We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bulgaria Wine Tours
from $160.22
More Info
from $127.68
More Info
from $104.69
More Info
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
71
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine tasting specific things special tour full day tour zina wineries winery culture europe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 74 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2019

My husband and I planned a wine trip to Bulgaria on very short notice. We found Bulgaria Wine Tours through an internet search and liked the design of their 3-day Melnik and Struma River Valley tour. It met our needs perfectly!

Our driver/guide, Vasil, picked us up at our Sofia hotel at the appointed time. We drove directly to Rila Monastery, where the beauty of the monastery in the snow left us speechless. Vasil provided historical background and perspective throughout the visit.

Because we visited in the off season (January), we felt like we had every place to ourselves--and almost did! The tour included two nights in the Bulgaria's smallest town, Melnik. Bulgaria Wine Tours choose a wonderful guest house, comfortable, well-located, and with delicious food. From here we visited three wineries: Villa Melnik, Orbelus, and Zlaten Rozhen. We were welcomed warmly at each location and enjoyed sampling the local wines, such as Melnik 55, along with the local cheeses and meats.

Throughout our three days, Vasil was polite, accommodating, and exceedingly helpful, especially where food selections were concerned. He is very knowledgeable about wine and was able to add much insight to our winery visits. We saw everything we wanted to see, and never felt rushed. Zina responded to emails promptly and efficiently, and even provided us with additional information we could use in Sofia. We highly recommend Bulgaria Wine Tours, and would certainly use them again when visiting Bulgaria.

PS--Vasil is an excellent driver!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank CKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2019

Dear Carole,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent 3-Day Wine Tour in the Struma River Valley & Melnik Region.

We are thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your wine tour that included a few historic pearls such as the Rila Monastery (UNESCO) and the smaller Rozhen Monastery.

The Melnik region is a must-visit region for wine, food, nature and history lovers and it is the perfect place to vacation for Sofia-based tourists seeking a short getaway. We are glad that you found the wineries welcoming, the food delicious and that you were happy with your Tour Leader – Vasil.

We hope that you return to Bulgaria to explore another wine region with us.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019 via mobile

Vasil and Zina are really professionals in the wine tours!They are knowledgeable and passionate about Bulgarian wines and tourism.There is a lot to learn about Bulgarian winemaking and traditions!If you looking for perfect wine guide Vasil and Zina are the right guys!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Tempus Vini W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2019

Dear Kalin,

Thank you for your kind words about us. We really appreciate it! Your glowing recommendation means a lot to us.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

We booked a wine tasting in Sofia for 4 people, which included 5 tastings and appetizers. When we booked through the website we had to pay first before the details of where and when were confirmed which we were a bit skeptical about. However, we could not have had a better experience! We were set up with Tempus Vini Wine shop in the middle of Sofia and the host, and tasting was perfect. We enjoyed our 5 tastings and learned about Bulgarian wine from the very knowledgable owner of the shop. We spent over 2 hours at the tasting and the host went above and beyond by making us mulled wine as it was so cold that evening. All four of us would say the wine tasting was a highlight of our time in Sofia!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Lwhitehill15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2019

Dear Laura,

Thank you for leaving a great review!

We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your tasting of five boutique Bulgarian wines in Sofia. We couldn’t agree more that the tasting venue and the tasting host are fantastic! We were particularly happy to read that you learned about Bulgarian wines through this tasting experience, and that it was the highlight of your time in Sofia.

We hope that all of you continue to drink and learn about Bulgarian wines – even back in your home country!

Hope to welcome you back to Bulgaria again in the future!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive, but optimistic, to put ourselves in the hands of BWT for five days. It was great. Everything went according to plan. Vasil and Zina are the husband and wife team who run the business. Vasil was stuck shepherding us around for 5+ days starting with pickup at the Sophia airport until he dropped us off at the airport on the sixth day. He was always early, very knowledgeable , fun to be around, and the winery visits went off without a hitch. The accommodations were good - especially the Midalidare Hotel. V&Z are plugged into the wine business in Bulgaria and arranged really good visits for us. Plovdiv is a very interesting and historical city I had never even heard of until this visit. Terrific trip, my wife and I really enjoyed it.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Constanttraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2018

Dear Tom and Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your 5-day Wine & Spa Tour in the Thracian Valley.

We are thrilled that you had a great time and enjoyed the different experiences on your tour from the historic town of Plovdiv to the winery visits and both spa hotels that you stayed in.

Your positive comments about Vasil are much appreciated.

The town of Plovdiv and the amazing rural regions of Bulgaria deserve more recognition, and we hope that you will become ambassadors for the destination by spreading the word about the Bulgaria.

We hope to see you in Bulgaria again to explore another region together.

Happy Holidays!

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil
Co-Founders of Bulgaria Wine Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Due to a combination of great timing (we unknowingly booked our tour during Plovdiv's 10th Anniversary Young Wine Festival) and Vasil's expert guidance and hospitality, our tour of the wine country around Plovdiv was the highlight of our recent trip to Bulgaria. We visited two wineries (enjoying a delicious lunch at the second) and then went on a short walking tour of the Plovdiv old town, before sampling some of the wines at the Young Wine Festival (where we also had the pleasure of meeting Zina, Vasil's wife and co-founder). The day ended with appetizers (and more wine) at a wine bar featuring the wines of yet another local producer. An all around fantastic experience!

Date of experience: November 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mefinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZiSor, Owner at Bulgaria Wine Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2018

Hello Mark and Josh,

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to leave this review about your recent Full Day Wine Tour in Plovdiv.

We are happy that you got to experience the annual Young Wine Festival in Plovdiv on your tour in addition to the tastings that we had organized for you.

We hope that this will not be the last time that we see you in Bulgaria for a wine tour.

Best regards,
Zina & Vasil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews