We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bulgaria Wine Tours
from $160.22
More Info
from $127.68
More Info
from $104.69
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting specific things special tour full day tour zina wineries winery culture europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 74 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Thankyou Vasil for responding to our interest in combining visits to Thracian tombs and icon art in cave monasteries with delicious dinners matched with wines at quality vineyards. We enjoyed learning more about the past and present of Bulgarian life, as well as gaining some wine tasting knowledge. All details were taken care of, we could relax relax and trust that you would ensure our safe arrival to the next destination. Australia is a distance from Bulgaria but, if we ever make it back here, we will certainly talk with your company about another tour.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Traveller3068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderfully positive review about your recent tailored trip to the north and northeast of Bulgaria. Bulgaria is blessed with so many beautiful places to see and fun things to do. We are glad that you enjoyed visiting 3 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in just 3 days: The Ivanovo Rock Churches, the Thracian Tomb of Sveshtari and the Madara Rider! We also are thrilled that you enjoyed the visits to the wineries and the meals that we organized for you.

We hope that we see you in Bulgaria again soon!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

My wife and I just returned from a 9 day Wine/History/Culture tour in Bulgaria and continue to be overwhelmed positively in a flood of recent memories. Bulgarian Wine Tours was an incredible service of which we would gladly use and again. We are now sharing our travel experience with friends and family in the hope that they will do the same. Our tour hosts and guide were super knowledgeable, attentive and professional in their organization, adaptability and service delivery. Bulgaria in our view, is a "secret treasure" which we'd prefer to stay that way. Their wines, food, culture and history are worth a deep dive.

Date of experience: April 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Road53167270955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2019

Firstly, thank you so much for your kind words and positive review of your recent 9-Day ‘Taste of Southern Bulgaria’ tour that focuses on wine, food, history and culture and spans 3 wine regions in just one week! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the tour and left Bulgaria with fond memories of the wines tasted, the wineries visited, the foods sampled and the people met. Our hope is that every single guest of ours leaves with a lasting impression, and it seems that we succeeded in doing just that. Thank you for spreading the word and becoming Bulgarian wine ambassadors in your community! We hope to see you in Bulgaria again, and we look forward to welcoming any friends or family that you send our way.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

First and foremost, a huge thank you to Zina and Vasil for organizing an amazing 2 day tour of the Thracian Valley. Vasil is a top knotch tour guide! Not only did he provide pick-up and transportation to each of the 4 wineries, he educated our group of 3 people about the surrounding areas and their cultural impact to the country.

If you want to eat and drink your way through this gem in Balkans, while getting some cultural insight, this experience has no competition! This is an excellent way to experience the much unknown regions of Bulgarian wine country.

Thank you again, Vasil, I hope to again partake on your amazing tours!

-Daniel

Date of experience: March 2019
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank DannyElBeards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Dear Daniel,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent customized 2-day wine, food and culture tour. Also, thank you for your kind words about your tour leader, Vasil.

We are happy that your enjoyed your tour and found it informative. You can learn a lot about a country by eating and drinking your way through it, and we are glad that you gained an understanding of the culture and history of Bulgaria while also enjoying its cuisine and wines.

We hope to see you back in Bulgaria soon to explore more of this Balkan gem!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

My husband and I planned a wine trip to Bulgaria on very short notice. We found Bulgaria Wine Tours through an internet search and liked the design of their 3-day Melnik and Struma River Valley tour. It met our needs perfectly!

Our driver/guide, Vasil, picked us up at our Sofia hotel at the appointed time. We drove directly to Rila Monastery, where the beauty of the monastery in the snow left us speechless. Vasil provided historical background and perspective throughout the visit.

Because we visited in the off season (January), we felt like we had every place to ourselves--and almost did! The tour included two nights in the Bulgaria's smallest town, Melnik. Bulgaria Wine Tours choose a wonderful guest house, comfortable, well-located, and with delicious food. From here we visited three wineries: Villa Melnik, Orbelus, and Zlaten Rozhen. We were welcomed warmly at each location and enjoyed sampling the local wines, such as Melnik 55, along with the local cheeses and meats.

Throughout our three days, Vasil was polite, accommodating, and exceedingly helpful, especially where food selections were concerned. He is very knowledgeable about wine and was able to add much insight to our winery visits. We saw everything we wanted to see, and never felt rushed. Zina responded to emails promptly and efficiently, and even provided us with additional information we could use in Sofia. We highly recommend Bulgaria Wine Tours, and would certainly use them again when visiting Bulgaria.

PS--Vasil is an excellent driver!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2019

Dear Carole,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent 3-Day Wine Tour in the Struma River Valley & Melnik Region.

We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your wine tour that included a few historic pearls such as the Rila Monastery (UNESCO) and the smaller Rozhen Monastery.

The Melnik region is a must-visit region for wine, food, nature and history lovers and it is the perfect place to vacation for Sofia-based tourists seeking a short getaway. We are glad that you found the wineries welcoming, the food delicious and that you were happy with your Tour Leader – Vasil.

We hope that you return to Bulgaria to explore another wine region with us.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

Vasil and Zina are really professionals in the wine tours!They are knowledgeable and passionate about Bulgarian wines and tourism.There is a lot to learn about Bulgarian winemaking and traditions!If you looking for perfect wine guide Vasil and Zina are the right guys!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Tempus Vini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear Kalin,

Thank you for your kind words about us. We really appreciate it! Your glowing recommendation means a lot to us.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews