We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bulgaria Wine Tours
from $160.22
More Info
from $127.68
More Info
from $104.69
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting specific things special tour full day tour zina wineries winery culture europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 74 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2019

My friend and I did a full day wine tour from Plovdiv on 15th June, and it turned out to be one of the highlights of our holiday.

From the first point of contact when I asked about their tours, the company were brilliant to deal with. Zina helped me decide on the type of tour we wanted, and when I asked about including a historical site in our day she sent a number of suggestions, making it easy to tailor our tour to suit.

After we'd confirmed the tour and got the itinerary for the day, we realised some of the timings didn't work with our evening plans. Again, when I contacted Zina, she quickly helped us re-arrange our day to suit. I really appreciated this as it meant we weren't distracted from our holiday by admin.

On the day of the tour our guide, Vasil went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of the day. He explained a little about the wineries we were visiting before we got to them, and gave us loads of information about the area too.

He helped us with the menus at lunchtime, and was very patient with all our questions about the food. We had a delicious, traditional Bulgarian lunch thanks to him. The tasting at the second winery (Starosel) was busy as they had two separate language groups in the tasting room. We couldn't hear the winery's guide very well, but we didn't need to - we had our own personal guide. Vasil's knowledge of the wines and the winery really added to our experience.

I would happily take another tour with Bulgaria Wine Tours and have already recommended them to friends.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank ShereenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2019

Dear Shereen,

Thank you for your lovely tour review.

We appreciate your positive feedback, and are happy that you enjoyed your Full Day Wine Tour with Vasil as your Tour Leader. We value paying attention to small details and offering a personal service so we are thrilled that you felt taken care of by your Tour Leader and enjoyed the day.

We hope to see you return to Bulgaria soon!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2019

We have just returned from the most fabulous trip with Bulgarian Wine Tours. Their customer service was absolutely first class and our tour guide Vasil showed us several places of interest which we would never have found for ourselves. He is the most helpful and charming of people and nothing was too much trouble. In his own time, he took us to a local festival one evening near to one of the wineries we had visited in the afternoon where we watched local folk dancing and singing.
We visited 11 wineries and received a very warm welcome from every one of them. The passionate winemakers gave informative tours and we tasted almost 60 wines, some of which we could not resist taking home in our overloaded suitcases. The trip was carefully planned and tailored as much as possible to our personal requirements. We started each trip at 10am and felt in very safe hands with Vasil as our driver. He is a fount of cultural/historical information and an expert in Bulgarian wines.
Bulgaria is a hidden gem with some grape varieties you will not find anywhere else. Wines generally were of very good quality and we just wish we could buy them in the UK.
Melnik is an amazing place full of historic architecture and should not be missed. The countryside near the Greek border is really quite beautiful and the walking tour of the old town of Plovdiv with its cobbled streets and Roman Theatre made a delightful start to our first day.
Please do go ahead and book as you will be as enchanted as we were.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Westbourne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2019

Dear Jan and Stew,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on your recent 8-Day Wine, Food and History Tour of Bulgaria.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience and left with beautiful memories and a positive impression of Bulgarian wines, history and hospitality. Your kind words about Vasil and the people at the wineries are much appreciated.

We hope to see you back in Bulgaria again to explore other wine regions with you and show you more of what Bulgaria has to offer!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Asked for a three-day, customised wine tour in the Melnik region and ended up with an amazing trek through some great vineyards, with visits to monasteries and other cultural sites. Vasil knew the region like the back of his hand, all the great restaurants and places to walk - and his English is excellent so you could ask him anything about wine and Bulgaria. Every detail of the tour is worked out in advance, which meant no stress and plenty of time to focus on great wines! They also gave some great tips of where to go in Plovdiv.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Teithiwrtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2019

Dear Huw Jones,

Thank you for leaving such a positive review about your recent 3-day customized wine tour to the Struma River Valley & Melnik region. Your kind comments about your Tour Leader mean a lot, and we are happy that our attention to detail makes a difference. We hope to see you back in Bulgaria sometime soon to explore another wine region.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

BGT was recommended to us by a friend of a friend and we signed on for the 4-day tour, which included one dinner plus 3 nights lodging at hotels and spas. Two of the days were spa afternoons having toured wineries and rose oil production facility. We were fortunate to be able to craft our own tour - asking for specific things and Vasil did a spectacular job. He's really such a pro - and such a kind, articulate, well-educated and thoroughly special guy! (We didn't get to meet Zina but hope to in the future!) Number one takeaway: Bulgarian wines are absolutely amazing - and still a phenomenal value for those of us who pay $20-$30 for a bottle of decent wine. We also love history and Vasil's knowledge here also astounded us. After just 4 days we felt like we had been lucky to really have an experience that helped us ABSORB so much about Bulgaria and its proud and complex culture. Highly highly recommended!

Date of experience: May 2019
1  Thank azoomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2019

Dear Cathy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent 4-day tailormade wine, spa and history tour in Bulgaria.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your tailored tour as we tried our very best to balance wine, culture and spa in one tour.

Your newly found appreciation for Bulgarian wine is what we strive for on our wine tours - to convert people into lovers of Bulgarian wine.

We hope that you spread the word about the high quality and great value of Bulgarian wines back home.

Thank you for your kind comments about your private Tour Leader – Vasil – and thank you for your recommendation.

We hope to see you return to Bulgaria soon, where we hopefully can get together for a nice dinner with lots of Bulgarian wine.

Best regards, Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Thankyou Vasil for responding to our interest in combining visits to Thracian tombs and icon art in cave monasteries with delicious dinners matched with wines at quality vineyards. We enjoyed learning more about the past and present of Bulgarian life, as well as gaining some wine tasting knowledge. All details were taken care of, we could relax relax and trust that you would ensure our safe arrival to the next destination. Australia is a distance from Bulgaria but, if we ever make it back here, we will certainly talk with your company about another tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Traveller3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderfully positive review about your recent tailored trip to the north and northeast of Bulgaria. Bulgaria is blessed with so many beautiful places to see and fun things to do. We are glad that you enjoyed visiting 3 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in just 3 days: The Ivanovo Rock Churches, the Thracian Tomb of Sveshtari and the Madara Rider! We also are thrilled that you enjoyed the visits to the wineries and the meals that we organized for you.

We hope that we see you in Bulgaria again soon!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews