation realised that it is some 2km away, far away from the centre of town. Also at least a 15min walk to the beach down a steep path not 5 mins as has been mentioned. Also reception - blunt and charmless. Room good, though oddly cramped bathroom with the sink in the shower.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This family hotel is a real found in Varna. My room was clean and comfortable with a nice view towards the Black sea. The service is very good. The owners do their best for the client. Excellent internet, taxi service, good breakfast. Just think, you can wake up and walk down to the beach within 5 min, take a dip in the sea or just walk through the Sea garden and get the taste of the best of the local atmosphere. Very recommended!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
Thank Milena2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Duchess for one night and we weren' t that impressed. Check-in was fine, room ok but clean. Shower was tiny and as a result the bathroom floor would get wet easily and there wasn't a lot of toilet paper. It's about 25-30 minute walk into the centre of Varna or 7 BGN by cab - on the way to the hotel, cabbie didn't seem to know where it was but maybe that was just him. The main downer though was the breakfast - no fresh juice (just orange cordial with soda water mixed in), not much choice but no coffee or tea on the breakfast sideboard and we weren't offered any either by the staff - disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GraieemTchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Just in a few words:

Extremely nice, clean, modern but with a personal, familiar touch, cheap, very friendly stuff, all of them starting with the owner and his son and all other working in the reception, bar, etc. English speaking. Internet, bar, nice place outside. Good and quick answers by e-mail. Good location close to the see and 5 min by taxi to the "deep center" of Varna.

Just do not hesitate and make the reservation. I´m 46 years old from Sweden and I promise you that you wouldn´t regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Soelvesborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varna hotels
11.4 mi away
Panorama Hotel
Panorama Hotel
#6 of 51 in Varna
95 reviews
10.5 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Dimyat Varna
11.1 mi away
mOdus Hotel
mOdus Hotel
#1 of 51 in Varna
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Morski Briag Hotel
Morski Briag Hotel
#16 of 51 in Varna
23 reviews
11.2 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#5 of 51 in Varna
196 reviews
10.8 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duchess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duchess

Address: Place Saltanat, Primorski Park The Sea Garden 64 | Saltanat 64, Morska Gradina, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Varna
Price Range: $42 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Duchess 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Duchess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duchess Hotel Varna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing