We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
35
54
14
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
54
14
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin walking distancevisited this hotelvery nice hotelnice roomby footmain boulevardgood sizepedestrian areahotel is locatedcathedralreceptionbulgariatulipscarpet
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 108 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

If you want to have good sleep request sleep facing the backstreet of the hotel in order to avoid the noise coming from the main boulevard.

The breakfast could be improved otherwise all the rest is up to the 4 star level.

Most of the staff are very friendly and doing their best to help you.
Rooms are spacious and clean. The bathroom was very confortable.

The restaurant has good price range and good variety.

The hotel parking is free of charge but very limited. There is free public parking just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dobromir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

A very good location of the hotel- right next to the Cathedral which is in the center. Beach is 10-15 minutes away by foot.

IN THE HOTEL... My room with two single beds was very specious. I think that side of the hotel was recently renovated so take a room with a view to the Cross road. BREAKFAST was mainly the same but it had the essentials and it was well prepared. There is also a restaurant which prices are ok. They have a 3 course lunch menu for about 5-6 leva. Not a bad deal. You can also jump to Makao which is just across the traffic light where you can eat home made food.
THE STAFF was very friendly, kind and polite, especially the girl with the curly hair at the reception that was smiling all the time.

All in all I would say book this place. You will not regret it.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank CuriousPavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

Beautifully located hotel. Staff is amazing, friendly, professional, curtious and helpfull. Outstanding breakfast buffet, loved the fruit compote, coffee variety of juices. The restaurant serves fantastic food, as a matter of fact, my husband found the spaghetti carbonara better then most countries he ate it at. Highly recommend this establishment.

Room Tip: We were on the forth floor, was like a small, comfortable apartment.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kadriye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

I visited this hotel early july with a group touring around Bulgaria. The Golden Tulip at Varna is an average 4 stars hotel but nothing exceptional. Some rooms have issues-problems as the door of the toilets in our room the first day couldn’t close. A guest has to change room because AC problems…
Breakfast is also average.
The location of the hotel is good especially for winter times as it is not very close to the sea but close to the pedestrian area.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NOUR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2017

It was my first trip to this country and to this hotel.

It was my first trip to Bulgaria and to this hotel. Rooms are of good size and very clean. Bathroom and toilet are excellent compared to other Bulgarian hotels. The main plus point to this hotel is it's staff. Very courteous and did their best.

This is my first trip to Bulgaria and to this hotel. Rooms are of good size and very clean compared to other hotels. Bathroom and toilet are well maintained and clean.
The staff in this hotel are excellent. Very courteous and they did their best.
As a person from UK one thing that gave me a problem was the lack of kettle tea, coffee and such. You can request hot water. They just bring it.
In all my trips I never saw an archeological site inside a hotel and right next to the reception. I like tis kind of things. They said it is more than 1300 year old christian monastery.
Compared to other hotels the breakfast is good. I did enjoy the Bulgarian fresh fruits and honey.
Just a stone throw from the hotel is a very impressive Eastern Orthodox church. If you like icons and iconography don't miss this.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaya51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews