We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Plovdiv
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bulgaria Wine Tours
from $141.15
More Info
from $115.18
More Info
from $164.64
More Info
from $97.67
More Info
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
68
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
68
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting day tour specific things wine trip winery visits grape varieties special tour driver guide highlight of our trip an excellent guide rose oil these guys his knowledge sofia airport lots of fun old town zina
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 71 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2019

We booked a half-day visit from Plovdiv to a winery and a cultural centre. We requested a winery specialising in local grape varieties and a visit to Bachkovo Monastery, and this was arranged on our behalf. Zina was a very friendly and informative Tour Leader and we learnt much about the country as well as its wines. We visited the Zagreus winery and enjoyed its delicious Mavrud wines, followed by lunch in a local restaurant in Bachkovo. Returning home in late afternoon this was very good value for a half-day tour. Zina also, at short notice, arranged a last-minute trip for us on the following day to another winery. We were impressed with Bulgaria Wine Tours - all the arrangements and administration ran smoothly, and they were flexible in tailoring the tour to meet our specific requests. Very highly recommended.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2019

Dear Nick,

Thank you for your positive feedback on your recent Half-Day Wine Tour from Plovdiv including a visit to Bachkovo Monastery.

We appreciate that you took the time to leave review on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your kind words about your tour leader. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and appreciated our dedication to satisfying our customers and our ability to customize our tours to personal preferences and interests.

Thank you for your recommendation. We hope to see you in Bulgaria again.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2019

Based on strong reviews, we contacted Bulgaria Wine Tours asking to visit small, organic/biodynamic vineyards using more traditional old-school techniques rather than more modern experimental labels. We were very pleased with the custom itinerary provided and would strongly recommend the husband-wife team to other tourists to Plovdiv or Bulgaria as a whole. We learned a lot, had a great lunch in a local restaurant and sampled (and purchased) a number of fantastic wines.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank mwsk_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2019

Hello,

Thank you for your positive and kind review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your customized tour focusing on small sustainable producers.

Thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to see you back in Bulgaria to explore more wine regions and more wineries!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed our day tour from Plovdiv and had a great experience tasting wines from traditional Bulgarian grapes, as well as other varietals. One of the tastings (at the middle of the day after lunch) felt rushed, and we would have liked to have had more time to learn and enjoy there vs. spending extra time waiting to start the day or sitting after lunch. Zina was responsive and thoughtful in making arrangements with us.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank EBHart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BulgariaWineTours, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2019

Dear Erin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate hearing from you! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your full day wine tour and appreciated tasting wine from Bulgarian varieties. We apologize that the second tasting felt rushed. We heard that they were having a busy day after the fact. We strive for our wine tours to be well-paced and enjoyable . If you are ever in Bulgaria again, please reach out and let us arrange a wine tasting with one of our less busy partners, where you will have all the time in world to enjoy and savor the experience.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

This is an experience I would recommend to anyone coming to Plovdiv. It's way more than a wine tour--you learn about Bulgaria's growing wine industry, see first hand how wine is made, and try some truly delicious wine. Our hosts were incredible, and so knowledgable and passionate about the wine industry. Highly recommend!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank gabriellesmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2019

Hello Gabrielle,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your Full Day Wine Tour from Plovdiv!

We really appreciate it and we're happy that both of you had a good experience in Plovdiv's beautiful wine country!

We hope to see you back in Bulgaria sometime soon and wish you all the best in your upcoming travels around the world!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2019

My friend and I did a full day wine tour from Plovdiv on 15th June, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday.

From the first point of contact when I asked about their tours, the company were brilliant to deal with. Zina helped me decide on the type of tour we wanted, and when I asked about including a historical site in our day she sent a number of suggestions, making it easy to tailor our tour to suit.

After we'd confirmed the tour and got the itinerary for the day, we realised some of the timings didn't work with our evening plans. Again, when I contacted Zina, she quickly helped us re-arrange our day to suit. I really appreciated this as it meant we weren't distracted from our holiday by admin.

On the day of the tour our guide, Vasil went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of the day. He explained a little about the wineries we were visiting before we got to them, and gave us loads of information about the area too.

He helped us with the menus at lunchtime, and was very patient with all our questions about the food. We had a delicious, traditional Bulgarian lunch thanks to him. The tasting at the second winery (Starosel) was busy as they had two separate language groups in the tasting room. We couldn't hear the winery's guide very well, but we didn't need to - we had our own personal guide. Vasil's knowledge of the wines and the winery really added to our experience.

I would happily take another tour with Bulgaria Wine Tours and have already recommended them to friends.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank ShereenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Shereen,

Thank you for your lovely tour review.

We appreciate your positive feedback, and are happy that you enjoyed your Full Day Wine Tour with Vasil as your Tour Leader. We value paying attention to small details and offering a personal service so we are thrilled that you felt taken care of by your Tour Leader and enjoyed the day.

We hope to see you return to Bulgaria soon!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews