We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel I've stayed in.”
Review of Hostel Old Plovdiv

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostel Old Plovdiv
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is a newly opened top of the range hostel. The proprietor has renovated it as a labour of love. Old wall paintings and friezes have been restored to their former C19th glory. Sympathetically chosen period furniture and beds have been reupholstered and arranged to give comfort and aesthetic pleasure. The plumbing and electrics are new and well installed so everything works as it should.

The hostel is calm and quiet which is as well as the walls are thin in places. There is a pretty garden with a fountain and old fruit trees to sit under for breakfast, afternoon or evening drinks, etc. The staff are helpful and charming - as is the owner who has put a lot of thought and energy in to the place (he is currently negotiating to buy and restore an old building opposite as a similar project).

The hostel is located close to the top of the old town with cobbled streets and wooden buildings, bits of Roman masonry and some upmarket antique and gift shops. This is a very picturesque quarter, offering a good range of restaurants, cool bars, galleries and museums. Walk up for about 4 minutes to a great view from the ruins on Nebet Hill and enjoy a beer and some food. It’s a short walk to the more bustling old town centre with an even greater range of shops, restaurants and sites of cultural interest.

This could be an expensive boutique hotel; instead it is an affordable slice of high quality budget accommodation. My only concern is how well it can stand up to the strain of a high volume of guests once people get to know about it. I'd definitely make this my first choice if I was to visit Plovdiv again. I've stayed in a lot of European hostels over the years; this is definitely the best I’ve encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Martin,

To receive such a nice comments form experienced travelers like you and the rest of the boys
is something that really makes my day !!!
Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 390 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

There was nothing to dislike in this wonderfully restored Hostel (we felt it was a bit more than a hostel) The rooms were immaculate, charming and restful that overlooked the lovely private courtyard. The location was second to none if you wanted to stay in the heart of history of Old Plovdiv, where cool bars and restaurants were on the doorstep and modern shops and bars were just a walk away. Our hosts were very attentive with out being obtrusive and nothing was too much trouble (they even sourced and printed out our train and bus timetables in English!!) Hristo is, and rightly so, proud of his lovely house and of his staff who have the same very high standards as himself. We loved it so much we have booked to return in September. One thing...ladies remember to take a personal mirror with you. loved you all....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Ann,
you and the girls are really one of the most smiling guests we have !
Thank you for placing another booking !
We are waiting to see you back in September !

Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Location, service, and facilities are great.

Add to the above the experience of staying in a historic preserved house.

We highly recommend this guesthouse.

We have been traveling 3 months and this is one of the most memorable places we have stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Roger & Dona,

Thank you so much for your kindness !
You gave us so much positive energy !

Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

What an amazing hostel and hosts! I was greeted by the owner, who gave me the history of the building and answered all my questions on Plovdiv as we sat in the tranquil garden, sipping a needed cup of coffee after my long bus travels.

Great location; easily reached from the bus station (instructions on the booking website were very easy to follow) and perfect for exploring the magical Old Town, with it's bohemian feel and incredible ancient .

I had a huge locker (more like a closet), very comfortable beds and a spacious dorm, furnished with gorgeous antique furniture. The floors were a little squeaky, but it is an old house, so this is to be expected!

The bathrooms were super clean and modern - one of the best hostel showers I have ever experienced.

The staff were all super friendly and I truly felt like I was in a home away from home. I extended my stay by one night (I could have stayed much longer had time allowed) and would recommend this hostel to any visitor to Plovdiv.

Room Tip: Large windows are gorgeous but you will get morning light; just take an eye mask and you can snooze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreeRangeLamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Me and my wife have invested our hearts in "Old Plovdiv"
and it is really nice to see, that efforts are highly appreciated !

Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

A great hostel with character in a very central area of the old town.
The rooms are all spacious and filled with period furniture.
Lots of Roman ruins to see.
Wonderful, friendly and helpful staff.
A really nice breakfast is served in the courtyard with good coffee!
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWP275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Please accept my warmest regards for giving us the highest possible rating !
Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at the Old Plovdiv Guest House for 5 nights. Although we travelled to Plovdiv with high expectations, we can truly say that this guest house exceeded all of them! The accommodation itself is a gem, built in the typical style of the historic part of this town and furnished lovingly and with eye for detail by it's charming and caring host Hristo.

This man knows what hospitality is all about, and so does his enthusiastic young staff at the guest house!

The rooms are of an elegant simplicity that we both like and are quite spacious, with beautiful wooden ceilings and here and there a tasteful and quaint detail, placed to make the rooms even more attractive than they already are.

The lovely terrace at the back of the house invites one to start the day with an excellent breakfast in quiet surroundings, with only the sound of the little fountain, the early morning song of a bird or a soft miauw from the cat at the back.

Our host has helped us marvelously in planning all of our our excursions to the Rhodope Mountains that lie in a short drive from Plovdiv. We've experienced Plovdiv as an well chosen basis for exploring this amazingly beautiful part of Bulgaria, a city and area we've fallen in love with and where we shall return to with great pleasure in the coming year. Only one adress to go to as far as we are concerned; Old Plovdiv Guest House!


Hans Suderée and José Garrido Martinez,

The Hague Holland

Room Tip: All rooms are quietly located, whether at the front of the house or at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tuckerspoint1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Front Office Manager at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Hans & Jose,
you become like a family for me & my wife and for my staff !
It is always a great pleasure to have guests like you !
Thank you very much and I promise you, that next summer , when you come back I will make your stay even better !

Thank's again
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

very nice location, interesting rooms, preservation of the old building, funny host, welcoming notice. unfortunatelly the breakfast was no up to what we were expecting, maybe in full season things change, but it let us dissapointed.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hristo G, Owner at Hostel Old Plovdiv, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Ioanna,

Thank you for your time spared to review us-our guests opinion are very important for us, in order to improve even better our service.
We offer for breakfast Italian ham & salami, olives from Greece, Bulgarian white cow cheese, Bulgarian yellow cheese (kashkaval), freshly picked sunny tomatoes and cucumbers, honey, forest fruit jam,Italian espresso coffee,toasted bread , milk, muesli , 2 choices for juice and at least 5 varieties of tea.
If some of our guest is vegetarian he receives vegetarian breakfast.

Best regards
Hristo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plovdiv hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Evmolpia
Hotel Evmolpia
#1 of 36 in Plovdiv
79 reviews
1.3 mi away
Park Hotel Plovdiv
Park Hotel Plovdiv
#16 of 36 in Plovdiv
68 reviews
0 mi away
Hebros Hotel
Hebros Hotel
#5 of 36 in Plovdiv
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home Hostel Plovdiv
Home Hostel Plovdiv
#7 of 50 in Plovdiv
18 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Rest
Best Rest
#2 of 50 in Plovdiv
25 reviews
0 mi away
Hikers Hostel
Hikers Hostel
#6 of 50 in Plovdiv
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Old Plovdiv? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Old Plovdiv

Address: Chetvarti Yanuari Str 3, Plovdiv 4000, Bulgaria
Location: Bulgaria > Plovdiv Province > Plovdiv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Plovdiv
Price Range: $22 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostel Old Plovdiv 1*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is proud to announce, that we were appointed as one of the Lonely Planet's 'Top 10 best value stays for 2014' Hostel in name only-more like a boutique hotel at a hostel rate ! FREE Parking,FREE ultra speed WI-FI,FREE Breakfast! The only hostel in town with garden and terrace! 24-Hour reception, 24-hour hot water, no curfew, no lockout, free linen, free towels, free breakfast, free WiFi, free lockers, free luggage storage. Lounge room and dining room, Reception Bar, Washing and ironing facilities, free parking.In the heart of historic old town district, just 4 minutes away from the city's main pedestrian street, Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is a real architectural marvel.We offer all you can desire: superb location, 24 hour reception service, flawless security, hygiene to the highest standards and the friendliest staff possible. Located in totally renovated 144- year old Renaissance house, national monument of culture, Hostel "Old Plovdiv" will offer you experience of a lifetime! Our features include free individual lockers and locks, free towels, linen and duvets, , free breakfast; free Wi-Fi, free CD/DVD-burning facilities and free satellite TV and films. We offer book exchange, free maps and free luggage storage.Build in 1868, the house, where Hostel "Old Plovdiv" is located, belonged to one of the richest local tobacco merchants. The wooden columns of the house are made of Lebanese cedre and you will also see marble from Greece and granite from Ottoman Turkey. The 130-year old wooden floors and the 4 metres high ceilings and big windows will take you back in time of the Bulgarian Renaissance. Furnished with authentic antique beds and wardrobes, purchased from local antique shops and renovated by professional restorers in the local Renaissance style, our 8 spacious and cosy rooms will seduce you with luxury at affordable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Old Plovdiv reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing