We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a bad hotel for such an UGLY building!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cherno More Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherno More Hotel
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
270 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Not a bad hotel for such an UGLY building!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I have been traveling with a choral group from Arizona on a concert tour and am tonight in Istanbul. After much thought, I gave the hotels in Sofia and Plovdiv 3 stars and I will give the same to this one. For a large city hotel, I would term it average. OK, this is Europe in a former Communist country and the architecture from that period I have heard referred to as " Brutalist. " Frankly it is an eyesore, with a glittering casino sign. Entering the lobby, I find this hideous, too, relieved somewhat by some artwork. OK, enough complaining. I was, however, very pleased with the condition of my room. Other than some marks on the carpet, it was spotless and the bathroom was immaculate with no loose fixtures. The group dinner served in the rooftop restaurant was satisfactory, and the buffet breakfasts pretty good, with the coffee more to my liking than the last place. I had no complaints about the service from the staff.
One thing several of us remarked on is the emergency stairway, which I have gotten into the habit of checking out. This is not well marked or illuminated, with loose tiles on the dingy stairways. It kind of reminded me of the Chungking Mansion in Hong Kong. While emergency stairways are not usually the pristine feature of a hotel, they need to spruce up that Thrd World area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAZELIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    37
    34
    10
    11
See reviews for
17
29
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Oldest hotel in Varna so i'm told, and it shows. Getting very tatty in places although my room was really good, big with a nice bathroom.
The location is as good as it gets , right on the main street a short walk to the sea gardens (nice) and the beach and 2 mins to the centre the other way.
Hotel has a casino, nightclub on the top floor and coffee shop. When you walk in the old style reception it's like being in an old russian film!
Breakfast is pretty lame but it's worth going there to watch people filling up there bags.
If you are there in summer then go to palm beach bar/lounge, it's a cool place to hang out in the day with huge comfy cushions and nice music. Cheap as chips too!!

Room Tip: dunno really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TELLINGYAHOWITIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Varna hotels

Castle Donington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I'd spent the previous week in nearby Shumen, but needed a day chilling out on the Black Sea coast before flying home. My hosts fixed up a 'nice place' and - expecting a hostel, or guest house - found myself in recepcija at a 4 star casino hotel! But the price was reasonable at 70 Leva (€35) and the room even better. The mattress on the bed was firm, but I slept very soundly with no aches next day. Best of all was the proximity to the beach and most of the sights, remembering I had only a few hours.
Confusingly, the sign outside the building is 'Hotel Casino'...with Black Sea in small letters close by. This is obviously a financial focus, but somewhat detracts from the primary purpose of the hotel...and maybe its image too. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast on the top floor just marvellous...nearly as good as the view over the Black Sea on one side and part of the town on the other. Loction good; staff good; facilities good...luvved it.

Room Tip: Depends what you want to see...areas of the town, or the Black Sea. But there's plenty of choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

A casino hotel in the City centrum. Receptionist are rude in general. Bedrooms are very small. Beds are uncomfortable and dirty. My bed was broken. Bathroom dustbin was not emptied although we came to hotel late. Bed set is smaller than The mattress. Mattresses are in very bad condition. They did not give back our passport until we paid and did not do any explanation for this.Noone available to help your luggage. Breakfast hall is in The terrace With A nice landscape. Breakfast is not so bad.

Room Tip: See The rooms Before you decide to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asliayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I waited 2 hours to get my room in the reception.The room was enough big but i never understand why there is a big sofa in the room !!
Internet was just one edge in the room and i did not get the idea that my room cleaned or not because when i arrived to the room, my sheet was on a dirty place and my dirty towels were the same as i got at the first moment.. Breakfast is very very poor..
I can say so many bad things but i guess i got the idea that is bulgarian style because many hotels in Varna have the same complains..
What about postive things; just go down and you are in the center. location is great and yes all the rooms have sea view.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kocserap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

for those, who like to combine beachholiday with a citytrip - this is the right hotel. my wife and me had been there for a couple of days and it was nice there. very convenient location,there had been much shops,restaurants and bars just nerby. also good connections to other parts of varna, due the busstation was just 2 minutes across the hotel. beach was about 15 minutes away (by foot).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmouse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This Hotel does have a perfect Location - perfect for us, due it is at the Beginning of the Main Shopping Street. lso a few Bars and Restaurants just beside. To the Beach, we walked 10 Minutes. Lobby little bit oldfashioned, but all was clean and friendly Employee at the Reception.
Room was in a susual Standard esign and we had a great View to Varna Center from the 12 Floor - perfect!!! Breakfast improvable, but ok for few Days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelshopshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Varna hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Varna
Hotel Plaza Varna
#10 of 51 in Varna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#20 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casino & Hotel Efbet
Casino & Hotel Efbet
#7 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Splendid Boutique
Splendid Boutique
#4 of 51 in Varna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel AQUA Varna
Hotel AQUA Varna
#19 of 51 in Varna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Graffit Gallery Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherno More Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherno More Hotel

Property: Cherno More Hotel
Address: Slivnitsa 33, Varna 9000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Varna Province > Varna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Varna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherno More Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cherno More Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing