We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free entry - you might as well see it”

Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.61*
and up
Varna Walking and Wine Tasting Tour: Cultural Treasures
More Info
$92.51*
and up
Pokémon GO Varna Private Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 89 things to do in Varna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin, built in the 19th century, houses a finely carved iconostasis and bishop's throne as well as some interesting murals and stained glass.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Free entry - you might as well see it”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Actually this is a 3.5/5. On the outside the cathedral looks like it has seen better days; despite the attractive gold domes, it looks very polluted. The inside on the other hand is beautiful! Covered head to toe in orthodox style icons, an impressive altar screen and stained glass windows. Considering you don't have to pay, it's definitely worth a look. However, if you want to take photos, that will set you back 6 lev which I thought was a little steep, considering you couldn't buy any postcards of the interior or exterior in the small gift shop. It's not a very large place, so you'll need about 10 min to look round.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ndh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    143
    53
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you are in Varna you cannot miss visiting the cathedral. There isn't any entrance fee but if you want to take pictures you have to pay a small amount.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mousiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff UK
Level 6 Contributor
673 reviews
431 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“High Light of our tour to Varna”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked a tour to Varna and was disappointed the Cathedral was supposed to be one of the highlights. On arrieving in Varna we were taken to a shopping centre and left there for two hours before going to the Cathedral. The building is beautiful and well worth a visit but our tour guide gave us very little information about it. There are beggars outside but it is not the only place in Varna where they are, they can be pests at times. It was well worth a visit even if we did not enjoy the rest of Varna.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Was part of the trip to the Dolphinarium and all of us were affected by the experience being blessed by the priest as we left. The achitecture was ornate the cathedral was small enough to see all of it. We are not religious we are glad we went. There were beggars but it wasn't a problem as it can be in some ares

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Molly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Katedral is wonderful”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Katedral does not crush the people.
Ornaments and pictures are very well.
It must be visit this historical place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank IlmenGozde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin also viewed

Varna, Varna Province
Varna, Varna Province
 
Varna, Varna Province
Varna, Varna Province
 

Been to Cathedral of the Assumption of the Virgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing