We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame on the owners!”
Review of Inter Thai Restaurant - CLOSED

Inter Thai Restaurant
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating
Description: The first and unique authentic Thai restaurant in Bulgaria since 2009. "An unforgettable dining experience!Our purpose is to offer you a memorable dining experience in the atmosphere of our charming and caring staff. Our cook from Thailand has many years of professional service in different hotels and restaurants in Thailand and most of the ingredients and herbs are delivered regularly from Thailand to ensure authenticity.
Varna, Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Shame on the owners!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I know the owners and ate often at the first restaurant in Tsar Assen Street, it was excellent,good value and the ingredients were imported from Thailand. As business boomed it all went downhill,.they increased prices,reduced portions and started using Bulgarian spices; ie very bland without any flavour or kick. I went to the new restaurant May,2012.,it was awful.!
Do not expect real Thai food .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INTER_THAI, Owner at Inter Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hello dear Steve! Long time no haven't seen you. Just to let you know we are the same owners and importing the same ingredients from Thailand and Netherlands as always even we are in Thailand at the moment to update and the restaurant is closed until 7 March when we come back. Concerning the prices we stil have lunch menu with prices starting 2.99 lv and dinner set menu from 9.90lv but maybe you didn't seen them in the menu due to your alcoholic behavior. However we continue to offer authentic Thai food with our Thai chef and maybe see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
62 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“got great take out loved the food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

one would think going to bulgaria they would never be into cooking thai food but this place can the dishes were really amazing the food was flavorful and the portion sizes were huge i tried everything with friends on the menu,i mean everything and all was really good,,in the states we have many thai places to go visit and inter thai is better than most in my country,keep it up and good luck in you future im sure you will be just fine if you keep cooking like this,,

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ssscout78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had lunch there this afternoon, and it was excellent. Good, authentic Thai food, pleasnt atmosphere, and the best service we've experienced in Varna. We will be repeat customers. dh

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“okay, but not authentic....”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I think this restaurant made many kompromizes to be in accordance with the bulgarian taste. It is nomore authentic Thai....

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The place to go if you're looking for Thai food in Bulgaria”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I've been traveling in Bulgaria for 2 weeks and this is the first Thai place I've come across. While its not quite up to the standards of Thai food in other countries I've had it in (USA, Spain, Singapore, etc) it was good. We had spring rolls, pad thai with chicken, pork in spicy basil sauce which was good, and a beef dish that had excellent sauce, but sub standard beef. I would recommend the chicken dishes over the beef as it wasn't of the highest quality. The spicy sauces were delicious!

The indoor seating is somewhat limited...5 tables I think, but another 5 tables outside so during good weather there's plenty of seating.

Prices were extremely reasonable - around 5 lev for an appetizer, and around 8-10 lev for an entree. We ordered generously for 2 people and the bill still only came to 44 lev - 22 euro, so 11 euro a person for a hearty meal with wine. I would go back to this place again. As an earlier reviewer mentioned, there is an actual Thai woman at this place (in fact I saw 3!) so it definite gets authenticity points.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank illesbillears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inter_Thai, Owner at Inter Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear reviewers, thank you for the comments you have made.
We would like to inform you that we have 25 seats on the terrace, 25 seats on the Grand floor which is smoking area and another 30 seats at the Lower floor which is no-smoking area. We offer you 80 seats on two levels and the atmosphere reminds you the authentic Thai style with interesting souvenirs, waiters with traditional dresses and the exotic and always smiling Thai hostess. In Inter Thai you can enjoy Thai music and once per week traditional Thai dances, so you can feel this far culture with all senses for a memorable dining experience in the first Thai restaurant in Bulgaria.
We have Thai cooks to bring you authentic meals and we deliver our ingredients and herbs from western European Asian stores and from Thailand.
Our menu consist of a variety of 75 dishes divided by sections: starters, salads, soups, chicken dishes, pork dishes, beef dishes, rice and noodles dishes, fish and seafood dishes, vegetarian dishes and desserts.
Visit us for a memorable dining experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inter Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing